We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 AM wake up call”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puerta de Las Granadas
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
washington, dc
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“3 AM wake up call”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This is a nice hotel in a great location. The best location in Granada, 5 minutes from Pl Nueva and 30 minutes from the Alhambra. The staff is very friendly too. The Gomerez double room we had was very simple with a tiny bathroom and almost no furniture. One almost had to brush against the wall to get by the beds. We had asked for a quiet room and perhaps the more expensive rooms were quieter, but our room waqs in front and at 3 AM he nightclub across the narrow street lets out and people talk and mill around under ones window for quite a while. This was a Thursday night and it probably is also bad on the weekend.

Other than that brief interuption, the hotel was decent with a buffet breakfast for about 7 euros. Location just below the Alhambra was great. We would advise taking the 32 or 30 bus up(1.2E) and walking down.

Would also advise asking for a room on the back side.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    355
    88
    26
    11
See reviews for
131
563
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I went to Granada solely to go to the Alhambra and this hotel is the perfect location for it as well as to the plaza just down the street filled with restaurants and shopping areas. Not only will they buy the ticket for you in advance so there is no chance of having the palace being sold out, as was the case with me on the day I was there. Thankfully, I had the hotel buy my ticket a month before.

They give you so much information when you check in that I wish I had planned to stay in Granada longer because there were many places I would liked to see.

The room was very clean, quite big especially since all I'd read about this hotel was the smallness of the rooms, look at my pictures, this was a nice big room! It was spotless and I loved having a view of the Alhambra from my room. The Alhambra is within walking distance but be beware that is a totally uphill 20 minutes or so walk, though it is through a beautiful woodsy peaceful area.

There's also wireless internet throughout the hotel as well a computer room where you can use the computer if you don't have a laptop of your own. The upstairs patio area is also cozy and wonderful.

Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

A lovely little hotel on the street leading to Alhambra. The staff are all tremendously helpful and seem to speak French and English well enough to give good tips on the surrounding area. They also have a deal with the Alhambra which means they can get you tickets even when they are sold out on-line. (Very handy for us as it was and they did!) They have a small but sweet terrace and free wi-fi. A final bonus is that there is free coffee & tea in the basement breakfast bar - a rare treat in Spain.

Our room was on the small side, but bijou, fine for a few days, probably too small for longer. We had one of the top floor rooms with a view of the cathedral though, from the floor plan the other rooms may have been (slightly) bigger.

Apart from being close to the Alhambra it is also less than 5 mins from the Albaicin, Plaza Nueva and a further 5 minutes along the Rio Darro takes you to Paseo de los Tristes another plaza-like area just below Alhambra with the traditionally vast amount of tabernas, restaurants and narrow winding streets.

The only downside was that the computer in the hotel's internet area thought it was 26th July 2003 (it was actually 4th Aug 2010). This gives rise to issues on some internet sites that use your system date to complete drop down lists eg Renfe. Rendering it useless for the only purpose I needed it for. The staff were unable to fix it as the system is managed by another company. So best to check this before use and not leave it to the minute - just in case a trip to an internet cafe is required.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed here for three nights. Staff are very friendly and helpful and they updgraded my room to one with a view of the city which was lovely. I stayed at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. The rooms are well appointed for a three star hotel and very clean. The location is great - at one of the access points to the Alhambra and next to one of the busy squares and within easy walking distance to other squares with restaurants, bars and cafes. I didn't eat the hotel breakfast (I don't usually do that in hotels as I prefer to go out and experience what a city has to offer) and easily found places to eat breakfast. As I said in another review of the Hospederia del Atalia hotel in Cordoba (the same trip), the Spanish don't really 'do' breakfast - a coffee and a croissant is the standard. There is also good churros in Granada (although a cup of chocolate to dip you churros in as breakfast is not the ideal way to get your 'five a day'!) The only thing that annoyed me was the cleaning that took place in the central stair area at 8am in the morning. It woke me up most mornings and as I was on holiday, I was looking to wake up a bit later than that - especially as shops, cultural sites etc don't open until after 10am. But that was a minor annoyance in what was a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie-LFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The good things. The staff are friendly and efficient. They will give you maps and advice on where to roam. They will arrange Alhambra tickets and advise on your visit. We were pleased with the level of help. The hotel is well-positioned, particularly for the Alhambra, and good value for money. There is an outside terrace which is a great little place to sit and read.
Other things: The rooms are probably all on the small side. Our bathroom was tiny. The room had all we wished for, but was rather dusty, looking as though it had been well cleaned after the last visitor, but perhaps then left for a couple of days. Comfortable beds. Our room faced the road which is generally only used by foot traffic, there was no noise and I would recommend this view.
We did not take breakfast as the breakfast room is in the basement without a view, and the coffee seemed to be filter coffee. Granada in August is not big on breakfast places, though there are a selection within strolling distance of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cygnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The staff was so helpful in orienting us to Granada. Loved the location, a hike up hill and we were right at the Alhambra. They were so sweet to us on our honeymoon, allowing us to check in early and leaving us champagne. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugehands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Great location. The lady at the front desk gives you a map and highlights places to go and how best to get to the alhambra from the hotel. Basically, they are very helpful. It's a narrow five story place, but there is a lift. The second floor had a very nice spot with free internet. Didn't have time to take advantage of the terrace, but it looked pretty nice too (although for the most part this is a no frills place). I thought the room was nice and the hotel on the whole is very modern and sleek and well designed. It's a well run hotel in a good spot and I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtreydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,199 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
NH Granada Centro
NH Granada Centro
#25 of 122 in Granada
1,257 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#23 of 122 in Granada
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerta de Las Granadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta de Las Granadas

Property: Puerta de Las Granadas
Address: Cuesta de Gomerez, 14, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#20 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Puerta de Las Granadas 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a building that dates from the 1800s, charming and small, this "typical" hotel of 14 rooms has been fully renovated for use as a hotel since 2004. While conserving the architecture from its past, the hotel is equipped with a modern and functional in keeping with todays standards. Magnificently situated on Cuesta de Gomerez, beside the Puerta de las Granadas from where you can access the Alhambra. The hotel is situated in the centre of the triangle formed by the Alhambra., Albayzin and the Cathedral.With maximum comfort, the hotel offers the travelers a stay right in the historical centre of Granada, a short walk from all the most emblematic monuments and most traditional as well as modern areas of the city. Everything you need to know about granada is a short step away, The Alhambra, Albayzin, the Cathedral, museums, restaurants, festivals, tapas....We invite you to enjoy the city and its while resting in our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Puerta de Las Granadas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Las Granadas Hotel Granada
Puerta De Las Granadas Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing