We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to walk to the Alhambra this is the hotel for you.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puerta de Las Granadas
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The reception staff was great, gave recommendations and spoke English, pre arranged our Alhambra tickets was a great help. Gave us driving directions to the hotel, said not to use a GPS, right on. We were driving around old town in one way traffic and non turn signage close to the destination but not quite there...it is a nightmare, but lo and behold a friendly guy comes up to you on a Vespa and asks 'if you are looking for a hotel?' By then you are frazzled and oh so glad for this assistance. We follow him and bingo here is the hotel up a street that says you can't drive there, we had passed it about 4 times, we are tickled ask if we can give him some money and offer 5€ no he says 10€ and has change...so this is his job and what he and a posse of vespa drivers do all day. We check into the hotel, it is small, clean but again small, very minimum vanity items, small shower, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast seems to vary between 5€ and 8€, again sufficient. The best thing about this is the location and that is grand, walking up to the Alhambra early in the morning was a unforgettable hike. Oh one other thing you have to park your car away from the hotel and hike back, each day is a fee to park.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wendell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments .We really appreciate your words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

As we told you by an e-mail, Granada is one of the most historical and monumental cities and being the hotel situated between the Alhambra, the Cathedral and the Albayzin quarter, access by car is restricted. Clients of the hotel are allowed to access the hotel only through the specific route we sent you in an email, which it is authorized by Granada City Council. We do not recommend use the GPS, or Google Maps beacause they do not take into account streets with restricted access and only permitted to clients of the hotel.

Regarding the space in our rooms and our bathroom, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

Thank you very much for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having organised three city holiday, flights and coaches myself it was very reassuring to receive e-mails in advance of our visit from hotel and took up suggestion of them ordering tickets for the Alhambra and following directions which bus and stop to use from the airport. When there, the friendly service and advice on places to eat etc were also welcome. On one of the main routes to the Alhambra, it might be thought that it could be noisy but as most visitors using this route are daytime pedestrians and the windows are pretty soundproof, there is no problem. (It is quite a quick route but make sure you are clear about the position of the ticket office if you are visiting - even with a 'reservation'). Air conditioning means that you do not need windows open. Our room was compact and clean - with an unexpected mini-bar and hairdryer. There were computers available for those like us without smart phones and wi-fi link is free. A small outdoor terrace means that it is possible to relax with a book, cards, a drink etc... A nice touch which could be copied by other larger concerns was the availability of coffee, tea and a kettle in the dining area throughout the day. Breakfast was not included in the cost of our stay but we opted to have breakfast each day at 8 euros and we were perfectly happy with the choice available. You are never far from a cafe or bar if you want to go out. We had come from Seville and went on to fly back from Almeria. We had not been to Granada before but really enjoyed our few days from sights to food and drink, friendly people, the vague hippy style of some and the heavy hint of North Africa in the Albayzin. Even the journey through the mountains was pleasantly memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your overwhelming opinion and for your recommendation. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff. They work everyday for our guests feel well cared and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Again, a massive headache getting there by car and going to the parking they recommend to leave the car afterwards. However, the rest of our stay was great. Excellent location, great views on the Alhambra from our room under the roof. Wi-fi didn't work the first night, but was magically fixed by the next day and worked fine. The breakfast could be improved, is really not worth the money they charge for it.

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms on the top floor for great vistas, but be aware that the lift stops one floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your point of view of our establishment. Your review will help us, for sure, to improve the quality of our services.

We are really sorry about the incident with Wi-Fi. As you now, we have figured the problem out, and now it works correctly. We have changed all the Hotel WiFi for another one that works better and the first day of your stay was the day for changing it.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is on Cuesta the Gomérez, one of the streets leading to the Alhambra. Location of the hotel is excellent, near Plaza Nueva and at the bottom of the Albayzín. A nice 20 minute (if you do not get lost) hike will take you to the San Nicólas viewpoint and the nearby Grand Mosque. Both are highly recommended, but the Mosque is much more interesting.

The staff is amazing. They went way out their way to help. They can get you tickets to the Alhambra, and I would recommend this since it will save a ton of time. We did not, and regretted this decision. They also sent us instructions on how to get to the hotel. This is essential if you are driving since navigation in Granada is complicated with numerous streets restricted to traffic.

The air-conditioned rooms are reasonable with all the amenities. Our rooms were on the third floor, high enough to eliminate noise from Gomérez. The breakfast is basic; the coffee not great. If you are expecting a great breakfast, I suggest you go to somewhere near to Plaza Nueva. Avoid the restaurants in Plaza Nueva because they tend to charge more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spitfire1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive opinion and your kind words. We are very glad to know that your stay in our hotel was so satisfactory and that you enjoyed our city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a great hotel for visiting the Alhambra and the rooms are modern and quite comfortable. We had a room that faced the street and there was some street noise. So, at times we used the air conditioning and it worked very well. With the windows closed, it was quiet. The rooms are well appointed and larger than average for Spain, at least in this price range. The staff are very friendly and I was pleased to be contacted a couple of times by email before arriving to make sure that we knew how to get to the hotel and to assist us if we needed to park a car. This is extra service that you do not often get from most hotels. We did not have a car so parking was not an issue. The wifi worked great. Breakfast buffet is fine but does not include hot items, except for coffee, tea and toast. There is cereal, fruit, yogurt, and a few more things. It is convenient. If I return to Granada, I would definitly stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I was very happy with a room facing the street since it was quiet with the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your opinion in TripAdvisor and for your recommendation. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment.

It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope to have you with us in the future.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited Grenada in order to see the sites of the city and of course to visit Alhambra Palace. This hotel is in the perfect location for both. It is a small hotel but the rooms are a good size and we found everything about them to be really good. We had a view of the palace from our balcony. The breakfast was simple buffet type including tea and coffee, cereals, fruit juice, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts, croisant and a selection of breads. The staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful and offered advice on everything we asked - best places to eat, best places to visit, best means of getting around and even the best route to our next destination - Cordoba. Four star it isn't - but it is very good. We are pleased to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralphhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your overwhelming opinion and for your recommendation. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, the views of your room and of course, our City,

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff. They work everyday for our guests to feel "like home", and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had some problems finding this hotel, but by the time we asked a parked taxi driver, we were almost in front of the place. The hotel was great, especially the staff members. We traveled by rental car and parking is an issue, but they gave us good directions for a safe parking garage. Staff members were very helpful with obtaining tickets for the Alhambra and giving us valuable guidance. We mentioned that we were going to try to stop in Ronda and they printed off excellent directions from the computer. The entire experience was very pleasant and I would highly recommend this hotel. Again, the staff members were super!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen34134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Propietario at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your opinion and for your recommendation. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff. They work everyday for our guests feel well cared and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 124 in Granada
1,355 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 124 in Granada
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 124 in Granada
1,056 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 124 in Granada
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Address: Cuesta Gomerez 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £28 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing