We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel, Excellent Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puerta de Las Granadas
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Location was excellent for a quick trip to the city. All the sights were accessible from here and it was very close to the main tapas areas and other nightlife.

The room was very clean and modern, it was small but sufficient. There were no noice issues and there were 2 computers available with free internet which was extremely useful.

The staff were excellent and we went with their recommendations for dinner etc and couldn't complain.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clee1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

When we arrived, they told us we could upgrade for 2 of the 4 nights to the top floor, which offers spectacular views. The bed was very comfortable. Our second room, on a lower floor, was adequate but we missed the views. The rooms aren't large but were adequate for our needs. The management was very helpful, with transportation, restaurant, and sightseeing ideas. The optional breakfast and free internet were welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We chose this hotel based upon the great reviews that we read. The only negative reviews we saw were regarding the size of the rooms. We expected the room to be minuscule but was pleasantly surprised. The room was definitely on the smaller side but was not nearly as small as we expected. Although this was the least fancy hotel we stayed in during our trip to Spain, it was the only hotel with free internet and complimentary coffee and tea. For us, the hotel's highlight was their staff. The staff was excellent and went above and beyond in terms of their service. I exchanged numerous emails with them in advance of our stay. They were incredibly helpful in making suggestions and answering my numerous questions. They booked our Alhambra tickets in advance. We will definitely stay there again when we go back to Granada.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Rarely do you receive such attention when you stay at any budget hotel but Puerta de Las Granadas should be the new model for all. The vibe is definitley more high end hostel then hotel. Well before we arrived we had exchanged multiple emails with the booking staff and got extensive directions, tickets for sightseeing and other useful tips. Our room was tiny (remember when all hotels in Europe were like spacious closets) and we had two double beds, but it was very new, modern and immaculate. There's access to computer terminals for internet access and a lovely deck for all its patrons if you want to sit outside with a glass of wine or a bite (byob). It's directly at the bottom of the Alambra and close to all else.

Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ArtieBklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

If we were judging the experience solely on the room, our rating would not be as high. The room was fine, clean, but small. Nothing fancy. And just outside of our room was an outdoor hotel patio where some other guests chatted until late night, so one night it was hard to get sleep.

But overall we had a great stay here. Decent price (not spectacular, but the location was just terrific) and no hassle whatsoever. The receptionists were terrific and helped with everything. They spoke English well and helped us with arrangements and questions of all sorts. The short walk up to the Alhambra made it easy for us to visit the grounds 3 times in two days, although other travellers may prefer taking the bus.

FYI, there is a fantastic sweet shop (cakes, pastries, cookies) in the Albaicin - just go up the main hill with all the Moroccan shops and you'll see it on your left after 2-3 blocks. And the Alhambra is simply breathtaking, so you can't go wrong there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naranja23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The staff were great; nothing too much trouble. The hotel and views were gorgeous from our 4th floor rooms. Great location just off the Plaza Nueva but very peaceful and so easy to find great places to eat, particularly in the streets off the Plaza. Would recommend the Kasbah restuarant & the bar at the bottom of the street on the left corner with free tapas with drinks whereas not all do this depite what people say.
The hotel was perfect for us with 2 teenagers: intenet access, computer to use to check things out, flights etc and they organised tickets to the Alhambra etc for us. Altogether a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Stayed here for one night in June.The best thing about the hotel is the excellent location,maybe half a mile walk from the Alhambra and a few minutes to the old town,which to all intents and purposes it`s part of.

I`d say it`s closer to a pension or maybe 1* hotel than a 3* which is how it describes itself but as long as you get a decent price and book it knowing that it shouldn`t be a problem.
The check -in and check-out were efficient.The receptionists friendly and helpful.

There is a lift to the various floors,a few rooms on each floor.

The room was small but not surprising in a hotel in the heart of Granada at this sort of price(about £60 on internet late rooms site)The room was clean.I asked for a double but we had twin beds,fairly common of course in Europe.There was a view to the Alhambra,or at least a small part of it(provided you stretched a bit!).

Shower room was small,one of the smallest I`ve ever seen but towels and toiletries were fine.

Room had AC and a room safe and a TV with 1 or 2 English speaking news channels if you were bothered to watch.

Breakfast isn`t included in the price but for about 7 Euros you can have a cold breakfast in the small basement room.The breakfast is fine and tea and coffee unlimited as is everything else since it`s buffet style.

There is no parking on site and the hotel suggest you park in a public car park about 30 mins walk away and either walk(not good when you first arrive but ok when you leave depending on the luggage you have) or get a taxi.The Taxi is about 8 Euros and the car park about 12 Euros for 24 hours and it`s cheaper to get your ticket stamped for the car park at the hotel and hand it in when you leave the car park.

There is no restaurant and no bar and not really any comfortable lounge areas.It is small everywhere in the hotel.Maybe they would call it cosy! Internet access is available and is free on the 1st floor.

Overall the hotel was fine at the price though factor in the extras like car park,taxi and breakfast.I`ve stayed in Granada before however and there are better hotels at a similar price in my opinion and for that reason I wouldn`t stay her again but if you`re booked already don`t worry,it`s fine and Granada is wonderful so enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 124 in Granada
1,355 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 124 in Granada
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 124 in Granada
1,056 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 124 in Granada
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Address: Cuesta Gomerez 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £28 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing