We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puerta de Las Granadas
Ranked #14 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
alicante
1 review
“Great position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We would definately return to this quaint, immaculate hotel. It is in a fantastic position with just a short walk up hill to the Alhambra and a short walk down to the square with lots of bars, restaurants and cafes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the top floor, where the views over Granada were magnificent and the room was of adequate size and beautifully presented.

Room Tip: The top floor room was definately the best part of the hotel, with magnificent views all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thumperludders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPG080404, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion in Tripadvisor and your kind words, which helps us to grow and to recognize that we do things in a correct way.

We are very glad that your stay was so satisfactory and that you enjoyed your stay in Granada and our Hotel.

We hope to have you here in the future again.

Cordial Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    343
    82
    26
    10
See reviews for
127
540
57
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

After reading good reviews here, I was not disappointed by the reality. Let me focus on the fact that we visited with my 89-year-old mother (her birthday). We had two adjoining front rooms with balcony (3rd floor) for three nights. An extra outside door on our own 'corridor' gave us privacy. The rooms were quiet, even at the front (the street was empty at night). Nice view (see pic). Thankfully the air conditioner could also heat, because we were there in January and my mother feels the cold. There is a lift (elevator) as far as the 3rd floor. Taxi rank is 100 m down the hill, or they will phone and the taxi comes in 2 minutes (and they tell the driver where you want to go!). Hotel is up a moderately steep hill but my mother was OK with her stick. There are some cobbled surfaces to negotiate around the town. We gladly took the hotel's buffet breakfast to save my mother a walk in the morning--and it was very useful to stop in the dining room for a tea or coffee at any time during the day we needed a break. We all liked the firm beds! Restaurants we liked were the Salinas Taberna (200m) and Cunini (taxi). Hotel booked Alhambra visit and Flamenco evening (without food, on their good advice); the bus ride to Flamenco is fun in itself, watching the driver negotiate the narrow streets. Absolutely the friendliest, nicest, most helpful staff--all of them--with good english. We paid a lot for the air tickets at short notice, but a reasonable room rate and a friendly phone call to the manager before we booked made us realise we would be happy and not in an anonymous big hotel, and so we were!

Room Tip: Don't worry about the front being noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPG080404, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your opinion in Tripadvisor and your kind words. We are very glad that your stay, and specially your mother's, was so satisfactory. We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Best regards

Joaquín Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is a very small hotel in an old terraced house, consequently lacks space, particularly in Reception, and there is no lounge. Our bedroom had virtually no storage space and was very small for a twin room.

However, the staff were very, very, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and anything we asked for was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The breakfast was varied and plentiful and we were able to make ourselves tea and coffee at any time. We were met from our coach by a member of the hotel staff. The position of this hotel is superb, being on the main way up to the Alhambra and a stone's throw from Plaza Nueva.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnolia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPG080404, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your input. Regarding the space in our rooms, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

Likewise, we are very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets.

Kindest regards

Joaquin Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

THis hotel was clean, beautiful, and in a great location. You can easily walk to Alhambra, shopping, or dining. Staff was very accommodating, helpful, and pleasant. THe small hotel provides an intimate atmosphere. The only complaint I had was that the bed was hard and the pillow stiff--but I think that is Spanish hotels!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPG080404, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear guest:

We are very happy that you had a good stay in our hotel.

Our staff works everyday for our guests to feel "as at home".

Thank you very much for your good review that will help us to improve our service.

Kindest Regards.

Joaquín Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

The room was small, well laid out and more than comfortable. The service and location were grand!!! Everyone working there was friendly, always available, knowledgeable, and accommodating. They made excellent recommendations about how to get around and where to eat and visit. Simple things, like having tea or coffee available all day and night, along with sherry and sweets made it feel welcoming. We stayed at hotels in Seville, Ronda, Jerez, and Cordoba, and by far, Puerta was the best. We would stay there again and would recommend it to friends without hesitation. We certainly agree with BGrossSoCal. The place is a real gem.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPG080404, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive opinion, which helps us to grow and to recognize that we do things in a correct way. We cannot help but be glad that your stay with us has been so successful and we hope to return to welcome you on another occasion.

Cordial Greetings

Joaquin Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Boutique hotel on the main street leading to the Alhambra and close to other sites in the City. Granada is a walking city so expect to walk. Very charming hotel, with a lovely patio to sit outside and relax. Room was comfortable and clean with a balcony overlooking the street. We would stay there again or recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are larger with more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLOLife60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPG080404, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments and recommendations. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Granada and our Hotel.

We hope to have you here in the future, if possible, with better weather, so that you can enjoy more your stay and specially our patio.

Your review will help us, for sure, to improve the quality of our services.

Kindest Regards,

Joaquín Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This place was the find of a lifetime! I'm almost afraid to rate it because it'll be 'sold out' next time we go.
We flew to Granada, took a bus into town and then, after 30 hours of travel, took a taxi to the hotel. When the driver stopped, I wondered where the hotel was. It was inconspicuous from the outside and you'd walk right past it if you weren't looking for it. But what a gem of a little hotel!
We were greeted by a young woman at the desk who informed us that our reservation had been upgraded at no extra charge and got us checked in promptly. She then gave us a map, pointed out all sorts of local attractions (restaurants, tapas bars, etc.) and made us feel like we were the most important people she'd seen all year.
We took the elevator up to our cozy room and were amazed. From our little balcony we could see the towers of the Alcazaba with it's flags flying!
The room was clean, the bed comfortable (firm), everything we needed was there and we had a good night's rest. The next morning we went down to the breakfast room for a nice offering of cereal, rolls, cold cuts and cheese, yogurt, coffee/tea, etc. -- our idea of a perfect breakfast, and only 6 euros.
Since we'd booked a guided tour of the Alhambra (from home via the internet) we had to walk to the fountain at the Plaza Nueva to meet our guide... it was only about a 3 minute stroll down to the corner! After the tour (take it -- you'll treasure the experience forever) we walked down the hill by the route we'd taken in the mini bus. Just a beautiful walk.
It wasn't until later that we discovered that you can leave the hotel and walk UP the street about 150 meters to the Puerta de Las Granadas!
The hotel is PERFECTLY LOCATED for any site seeing you can imagine. We took the shuttle bus from the corner up to the top of the Albaicin quarter and walked down the hill through historic streets and along the river. Later that night we walked down to the area around the cathedral and shared the joy of Christmas shopping with throngs of locals! The whole experience was magical... and it all began and ended with the Hotel Puerta De Las Granadas.
A wonderful, professional and friendly staff, clean and comfortable accommodations, and excellent price, and the PERFECT location!

Room Tip: We overlooked the street, on the fourth floor. It had a vaulted ceiling, french doors to a balcony/r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGrossSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPG080404, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Mr. Gross,

Our Hotel will always be delighted to return to greet you and although we have only a few rooms, we will always find a hollow for you here. Thank you for your overwhelming opinion and for your recommendation. - We are at your disposal for anything you need from Granada and from this small team that works for you.

Cordial Greetings

Joaquín Tovar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Abadia Hotel Granada
#65 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Property: Puerta de Las Granadas
Address: Cuesta Gomerez 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#20 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing