We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puerta de Las Granadas
Ranked #17 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We unfortunately only had one night in Granada and due to flight delay into Malagar, arrived hours later than planned. We had prebooked tix to the Alhambra through the hotel and they reassured us that we could still get there in time. A short (but steep) walk up to the ticket office and we had a great visit to the palace and some other areas. Francisco also recommended some nearby restaurants and other areas of the city to visit.
The room, though small, was fine and well positioned overlooking the courtyard out the back. Breakfast was good, including some fresh fruit, and Ana continued to be very helpful with all our queries before we left. I was also impressed at the 'tips' and directions she gave prior to our arrival via email and when I phoned.
If you park in the Triunfo car park, the hotel will give you a discount voucher to save a few euros.
We would definitely stay her again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Madsontour O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We feel deeply sorry about your flight delay. It would be very nice if you could spend the second night with us.

We are very grateful for your overwhelming opinion and for your recommendation. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment.

It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you
.
We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very friendly welcome and I was given some great info on where to walk. There is a great flamenco show directly across the street. Short walk to visit the Alhambra. Washroom could use some updating in the shower but not enough to change my opinion of a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAbroad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments .We really appreciate your words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city.

Your review will help us, for sure, to improve the quality of our services.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The only thing positive about the hotel is its location - an easy walk to the Alhambra. The room was incredibly small with absolutely no storage space. The bed was hard and uncomfortable.The bathroom was very tiny too with threadbare towels and minimal toiletries. The breakfast was nothing much to write about. The staff , especially Ana and Carmen , were very helpful and spoke good English which made it easy to communicate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamatravel762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest:

We feel so sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

Regarding the space in our rooms and our bathroom, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

Likewise, We are very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The room that was given to my friend and me cost 100 UK Pounds a night for the bed only.
There was rotten floor between the room and bathroom, although we asked for another room we were told that as our train had brought us from Seville around 10 pm no other room was free.
This room was so small that to turn around in it also we had to stagger our movements.
When we showered, the water drainage was in the center of the bathroom, which meant the whole bathroom got flooded, so to use the toilet we had to wade thru an inch of water and when one sat on the toilet the shower door arrived at your knees and practically on your face.
Water leaked out into the room, hence I guess the wooden floor at edge of room to bathroom was rotted and spongy and smelly.
We went down the next day to ask for refund so we could spend the second night in a better environment they refused us the money but did promise to change the room. Also the A?C was only able to blast cold air direct on your face in bed it could not be altered.
As one goes to Granada to sight see we returned late afternoon to another room but no soap, shower cap, no toiletries in the room, when we asked for some a basketful along with a man's razor arrived!
They have very few staff (maybe only one) to clean and manage the breakfast areas, altho at the reception staff was being changed.
They did offer a complimentary breakfast to make amends but we did tell them very nicely that room 101 is really not saleable and not definitely for 100 pounds per night!
We met with other guests in the breakfast room with similar complaints.Location was great as near to the palace but we did not not good suggestions on where to eat. We went for a walk 5 minutes away and to our amazement we arrived at a spot of the panoramic view of the palace above us, which had open air cafes with very good food and good value. Abs lovely!
But this was never mentioned to us.at reception, they only wanted us to eat at seedy restaurant nearby, it looked very smoky and dirty sorry but we felt it fair to share this .Amy@Taz

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amina i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Can't believe the favourable reviews of this hotel. We saw the floor plan on the emergency evacuation instructions - there was no spacious room shown.

The location was why we booked this place - it's ideal if you have early reservations for the Alhambra. There was a nice outdoor space off the third floor - it was relaxing to sit out and hear birds singing. The A/C worked okay and you could see part of one of the Alhambra towers from the room.

However, our room on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel was miniscule.The bathroom had a glass door - frosted, yes, but it didn't close all the way. The shower was tiny, with ill-fitting doors, and mold. There was exposed wiring in the space above the shower, the beds were like concrete, the lighting was poor, and there was a dog downstairs that started whining early in the morning and it went on and on.

The 8 Euro breakfast was ghastly. The female desk staffer was nice and helpful, the guy who checked us in gave us information, but it was perfunctory.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j-belle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your input. Your review will help us, for sure, to improve the quality of our service.

Regarding the space in our rooms and our bathroom, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

We are really sorry that the door of your bathroom was broken. We are trying to fixed it up.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff and for our courtyard/terrace

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great staff, well organized support on anything you would need. Excellent facilities, location... A lovely patio is a great plus. It is no doubt a first choice in Granada....
.............................................................................................................

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tevfik Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and recommendations.. We really appreciate your kind words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff and for our courtyard/terrace.

It will be our pleasure to host you again next time you visit Granada

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Good location with several tapas restaurants less than a block away. It is a 2-5 minute walk to bus transportation and several main shopping areas as well as many other restaurants. It is close to the Alhambra however it is an uphill trek so you may want to take a taxi or bus. Small hotel with about 16-20 rooms. Very clean and well maintained. Room and bath however were relatively small but not cramped. Staff was friendly and courteous. Provided good restaurant suggestions and travel directions. We were traveling with our children and asked for adjoining rooms and they were able to accommodate us. Not all hotels will make that effort. Fair value for the price. I would stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and recommendations. . We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel

We always try to satisfice our costumers' needs, and of course, if you are traveling with your children, the best way to stay in our Hotel is having the posibility of two adjoint rooms.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,308 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Granada
#26 of 122 in Granada
808 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#27 of 122 in Granada
585 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Address: Cuesta Gomerez 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#20 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £27 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing