We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, charming, incredible location, friendly staff & amazing value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puerta de Las Granadas
Ranked #15 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cozy, charming, incredible location, friendly staff & amazing value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Cozy, charming, incredible location, friendly staff & amazing value. The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. The staff were really nice and the location excellent, just at the feet of the Alhambra. It was a perfect choose with a very good value!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikivoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    343
    82
    26
    10
See reviews for
127
541
57
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

The staff make this hotel the greatest. I thought it was a great value for the money. When I made the reservation, I was emailed by the staff to get our Alhambra tickets for us. I highly recommend doing that, btw--makes life a lot easier and the $1 extra is well worth it. Desk staff speak English fluently, which is wonderful for English-only speakers like me. The twin room was small but very comfortable. Bathroom was tiny, but again I had no problems with it, altho I could see that a larger person might not be as comfortable. Internet did not work in the room, but there was a computer lounge w/a desktop where the internet worked well. Hotel is very centrally located. Restaurants are a minute's walk. Lots of great shops nearby. Very easy to get to all the sites. It was especially fun to walk around the Sacromonte and the Albayzin. Yes, the breakfast was not special, but was priced well and more than adequate, and gave my teenage son and myself fuel for the day. There was a great garden area off the 3rd floor. Weather wasn't good enough while we were there, but it seemed like a pretty place to relax after a hard day sight-seeing. All-in-all, great hotel, espcially for the price, and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailey550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

The receptionists couldn't have been more helpful, from the moment we reserved the room to arrival and throughout our stay. They offered useful advice on restaurants and transport in the city. Our room was smallish, but modern and very well equipped, including a hairdrier in the bathroom. The only downside was the breakfast - we usually prefer to eat breakfast out, in a local cafe, but opted for it because of an early start at the Alhambra. There was nothing specifically wrong with the food, it was just uninspiring and its location in a long thin basement room lent no charm to the proceedings. However, all in all we would recommend the hotel highly - its location just off Plaza Nueva meant we were near restaurants, bars, buses and taxis within 30 seconds walk.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WombleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

I stayed at the Puerta de Las Granadas for 6 nights during Thanksgiving week (late November) of 2009 with my best friend. The location of the hotel is amazing and is convenient to lots of restaurants and shopping. We did not have a car and had no difficulty walking to all the sites. We also took the train to Ronda (HIGHLY recommend) as well as Seville (somewhat recommend)...the train station is easily within walking distance if you are used to walking (maybe 15-20 minutes). Our room was packaged with our airfare through Expedia and was an amazing price for the week and we found the room to be very clean. I think we may have been upgraded to a larger room because it was a slow week...it was also quiet-no complaints. Staff were incredibly helpful at all times when we had questions and we loved the Flamenco show they arranged. We both commented that the hotel was a perfect choice and we would definitely stay again on our next visit to Granada! Granada is an enchanting place and you won't be disappointed by the city or this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1peacefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Just a short walk (uphill) from the Alhambra. The staff was kind and helpful. They arranged tickets for Alhambra for us before we got to Granada. They also told us which areas were tourist traps and which were more local. The room was clean but very small. Smallest bathroom I've ever seen in my life, but pleasant nonetheless. Free internet.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

You walk out the front door of hotel, turn right, and continue on the same street up a hill, past only a block or two of commercial establishments, before you encounter the perimeter of the Alhambra grounds, from which it's about a 15-minute walk to the visitors' entrance. The front desk staff speak excellent English and are surpassingly helpful (especially the excellent Alexandra). They will likely volunteer to arrange your Alhambra tickets in advance and can also explain where to leave your rental car rather than venture into the old quarter of Granada with it. (There is no parking right at the hotel.) There are generally two computers to use in a lounge area for free internet access (and the most blazing WiFi speeds we encountered anywhere in Spain), but one of the desktops was absent/broken when we were there. The rooms are okay but not a place you want to spend a lot of time - everything is clean but very simple, and the pillows are none too cushy. The breakfast (not included - about 8 or 9 euros/person when we were there) is a bit perfunctory - coffee simmering on a hot plate, some decidedly industrial pastries, some cheese, ham, and fruit, and yogurt and plain-ish cereal. It would take some work and tolerance to really fuel up for a good part of the day with that spread, but it is certainly an acceptable way to grab a quick bite. Despite the limitations of the rooms and breakfast, I would recommend this to anyone not looking for a four-star experience but wanting proximity to the Alhambra, a decent room, and helpful staff. (The four-bullet rating here is NOT intended to be parallel to a four-star rating; this is more like a two-star hotel except for the excellent front desk folks.) No doorman, and a very tiny elevator that three humans or suitcases can ride in at once.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujusticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

My mom and I stayed at the Puerta de las Granadas for one night on our 10 day trip through Spain. This was an excellent hotel at an extremely good value. I was a little nervous about the room size based on previous reviews (seeing as I was booking the cheapest room). However, upon arrival, we were up-graded to a more expensive double room, which turned out to be a pretty decent size. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect right off of Plaza Nuevo. Also, i found it very quite and did not have any problems with noise. We were just a 20 minute walk to the Alhambra entrance and a 10 min walk to the Albayzin. Also located right around the corner are some excellent restaurants and shops. The staff was extremely helpful in giving us advice on where to go. They even booked us a fantastic Flamenco show in the caves for us. Everyone we dealt with spoke excellent english. They even had 2 computers with free internet for guests to use. I would definitely recommend staying here and for the location and service the price cannot be beat.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverstoptraveling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Abadia Hotel Granada
#65 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Property: Puerta de Las Granadas
Address: Cuesta Gomerez 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#20 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing