We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard tourist class hotel outside the central city area”
Review of Occidental Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Granada
Ranked #62 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A standard tourist class hotel with clean rooms and an ok breakfast. The hotel is located outside the central area in a newer part of Granada. I would recommend getting a hotel in the central city area which is more convenient to the tourist attractions. Not much more to say one way or the other about the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Occidental Granada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a good steady quality hotel. It's not the best around but it was clean, modern, comfortable, in a decent part of town with OK views from the windows. I would recommend it if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My partner and I recently stayed a long weekend at this central 4* hotel. Excellent helpful staff, very comfortable bed in a spacious bedroom. The breakfast was varied with a selection of hot and cold pastries, meats and cheeses. I would fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful 4 nights at this very European hotel. Staff could not have been nicer, very accommodating of my lack of Spanish speaking ability. Enjoyed my stay very much.
Special additions for breakfast as a part if Congresso Nutricion were very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour. Hotel was okay, if a bit out of the way from central Granada. Actually when we arrived I was thinking Granada was a bit of a lousy place, mainly due to the location of the hotel and the route taken to get there, but I went for a walk into town and it's actually a lovely little city!
The hotel was fine. Nothing went wrong, but it wasn't a special place or somewhere I would rush to go back to. Dinner in the restaurant was very average, with no great flavours.
Service was friendly enough, and when I asked for maps and directions they were happy to provide.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We drove to this hotel from the Costa del Sol and it was tricky to get to due to detours and revised roads not shown on our GPS. The hotel room was spacious,comfortable and clean but dated and in need of modernization. We had to take a taxi to get to the Alhambra as driving there in our huge hired car would have been a challenge with the narrow roads n Granada. Was ok for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSM78666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hotel is a leisurely 15 minute walk from the city centre with many restaurants, cafes and convenience stores nearby. The room was of a simple modern style and was clean. The bed was firm but comfortable. The bathroom was quite adequate for our needs. Buffet breakfast provided both hot and cold foods with an adequate range for selection. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was chosen for us and is on the periphery of the main hotel grouping in the city. While the location met our needs for a short stay in Granada I believe choosing a hotel closer to La Alhambra would have been a preferred option

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high up as possible to get city views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Allegro Granada
#41 of 122 in Granada
461 reviews
Figares
Barcelo Granada Congress
Barcelo Granada Congress
#31 of 122 in Granada
837 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#48 of 122 in Granada
726 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#36 of 122 in Granada
997 reviews
Corona de Granada Hotel
#51 of 122 in Granada
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Granada

Address: Calle Alhamar, 46, 18004 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £54 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Occidental Granada 4* (part of Barcelo Hotel Group) is located in one of the best areas of the city, at easy reach from Recogidas Street which links the hotel with Granada city center. In addition, it is a few metres away from the brand-new underground in the city. Its perfect location makes this property the best choice for those who aim at discovering the city by foot. It is 10-minute walking from the old town or the Cathedral, which implies walking across one of the main streets which hold great number of shops and bars. Its location also implies avoiding one of the most common problems of the city which is the traffic jams. The hotel is located within the well-known Zone 1 of the city which is theh preferred one for those who visit Granada for business reasons. A few metres away from Occidental Granada one can easily get to the Congress and Exhibitions Center and Science Center, which is a cultural reference in Andalucia. Also, the high way road which connects Granada with Sierra Nevada and, Tropical Coast (both half an hour driving) and the International Airport (just 20-minute driving) is a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhamar Hotel Granada
Alhamar Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing