We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Interesting Prelude to the Alhambra”

Fundacion Rodriguez Acosta
Ranked #29 of 211 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“An Interesting Prelude to the Alhambra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We purchased combination tickets several weeks in advance to tour the foundation and the Alhambra. We took the number 30 bus, 1.20 euros, from the Cathedral to the bus stop at the Hotel Alhambra Palace at the top of the hill on Cuesta del Realejo. The entrance is located 900 feet away at 8 Callejon Nino del Royo. We toured the foundation for about one hour together with just one other visitor in the late morning of Sunday, 11 May.
The compound contains the home and studio of artist José María Rodríguez-Acosta (1878-1941). The well maintained gardens and patios provide attractive settings for Greek, Roman and Chinese art and provide scenic views of Granada. The building contains underground rooms and passageways. The tour is topped off with a visit to the gallery containing some spectacular medieval art. The visit was a pleasant prelude to our afternoon tour of the Alhambra, a fifteen minute walk further up the hill.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnAnnColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    66
    15
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
618 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Truly fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I agree with other recent reviews. This place is a gem and a definite must do when in Granada. Fascinating house, superb gardens, great museum/gallery. It's slightly out of the way but do not miss it. A serious pat on the back for our guide. Javier we believe his name was. He conducted the tour in both Spanish and English and he did it superbly. The care Javier took to explain the property and its past clearly and comprehensively was very evident.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoSheds57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have to be honest, we only went here because the online Alhambra-only tickets for the morning we wanted were sold out so for €2 or €3 euros more I got tickets which included Rodriguez Acosta. What a fascinating place devoted to the life of this privileged Granada artist and eccentric. We got a private tour and as far as I can see few other tourists stray the 10 minutes down from the Alhambra. Crazy man, crazy architecture, wonderful situation, plus a worthwhile art gallery included at the end of your visit. Why don't more people go?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A rich man's folly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This highly personal and eclectic collection of art, sculpture and well, rather weird items from across the world is housed in a tall building next to the Alhambra Palace hotel. The terraced gardens are just as personal but with outstanding views. I just found the place to be rather sad and strange but money is being spent to allow art students to work there which is excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank camdencalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, Cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful hour-long Tour by dedicated Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Not the easiest of places to find, being halfway up the Alhambra hill on a side street. I was in 2 minds as to whether to visit with the hours being uncertain (different guidebooks each had their own opinion) and some uncertainty as to whether English was spoken. Reading TripAdvisor made me decide to try it, and finding a leaflet in English in the tourist centre confirmed that.

We arrived around 10:15 and stopped on the Patio to admire the view before entering. A friendly lady told us that the next tour would be in 10-15 minutes (and that tours were now available from 10:00-18:00), so we paid and waited out on the patio looking down on the city.

Ten minutes later our guide appeared. She spoke excellent English, and as we were the only two people waiting there was no need for multiple language explanations. She led us through various patios explain the history of each, the reason behind some of the objects and answering any questions.

The we went into the main building and had a well-explained tour around the artist's studio with many objects being pointed out and discussed. Afterwards we plunged into an underground maze of tunnels. Again all was explained as we went down and up steps, around corners and finally emerged on the bottom terrace of the garden.

Next we entered the Art Gallery where she explained some of the main works before leaving us to slowly wander around the rest (with her waiting politely for us to finish). A quick toilet stop, and some more terraces brought us back to where we had started an hour before.

A final few questions (and some tips about the Alhambra), and then we left feeling almost as if she were our friend rather than our guide.

A wonderful visit, which I think I enjoyed even more than the Alhambra itself. Do visit and see it for yourselves.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank RogerMEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fundacion Rodriguez Acosta also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Fundacion Rodriguez Acosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing