We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Small Hotel in a Perfect Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carmen Del Cobertizo
Ranked #12 of 94 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a really beautiful, historic small hotel in an excellent location in the Albaicin district at the foot of the Alhambra. On arrival we were offered a choice of room and chose to stay downstairs with direct access to the pretty patio which has a view of the Alhambra up above. The super friendly, helpful staff made our stay extra special and they recommended some great tapas bars and tea shops locally. A wonderful continental breakfast is served in the covered central courtyard which is a beautiful space with many interesting pictures and ornaments. Can't find fault with anything - we had a perfect 4 night stay here just wished for longer. We will be back hopefully next year.
NB. If you do drive to Granada you cannot access the Albaicin district so will have to leave the car at a car park and walk or taxi to the Carmen. We actually parked up at the Alhambra from where its a 20 minute walk up / down the hill. Its 18euros per 24 hours though if you don't like a steep hill you may be better off parking in the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Carmen Del Cobertizo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very close to the city centre and handy for the old quarter and the Alhambra, this traditional Spanish house has been converted into a 7 roomed hotel. The staff are very friendly and really try to be helpful, breakfast is provided and the setting is relaxed in the open courtyard.
Check if they have fixed the air conditioning in the bedroom we used if your going to use it (the Alhambra suite) before going, as it can get a bit noisy at night if you leave the window open to cool the room.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, warm air rises hence the comment on the air con. There is a lift for lugga...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Property was beautiful, old Spanish Villa in great location, convenient to everything. However, if you have a car there is NO parking close by. You must park in public parking and take a taxi to hotel, you still have to carry luggage up two flights of stairs to get to get there. Room was spacious with charming vintage decor, that looked out into a pretty courtyard, bed not very comfortable and it was two twin beds pushed together so I got stuck in crack all night. Host and hostess were very accommodating and made us feel at home. Breakfast was good, home made yogurt and lots of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We found this to be a delightful hotel in an excellent location in the Albaicin district - just a step away from the busy Plaza Nueva but an oasis of calm. Entering from the street is a surprise as the space opens out into the central covered patio which is a very attractive room with tasteful furnishings. The two main guys running the hotel, Raul and Alejandro, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, with great attention to detail ( and excellent English!) too. They encourage a sense of feeling at home. This is helped by the availability all day of tea, coffee and biscuits to help yourself to - we stayed in three other good hotels in Andalucia but no others had this facility. Raul bakes fresh brioches and cakes daily for breakfast which was a lovely touch.
We'd definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room off the central area and had some concerns that this might be noisy but w...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank s1j_410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Nice comfortable hotel in a good location.
Well worth staying if you want something different to a standard type hotel.
Great location to explore the old town.
Staff very helpful with advice on restaurants and bars to visit.
Loved the peaceful charm of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshexiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I had a feeling I would love this place when I read the description, but the reality even exceeded my expectations. To start, booking online was really easy with a prompt response. The staff attached very helpful directions and a map since the streets in the old town are difficult to find and navigate. Once on the street (or alley really), I felt as if I had been transported to the medina of Marrakesh. After ringing the doorbell (an actual bell), we were welcomed in by Alejandro who could not have been more friendly and helpful. We truly felt as if we were stepping into a beautiful home as welcomed house guests. We got a brief tour including the lovely roof deck with a view of the Alhambra as we were shown to our room, which also had a view. The suite was spacious and comfortable and came complete with free high speed internet despite the old world ambiance. After giving us a chance to settle in, Alejandro also provided excellent dining and sightseeing tips. Breakfast at the hotel was a small additional charge but was well worth the price with a full buffet. I have nothing but compliments for this lovely gem of a hotel and wish I could just move in.

Room Tip: Request a suite with Alhambra view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexikeguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel last weekend for 3 nights and we simply loved it. It is exactly our kind of place: feels like a home rather than an impersonal hotel, every item around has been chosen individually and the result is that the Carmen del Cobertizo is unique and it feels it belongs to the place; breakfast is shared around a large table with other guests, and Raul and Alejandro will greet you with a warm smile, believe them when they say they will be happy to help, they are: We called them with a question the day before we went and after answering they called back just to ask if we wanted them to get us tickets for the Alhambra or a reservation anywhere, how is that for what a 5 star hotel would call "concierge service"?

We stayed in the Alhambra suite: huge, beautiful, full of light, and a fantastic terrace. Every day we sat there at the end of the afternoon with a drink and simply admired the view, it is a world away from the busy streets of the city. The bathroom is not big, but this is one of the limitations of staying in an old building rather than a purpose built hotel. The room was very warm and there was an extra electric heater in the bathroom and they told us how to use the air conditioner if we needed extra heat (we didn't).

Breakfast is fresh and home made: different cakes every day (try the Pan de Calatrava and the lemon sponge cake), fresh bread with tomato, olive oil and Spanish ham, cheese, yogurts, home made lemonade (there is a lemon tree in the garden) and orange juice, fruit, good, strong coffee... It is not the buffet you would find in a big hotel, but in my opinion, this is much better.

All in all: avoid the Carmen if you want the anonymity of a big hotel, minimalistic chic decoration and a large international buffet breakfast. But if you want to feel you are visiting a good friend with a beautiful house in Granada, this is as good as it gets.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself if you can, the Alhambra suite views are as good as they claim
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank London-E-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carcob, Gerente at Carmen Del Cobertizo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

We do really appreciate very much your opinion about this house, your house in Granada. That is really our goul! When we hear comments like this one we really feel happy because we just accomplish our target: to became your house in Granada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,256 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,733 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,546 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen Del Cobertizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen Del Cobertizo

Address: Calle Cobertizo Santa Ines 6, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £121 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmen Del Cobertizo 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granada is the city of the Carmenes. One Carmen is a green space tipcamente granadino, has something of garden and ... Something of garden, quietude, smell of jazmines and lemon trees, ripple of water, trills of birds and conference wonderful of the Alhambra. And, in addition, in this case one impressive marries palace of the SXVI with a Shed of the SXIV, the ancient mas of oriental Andalusia. It has 7 rooms, all with bath, they can have breakfast, if they wish it and the service of cleanliness is included. If he needs some additional service it can put in touch with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmen Del Cobertizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Del Cobertizo Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing