We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad it was only 1 night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abadia Hotel Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abadia Hotel Granada
Ranked #61 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glad it was only 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Sometimes, when you look at a hotel's website, you know what you're getting yourself into from the pictures - not so much with Abadia. The website looks much nicer than the hotel.
We stayed here for 1 night, June 30.
The hotel is within walking distance of the train station, but we weren't "sure" about the location - off in kind of an alley/side street. The room seemed to have been repainted (rag painting), but furniture, bathroom, bedspread, etc all seemed old, worn, lived in. The room was spacious but the bed was old and uncomfortable. The bathroom had some moldy or maybe deteriorating trim. The common area patio was nicely decorated and was a better place to spend time in than the room itself. On the surface, things looked okay, but it seemed that the hotel was just "tired" and stayed in too frequently for its own good. Also, their WiFi was not working very well.
One night here sufficed, as our time in Granada at this point was just a stopover. We were glad that we didn't have to stay in Abadia more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    128
    42
    15
    13
See reviews for
43
200
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a very reasonably priced,charming hotel, offering guests a real taste of Andalucia with a perfect location for exploring Granada. Situated 2 minutes from Gran Via Colon and 5 minutes walk to the main centre of town, the Abadia is in a quiet street close to Calle San Juan de Dios which is full of shops and cafes.
Rooms are cosy but not tiny and really well equipped. There is a mini fridge, kettle, aircon, strong shower, bath, flat screen TV (even has some channels in English) a huge lit up mirror in the bathroom and a professional hairdryer.
Staff are very helpful,there is free WIFI and a computer to use at reception for a small charge. They do not do food but have drinks available with a beer costing an incredibly reasonable €1.
The property is lovely, rooms are traditional and immaculate and the courtyard is beautiful. I have stayed in Granada a few times and this was by far my favourite property. With low prices, great staff and facilities and located just around the corner from the one Euro icecream shop what is not to like about the Abadia - this is why I am saying you should stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 6 on the ground floor at the back of the courtyard, both peaceful and convenient with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joleenlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
241 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We hired a car from Malaga airport and drove to Granada, took approximately 1.5 hours. We had sat nav and the directions provided on the hotel website and managed to find the hotel first time. We were lucky enough to park in the underground car park just opposite the hotel.
We were greeted by a friendly & efficient receptionist. Our room was clean and a good size, overlooking a lovely patio garden. There are 3 or 4 places within walking distance for breakfast.
You can catch the number 30 bus to Alhambra or a taxi which costs about €6. We walked back from Alhambra to Plaza Nuevo, which was a really lovely walk down the hill.
Plaza Nuevo is a good area for bars and restaurants. Not far from there is the Flamenco Casa Del Arte, really intimate flamenco show which we thought was superb. The show was €18 each. Taxi to Plaza Nueva is €4 or you can walk it in about 10 minutes.
The only sad thing is the amount of graffiti there is in Granada especially the area where the hotel is which is a real shame as it’s such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libran_Lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and although breakfast was not available there were convenient, reasonably priced cafes within a short walk. The hotel staff were extremely helpful especially when we had problems with the Wify. The outside appearance of the area of this hotel is not great, but the hotel itself was almost perfect especially for the money we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

A small, friendly hotel, with rooms overlooking a very pretty central courtyard. The room was of good size, with nice, well designed decor and furniture; the bed large and comfortable. The separate bathroom was a good size and the shower strong with plenty of hot water, the aircon worked well. This was a lovely place to stay, the staff were always very polite, helpful and friendly. It doesn't have a restaurant but as we, and I suspect, most guests, were only there for a couple of days to see the Alhambra, this was no problem - Granada was full of nice cafes and eating places. Considering the price we paid by booking in the UK in advance, this was incredible value for money. One tip - if arriving by car, get directions and follow them closely. I'd love to go back.
Stayed June 2 & 3 20013

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We enjoyed every minute of this holiday. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They also spoke very good English. The rooms were decorated beautifully. The courtyard was superb both for sun and shade. We were very close to shops and restaurants. Plenty of reasonably priced chafes for breakfast. Within walking distance to train station and we also walked to the bus station. A taxi cost us less than 8 euros from the bus station.

Room Tip: Around the courtyard would be nice as you can then walk straight out onto it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank sticknicklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalupe G, Gerente at Abadia Hotel Granada, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Client,

We are very happy you enjoyed so much your stay in our hotel.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers, we truly wish to see you again in the future !

Best Regards,

Abadía Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

A great hotel!

A hotel which is very clean, the people working there are very friendly, the location is perfect, the bedrooms are comfortable, I would definitely recommend it to everyone going for a trip to Grenade!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBou71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalupe G, General Manager at Abadia Hotel Granada, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed our hotel and services and will be more than happy to host you again in the future!

Good luck for everything,
Abadía Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#25 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Hotel Mirador Arabeluj
#49 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saray Hotel
#32 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#34 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abadia Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadia Hotel Granada

Property: Abadia Hotel Granada
Address: Calle Triana Baja 7, 18001 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Abadia Hotel Granada 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offer 16 fully furnished rooms with satelite television, telephone and Free WIFI high speed connection in all the hotel. Other facilities are limited hours reception desk support with multilingual staff. A partner restaurant 100 metres from the hotel, with typically granadian cuisine. Air conditioning (or central heating), and a complete bathroom with hair dryer, bath products and one suite room with jacuzzi. The Apartment Abadia is situated 500 meters from the Abadia hotel and in a beautiful Granadian Patio too. ABADIA Hotel Granada (Casa-Patio del siglo XVI), uno de los más encantadores, romántico y fabuloso hotel al más puro estilo antiguo. Conocido dentro de la categoría de hoteles con encanto. A 10 minutos caminando de la Catedral y Albaicín y diez minutos en autobus de la magnífica Alhambra. El apartamento Abadia esta situado a 500 metros del Hotel Abadia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Abadia Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Abadia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing