We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of La Fabula

La Fabula
Ranked #52 of 1,492 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
england
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have stayed at Villa Oniria where this fabulous restaurant is located a few times although the standard of dining now under Ismael's stewardship in this adjacent restaurant is not to be missed, a real step up from previous encounters
We elected to go for the very reasonably priced tasting menu and were thrilled with all of the courses, right through the elegant and very clever tapas to the stunning pork main course
We were treated royally and the whole event was truly deserving of a Michelin star accolade
If you are visiting Granada, especially if you are staying in Villa Oniria, you must make sure you book a garden table and experience the thrill that is the degustation experience, you will most certainly not regret it
We cannot wait to return, we are only slightly bemused the hotel does not make more effort to publicise this stunning jewel within their midst, don't miss out!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank neilmaxbartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    84
    24
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
326 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“An oasis of culinary delights”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Everything about this restaurant was outstanding and deserves to be given a Michelin star. We chose the €70 desgustacion menu, which included wine. The first selection of deconstructed tapas was absolutely incredible - each morsel was sublime and the presentation was both innovative and beautiful. Infact all our 12 courses were just incredible and I can´t praise Ismail more highly for the quality, presentation and flavour of everything we tasted - worth every Euro!

The service we received was extremely professional and discrete and I personally thought that the way in which the waiters placed the cutlery was just the way you would expect it to placed in a top first class restaurant. The garden setting was also a little oasis amongst the bustle of Granada - very tranquil and romantic.

Our meal was one of the best I have ever sampled and together with the professional service and lovely, elegant setting made our evening there exceptional. I would highly, highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant atmosphere, outstanding food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We chose the restaurant to celebrate a birthday and la Fabula turned out to be the adequate location for an occasion like that . We loved the elegant atmosphere of the restaurant's garden ( palm tree and a tiny waterpool,) A smooth alternative to the charming but noisy numerous tapas restaurants in Granadas center! The maitre patiently described the menu,and we had "Verduras laminadas con pulpo y sesamo, followed by Pescado de puerto a nuestro gusto, The vegetables were simply wonderful and the fish was prepared in a very light manner with a touch of spices in order to accentuate the flavour of the fish, newly interpreted spanish cuisine,I suppose. We really enjoyed it. Not to forget about the numerous appetizers we had: A multitude of flavours, some of them with surprising taste but all of them awesome. And yes, we did love the spoon spinning choreography of the both professional and friendly working stuff!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tries hard and fails”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went to this restaurant as it was highly reviewed and chose the gastronomic menu. The food was acceptable but not spectacular.

The performance of the service staff in placing crockery and cutlery, whilst initially amusing, became tedious. The wait staff were so busy spinning cutlery and tapping on plate covers, that they actually forgot to attend to the needs of the diners.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Choreography does not a great meal make”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was expecting good things here. Alas, no. Having one waiter come in from the right and another on the left to coordinate plate removal and replacement is just a gimmick. Eu140 for a meal for two, with no pudding and cold turbot is a rip off. The waiter could have knocked the turbot off the price of the meal but did not. He was able to say "sorry" but not willing to do anything about it. Don't go here..............

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Troddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fabula also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Fabula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing