We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great gateway to the Alhambra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puerta de Las Granadas
Ranked #15 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great gateway to the Alhambra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in May. I travelled from the train station by bus to the Cathedral, and the hotel was a short walk from there. The front desk clerk was very helpful pointing out sites of interest on the map. Granada is not a large city, and the hotel was in easy walking distance of the Cathedral, Moorish Quarter and the Alhambra, which is accessible by following the street up the hill from the hotel. My room was small (the bathroom especially), but comfortable and well-appointed. The alcove that served as a closet had a musty smell, but the room was fine otherwise. The wi-fi was reliable and the air-conditioning worked well. Free tea from the breakfast area was appreciated. There was a nice patio for relaxing. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments .We really appreciate your words and your opinion in TripAdvisor. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city.

Regarding the space in our rooms and our bathroom, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

Thank you very much for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    343
    82
    26
    10
See reviews for
127
541
57
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect, so much so that my overall rating is "excellent". All the main sights of Granada are within walking distance and if you do want a taxi, there are plenty of them a minute or two walk to the central Plaza Nueva.

Our room itself was very good - clean, good size, quiet, comfortable. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of choices. Staff were very helpful with good English.

Overall, this was the perfect hotel for our 2-night visit to Granada and I would definitely recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments and for your recommendation.We really appreciate your words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff. They work everyday for our guests feel well cared and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Location excellent for Plaza Nueva and the Alhambra, reception staff were very friendly and helpful, including booking last minute tickets for a concert at the Alambra and recommending good tapas bars.
For the class of hotel and city centre location the rooms were adequate without being luxurious, the mini-bar fridge didn't work and wasn't replaced during our stay. The shower was excellent, always a major plus point!
Breakfast could do with a bit more attention to make sure that the coffee was fresh and the orange juice topped up, but overall it was okay.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, especially for a weekend or short break.

Room Tip: Go for the larger, and more expensive, rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 200DAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and recommendations.. We really appreciate your words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

We are really sorry about the incident with the mini-bar fridge You are right, we would have had to change the broken one and replace it for another that would have worked correctly.

On the other hand, thank you so much for your point of view about our breakfast. Your review will help us for sure to improve the quality of our service. .


We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights here. Our room was on the top floor. We paid a bit extra for this "Cathedral View" room. The room did seem a bit nicer than some of the other rooms we glimpsed, but I have to say that "catherdral view" is a misnomer. Sure, you could see the cathedral, but only if you really craned your neck!

So, that sounds negative, but we were quite happy with the hotel and the room. The room shares a balcony. If it's not too hot out, the balcony is a nice place to sit. The room has AC and a safe. Breakfasts at the hotel are buffet-style and nice. The people working the front desk are multilingual and extremely helpful, and the hotel location cannot be beat. It is close to everything, including the Alhambra and all major sights. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are the best but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive opinion and your kind words. We are very glad to know that your stay in our hotel was so satisfactory and that you enjoyed our city.
We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Puerta de Las Granadas provides an excellent room, location, and service. Starting with the checkin process, my wife and I were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who quickly checked us in and gave us a map of the surrounding area, pointing out some good eateries, bars, and points of interest. The room was clean and spacious, providing an excellent night's sleep. The location was within walking distance of all of historical Granada's major sights, including Plaza Bib Rambla and La Alhambra.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion, as a critic user, in Tripadvisor. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our lovely city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff. They work everyday for our guests feel well cared and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The reception staff was great, gave recommendations and spoke English, pre arranged our Alhambra tickets was a great help. Gave us driving directions to the hotel, said not to use a GPS, right on. We were driving around old town in one way traffic and non turn signage close to the destination but not quite there...it is a nightmare, but lo and behold a friendly guy comes up to you on a Vespa and asks 'if you are looking for a hotel?' By then you are frazzled and oh so glad for this assistance. We follow him and bingo here is the hotel up a street that says you can't drive there, we had passed it about 4 times, we are tickled ask if we can give him some money and offer 5€ no he says 10€ and has change...so this is his job and what he and a posse of vespa drivers do all day. We check into the hotel, it is small, clean but again small, very minimum vanity items, small shower, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast seems to vary between 5€ and 8€, again sufficient. The best thing about this is the location and that is grand, walking up to the Alhambra early in the morning was a unforgettable hike. Oh one other thing you have to park your car away from the hotel and hike back, each day is a fee to park.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wendell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments .We really appreciate your words and your opinion in TripAdvisor.

As we told you by an e-mail, Granada is one of the most historical and monumental cities and being the hotel situated between the Alhambra, the Cathedral and the Albayzin quarter, access by car is restricted. Clients of the hotel are allowed to access the hotel only through the specific route we sent you in an email, which it is authorized by Granada City Council. We do not recommend use the GPS, or Google Maps beacause they do not take into account streets with restricted access and only permitted to clients of the hotel.

Regarding the space in our rooms and our bathroom, we would like to inform you that our Hotel is a 19th century building, located in a highly protected area of the city (near the Alhambra). When restoring it, we had to respect the original areas and dimensions and adapt our rooms and facilities to City council regulations.

Thank you very much for your opinion about our Staff, which is and will keep on being one of our best assets and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having organised three city holiday, flights and coaches myself it was very reassuring to receive e-mails in advance of our visit from hotel and took up suggestion of them ordering tickets for the Alhambra and following directions which bus and stop to use from the airport. When there, the friendly service and advice on places to eat etc were also welcome. On one of the main routes to the Alhambra, it might be thought that it could be noisy but as most visitors using this route are daytime pedestrians and the windows are pretty soundproof, there is no problem. (It is quite a quick route but make sure you are clear about the position of the ticket office if you are visiting - even with a 'reservation'). Air conditioning means that you do not need windows open. Our room was compact and clean - with an unexpected mini-bar and hairdryer. There were computers available for those like us without smart phones and wi-fi link is free. A small outdoor terrace means that it is possible to relax with a book, cards, a drink etc... A nice touch which could be copied by other larger concerns was the availability of coffee, tea and a kettle in the dining area throughout the day. Breakfast was not included in the cost of our stay but we opted to have breakfast each day at 8 euros and we were perfectly happy with the choice available. You are never far from a cafe or bar if you want to go out. We had come from Seville and went on to fly back from Almeria. We had not been to Granada before but really enjoyed our few days from sights to food and drink, friendly people, the vague hippy style of some and the heavy hint of North Africa in the Albayzin. Even the journey through the mountains was pleasantly memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertadeLasGranadas, Gerente at Puerta de Las Granadas, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your overwhelming opinion and for your recommendation. We can’t help but appreciate your point of view of our establishment. It is really very important for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city.

We are also very grateful for your opinion about our Staff. They work everyday for our guests feel well cared and the best pleasure we can have is to know that we have managed to be helpful for you.

We really hope we can host you again in your next visit to our city.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Abadia Hotel Granada
#65 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Property: Puerta de Las Granadas
Address: Cuesta Gomerez 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#20 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing