We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puerta de Las Granadas
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two nights with a friend and if, like us, you were heading to Granada to visit the Alhambra then this hotel is in a perfect location as it is only a 10/15 minute walk up the hill the hotel is on. The walk is a bit steep but not that bad and very scenic, I would recommend walking if you are able to however, you can also take a bus up. It is also in the centre of the city and from the hotel you can walk everywhere, there are plenty of bars, restaurants and cafes within a minute walk of the hotel.

With regards to the hotel itself we were immediately impressed that when we checked in the receptionist gave us a large map and spent a considerable amount of time explaining to us the best places to go in Granada for tapas, for tea shops, for shopping and how to get around the city. She also recommended we went up to the mirador on the hill opposite the Alhambra for around 6pm to take in the view. We decided to follow this advice and were not disappointed by the incredible views of the whole city as it lit up, the Alhambra looming above it and the snow covered Sierra Nevada in the background. Had the receptionist not told us about this we wouldn't have seen it and we very much appreciated all her advice. Reception is also 24 hours and so there are no problems should you need to leave early in the morning like we did.

Our room in the hotel was on the second floor. The room was fairly small and basic but not uncomfortably so and plenty big enough for our two night stay. The room was very clean and my friend and I found the beds to be comfortable. The bathroom was also clean with a good shower although we found the door a bit strange as it opened both inwards and outwards and didn't actually shut properly! We also had a very small balcony that you could just about stand on, it seemed slightly pointless but it did let plenty of light in to the room! The room also had an aircon and heating unit.

Another nice touch about this hotel is that all day and night you can go down to the basement and get free coffee, tea, water and juice and either drink it there, take it to the pretty courtyard or take it to your room. They also tell you that you are welcome to bring food in and consume it in the courtyard. There are also two computers which are free to use and free wifi should you bring your own laptop. The hotel is also more than happy to print things for you should you require this service, also free of charge.

Overall we found this hotel perfect for a budget stay in Granada and visiting the Alhambra. It is clean, basic and well located but what makes it stand out is the very helpful nature of the staff and the additional extras free of charge!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beem10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and loved it. The location was perfect - about 10 to 15 minute walk to the Alhambra and the staff was incredible - friendly and helpful with directions and advice. We booked a room on the top floor, which had a view of the Alhambra... definitely worth looking into if you stay here.
The room isn't large, of course, but was comfortable enough for two nights. The beds were very hard but I was so tired each night that this wasn't a huge issue.

Room Tip: Book the room with the Alhambra view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saw4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Puerta de Las Granadas and loved it. The staff was extremely helpful upon check-in, providing all necessary info. about the area, and they even upgraded our room for free! The location is great for visiting the Alhambra (which is probably why you're in Granada) and just a few steps away from the heart of the town. The room was spacious and the free use of the computers and free coffee/tea all day was a nice touch. The rates were very affordable as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a view of the Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel a total of 4 nights, in two different rooms. The rooms were clean, plenty of hot water (my wife's observation), staff was very helpful and friendly. On arrival, they gave us a map and some directions around the area before we went to our room. The hotel itself had a wonderful location. It was less than 5 minutes walking from the Grand Via 1 bus stop (which is one of the stops where the airport bus drops passengers off and picks them up near the cathedral), about 90 seconds uphill from the Plaza Nueva and the tourist buses which run up to the Alhambra and Albaicin. Up the street from the hotel about 850 yards is the entrance to the Alhambra, but we took the bus instead of climbing the hill. So we were really in the middle of things, with restaurants, sights and shopping all at hand. The Plaza Nueva also area houses a Tourist Information location which had a nice free Granada map and bus line map. The Plaza Nueva also has a kiosk where you can buy the Granada Bono Turistico (see its web site) which included a 24-hour access to the Tourist Bus, entry to the Alhambra, 9 free rides on the local bus system, entry to the Cathedral and several other sights. We didn't go to all the sights but it was worth getting as we didn't have to make a decision about whether to shell out for individual sites and we probably were more inclined to see things such as the Cartujo Monastery which we might have passed up. We would definitely stay here again. It is not luxurious, but it is comfy and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baluscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Great location near Plaza Nueva; 10-min walk to Alhambra. Clean quiet room, modern decor. Room is small, little space for luggage (typical of many in this price range in Spain). Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDP681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Our small but comfortable room was on the top floor, which made it a bit of a climb (the lift only goes to floor 3) but it was absolutely worth it for the view of the Alhambra and the city centre. The hotel staff is friendly, the location towards the foot of the hill that the Alhambra sits on is ideal for a first visit to this area.
Breakfast is available as an optional extra and there is a coffee/tea station available in the basement.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel is at a convenient, walking (uphill) distance from La Alhambra. I would say it takes 30 minutes to get there. The room was clean but very small. We had to use my wife's camera to photograph it because my camera's lens was not wide enough to fit it in! We preferred to skip breakfast at the hotel because it was so-so and did not convince us at all. The staff is super friendly and will help you with reservations for attractions and getting a taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choppillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 124 in Granada
1,354 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 124 in Granada
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 124 in Granada
1,056 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 124 in Granada
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Address: Cuesta Gomerez 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £28 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing