We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff, small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Puerta de Las Granadas
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location, helpful staff, small room”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I've been there in October 2013 with my wife and our 3 months old baby. The people at the reception desk were always very helpful whatever we asked.
The location is great but the room we had was really too small. Not only because we had our baby with us but it looks like the typical japanese hotel room if you see what I mean!! ; )

Not the best hotel for sure, but good value for money!

Room Tip: pay the extra to get a bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments .We appreciate your words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

Regarding the space in our rooms, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

Likewise, we are very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    358
    90
    27
    11
See reviews for
133
568
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

One must make the distinction between the high quality staff, modern common areas, good WIFI service, free coffee and tea, and the great location and the dreadfully small rooms. We booked an inside view Mauror room, but did not click on room details to see that it measured a teeny 10 - 13sq. meters. Our room was definitely on the 10 side, however it was quiet. Smoking is permitted in the patio right outside the room, but fortunately, we had no smokers around when we were there. The other Gomerez rooms measure about 13 sq. meters. This was the worst value of our trip. If you stay here, do take all of their advice on parking and advance purchase of Alhambra tickets. I would check out the Hostal Landazuri, which Rick Steeve's recommends, and it is just a few hundred feet away on the way to Alhambra. I didn't go in, but it looked good from the outside and had better food options too. The rooms have to be bigger.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValueSeeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

We feel deeply sorry that your room was not up to your wishes and liking, Our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

We are very grateful for your opinion and your point of view about our Staff and our location.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This small hotel is in the old city, 10 minutes walk to the Alhambra. We were welcomed by Carmen who, in 10 minutes, listed everything we should see in our 2 days in Granada. We had our Alhambra tickets booked and pre-paid (DON'T risk standing the the massive queues on the day!) Our 2nd floor twin room was small and a little dark, and the bathroom tiny - but well-planned and fine at the price. Who would spend time in their room in Granada ?!? Firm mattresses and powerful, hot shower, fresh towels each day. The room, at the back , lead out into a lovely courtyard terrace and was the quietest night we had in our 25 day tour in Andalucia. You have to park in the city and take a taxi to any hotel in the old town - but at 6 euros this is worth it to have traffic-free streets. You can also pre-pay your carpark at the hotel at discounted rates.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear - very quiet - though the frontage is on a pedestrian street anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DENISE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We are very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets.

It will be our pleasure to host you again next time you visit Granada.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just a 10 minute walk away from the entrance to the Alhambra and steps away from the Plaza Nueva, you can't beat the location. We were greeted at the front desk by Carmen and her information on sites, food and things to do was excellent. The rooms are small and the first floor rooms have a skylight (which does open for fresh air) rather than windows which may not be to everyone's liking. Tea and coffee are available for free all day in the small dining room and there's two free internet computers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion and your words. We are very glad to know that your stay in our hotel was satisfactory and that you enjoyed our city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Granada is city which is mostly car-free in the centre. That means you have to park your car in a garage on the edge of the city and take a taxi (or walk as we did: 20 mins max) to the hotel. But that is the only minus for this hotel: its location between the alhambra and the city centre/arabic neighbourhood is very nice. You can easily walk everywhere. The reception staff is excellent: warm welcome and lots of good advise. Very helpful indeed: not only waiting to answer questions, but making suggetsions themselves. One of the best we encountered during three weeks in Andalucia.
Rooms are clean, and nice and excellent value-for-money. We didn't try the breakfast, as it is being served in a roomless basement and there are lots of alternatives just around the corner outside. Excellent hotel, recommended!

Room Tip: third or fourth floor for the views of the Alhambra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your overwhelming opinion and for your recommendation. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff. They work everyday for our guests feel well cared and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We only had an overnight stay at the hotel for a visit to the Alhambra. We got a lovely room with views to the Alhambra which is less than10 minutes walk from the hotel . The room was modern, comfortable and very clean.
The hotel offers free coffee and has a lovely roof terrace where you can enjoy your coffee or a drink from the minibar.
There is a breakfast restaurant which is average.
At the reception we were greeted by a very competent receptionist who immediately informed us about everything we needed to know about Granada. - Walks , restaurants and the Alhambra. We had booked tickets for the Alhambra online, but it might have been easier if we had given the order to the hotel, which offers this service.
We parked in a car park, which the hotel has an agreement with and got a good discount.
Before we arrived at the hotel mailed a detailed description of how to find the parking garage . The hotel did note that it was inappropriate to use GPS . A really good service since we had had bad experience with insufficient GPS instruction.
Hotel Puerta De Las Granada is a really nice hotel with a very competent and helpful staff. We can definitely recommend the hotel for both a short or longer stay in Granada.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10April
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and recommendations.. We really appreciate your kind words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets, and for your point of view of our establishment.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were here for 2 nights. We did find the room somewhat small and the beds very hard. But the service was unbelievable. When our train was cancelled due to a strike, the front desk clerk, Ana, who advised us about the strike, booked a plane ticket for us and printed our boarding passes. Don't know what we would have done without her. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hershr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Mrs. Rosenthal,

Thank you for your comments and recommendations.. We really appreciate your kind words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We have recieved your picture today!!! You both look nice!! We hope you are enjoying the cruise and you can forget the strike incident.

It will be our pleasure to host you again next time you visit Granada.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,216 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Carlos V
#24 of 122 in Granada
555 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
NH Granada Centro
NH Granada Centro
#25 of 122 in Granada
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Property: Puerta de Las Granadas
Address: Cuesta de Gomerez, 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#20 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing