We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to past reviews”

Fundacion Rodriguez Acosta
Ranked #31 of 216 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lived up to past reviews”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Thanks to the other review on TA we visited this place. Arrived at the 10am opening and were the only couple on the guided tour at a bargain 6 EUR per person. The library is only open on the 10,10.30, 6, 630pm tours. Javier was excellent, good pace of tour and answered all our questions. The caverns under the house may not be suitable for those with walking difficulties but one can always just choose to sit it out in the gardens. Made a pleasant change from the rude and unhelpful staff selling tickets at the Al Hambra.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank gimboeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    68
    16
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fundación Rodríguez Acosta: Museums Week 24-30 March”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After the Alhambra do not miss this Carmen (villa) located on top of the Sabika hill, a unique museum with gorgeus views, and from there walk down to Plaza del Realejo the heart of Granada's jewhish quarter where you will find local tapas bars, best cousine restaurants, a local granadian atmosphere, artisan guiarmakers, monasteries and churches and the traditioal square Campo del Principe.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Enca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Personal tour of an amazing place”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Like Bassaabroad, I saw this on Trip Advisor and we went searching for it - walking down from the Alhambra through the woods. It wasn't clearly sign posted after the Alhambra Hotel and we ended up having to walk back up the hill. And despite the directions given by a local cafe we almost gave up - the entrance is really hard to find.

But it was all worth while. We were the only ones there at the time so we had a personal tour for an hour by a charming Spanish girl who spoke very good English. It's a beautiful place with an interesting history - it's just a pity that there is very little information in English (like many museums in Spain) in the gallery, where you are left to wander by yourselves.

We thought it was very good value for €5 per person.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We saw this on trip advisor and went searching for it based on the reviews not knowing quite what to expect. We almost gave up when we finally stumbled upon it and we were glad we did!
We nearly left after hearing what it was from the people in the office, didn't really sound like our gig but there was a tour leaving in a few minutes. It was fantastic. Very small group informative tour guides and a great building an story to go with it! Worth the trip

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Bazzaabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
202 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“So much more than we expected”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Now I understand why this is no.1 on Tripadvisor! Of course, it can't really be compared with the Alhambra. But after the Alhambra, make sure you have at least 1 and preferably 2 hours for this amazing building, which is a multi-layered modern architectural design in verticality, cascading down the hillside. Like the Alhambra, it features dramatic views at every turn, and new architectual vistas. The library room is a fascinating retreat, and the guide will give you a fascinating tour. We did not set aside quite enough time to really get the full experience, especially of the very interesting collection in the attached gallery. A real highlight of Granada!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fundacion Rodriguez Acosta also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Fundacion Rodriguez Acosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing