We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Small hotel in Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abadia Hotel Granada
Ranked #70 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The place is beautiful, rooms are big and comfortable. You can walk from it to any part of Granada and still be in a quiet place to rest. Staff is helpful and most of them bilingual.
The hotel is cozy and has an inside patio with a fountain, in winter you can use it to keep the wine cool and enjoy the free wifi.

Room Tip: 1. Ask for the rooms at the top floor. 2. If you book online you get a free bottle of wine 3. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolando_Jose_RDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Given the many negative reviews of this place, some people need to check their expectations when booking a budget hotel. I chose this place based on close proximity to the train station and affordability. I was given a large room overlooking the street. There was no street noise when I stayed there on a weeknight. Everything was clean and the front desk people were always courteous and helpful. I usually enjoy breakfast where I stay, but given the price, I didn't mind going out for some morning fuel. Recommended for the budget traveler!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polka party
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

On the surface, this hotel seems to be OK. But the minute we made our online reservation, we received an email to ask us if we wanted to pay extra for a "better room". In addition, they made it clear that our room was the most basic one, and if we wanted one with a courtyard view, or away from the street noise, we would have to pay extra. It left us with a bad feeling that their "standard room rate" as advertised -- was actually the crappiest room available rate. And if you really wanted a "real standard room" -- then you'd have to pay extra.

Upon arrival, the room was acceptable, but a bit dreary. The window opened straight onto the alley that the hotel fronts onto. So you can expect to hear people walking on the street, and traffic noise. This hotel can be noisy anyways, since there is no receptionist on duty overnight, and clientele tend to be younger, and may stay up at night, drinking in the courtyard.

Although others have said that the location on the side street isn't too bad.... it is rather scuzzy, with graffiti and excrement. However, a couple of blocks away is the main street with lots of traffic, restaurants and near the Cathedral. Parking is free, however, it is inconvenient to access your car once it's parked -- as the staff actually have to open it for you, every time you want to go in or out.

It was clean and well-maintained, and quite inexpensive. But those are the only pros to this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a beaut little hotel situated right in the heart of old Granada. It is not glitzy, showy or large, but the welcome was warm and friendly. Driving in was a bit tricky, roadworks, heavy afternoon traffic and poor road signs, but, having overshot the tiny laneway it was only a matter of going around the block and retracing our steps. This was made more complicated by the roadworks. The streets are extremely narrow and the buildings around the hotel are far from upmarket. No Moorish architecture here. Graffiti on walls, high fences and metal gates was a little off putting, but our welcome more than made up for that. We were on the second floor overlooking the street so the room was noisy but clean and comfortable. There was a lift which is always a god send when you are lugging bags. It is a short walk to the cathedral and the main street for buses to the Alhambra and the Albaicin. Despite the neglected look of the area around the hotel it was quite safe for evening strolling after a meal at one of the local eateries. We bought bread, cheese, oil and wine and sat in the beautiful little courtyard for our evening meal. Our host gave us a beautiful bowl for our oil to dip our bread and when I went to return it he said it was a gift for us because "You are special.". The fridge in the room was great but you had to purchase tea and coffee. Bring your own. The main complaint would be the poor air conditioning. But we had experienced this is more up market hotels on our travels through Spain.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that opens onto the courtyard and not the main street. That way when you open your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. At 74 euros for a Saturday and Sunday night, it was excellent value and worth considering for budget travellers. It is about 10 minutes walk from the cathedral and close to some of the main shopping streets. There is no restaurant but cafes and restaurants nearby. It is not the most prestigious part of the town but at no time did I feel unsafe or concerned about personal security.
Our room was very pleasant with TV and wireless internet, comfortable bed and clean surroundings. The bathroom was okay but will probably need updating soon (there was a jacuzzi-type bath which cost an extra 10 euros: I would have liked just to soak in a normal bath but there was no plug so resorted to the shower instead). There is a courtyard in the centre of the hotel with seating and some of the rooms had seats outside - ideal for reading in the sun.
One tiny gripe was kettle but no tea/coffee sachets (could be purchased along with other drinks). A small fridge was great - even in October the temperatures were in the 30s and cold drinks were most welcome! Staff were very helpful.
It's not the Ritz but we were not paying for the Ritz and it had more than I would have expected for the price.

Room Tip: 207 had seating outside as, I think, did 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2kidsintow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalupe G, Gerente at Abadia Hotel Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for you opinion and for describing the main features (position, services etc) that we offer at Abadia hotel
We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in our beautiful town.
We hope to see you again soon in Granada
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Having got a bit lost on our way to the hotel from Malaga airport, we were delighted to learn the hotel had taken the time to ring home to check we were still on our way, and kept reception open until we arrived. A warm welcome, and a clean, spacious room was really all we needed. The room was a little warm, but opening the window in the evenings took care of that. The courtyard area is delightful, and drinks can be ordered cheaply if desired. WiFi is free throughout the hotel, although up on the second floor it doesn't work quite so well as downstairs.

For a city centre location, it is amazingly quiet. Five minutes walk from the Cathedral, the Calle Elvira and the Plaza Bib Ramblas, it is an ideal location from which to explore the beautiful city of Granada. For sure, it doesn't look much from the outside, and the neighbourhood is studenty and somewhat down-at-heel, but we walked late at night to and fro, without in any way feeling doubtful about our safety.

It is a budget hotel, which means while there's a kettle, cups, glasses and a fridge in the room, there's no tea or coffee - so be prepared to bring a few tea bags or just go out to the many fabulous cafes nearby. Saving money by staying here and eating out at your choice of restaurants and cafes is an ideal way to explore more of the city anyway.

Car parking is in a locked lot around the block, which seemed safe and secure. Overall, we were very happy at the Abadia, and would certainly return if we go back to Granada.

Room Tip: WiFi was a bit patchy on the second floor. I'd suggest a first floor room if WiFi in your room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is essentially a one star hotel with small, stuffy rooms, poor air-conditioning and no breakfast service. While, centrally located and featuring a charming courtyard, this hotel along with its surly manager should be avoided by all except backpackers and those on a strict budget. Just a tip, don't make reservations in advance because if you don't fulfill them you will still be charged full price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ADBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
B&B Hotel Granada
#33 of 124 in Granada
818 reviews
Hotel Dauro Granada
#42 of 124 in Granada
689 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#26 of 124 in Granada
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allegro Granada
#25 of 124 in Granada
554 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 124 in Granada
1,014 reviews
Zaidín - Vergeles
Saray Hotel
Saray Hotel
#37 of 124 in Granada
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abadia Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadia Hotel Granada

Address: Calle Triana Baja 7, 18001 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £27 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abadia Hotel Granada 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offer 16 fully furnished rooms with satelite television, telephone and Free WIFI high speed connection in all the hotel. Other facilities are limited hours reception desk support with multilingual staff. A partner restaurant 100 metres from the hotel, with typically granadian cuisine. Air conditioning (or central heating), and a complete bathroom with hair dryer, bath products and one suite room with jacuzzi. The Apartment Abadia is situated 500 meters from the Abadia hotel and in a beautiful Granadian Patio too. ABADIA Hotel Granada (Casa-Patio del siglo XVI), uno de los más encantadores, romántico y fabuloso hotel al más puro estilo antiguo. Conocido dentro de la categoría de hoteles con encanto. A 10 minutos caminando de la Catedral y Albaicín y diez minutos en autobus de la magnífica Alhambra. El apartamento Abadia esta situado a 500 metros del Hotel Abadia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abadia Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Abadia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing