We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wish I could give it six stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Nuevas Naciones
Ranked #26 of 97 Granada B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“wish I could give it six stars”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This will be my 25th review, and it’s the first time I’ve wished I could award six stars. The décor at Nuevas Naciones is colorfully cheerful and everything was clean. There is no elevator, but there is one within the building that the owners can access, which solved the question of how to get my very heavy suitcase up the stairs. The owners explained about Alhambra tickets and booked them for me, and gave me a map and recommendations on where to go for tapas and nightlife, all without me having to ask. They also let me stay a few hours extra in my room when it was pouring rain on the day that I was leaving, which I really appreciated. When I left, both of them personally wished me a good trip. The location, close to the train station and the shopping on Gran Capitan (but still walkable to the city center), was perfect. This hotel did everything right and the owners treated me like they genuinely cared- I could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperPicnicWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    38
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
41
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived at Granada train station and was a little worried of not being able to locate the hostel by foot but it was really easy(follow Google maps and will take u around 10min to arrive). Rooms were a little small but comfortable. The hostel owners were amazing in giving tips on what to eat and how to get around. For lazy people like us, you can take bus to the alhambra (bus 30 frequency 9min and takes around 10min to reach) and san Nicholas plaza for a breathtaking view of granada (bus 31 and 32). They have 2 beautiful dogs which were just beautiful and fun to play with too.

The hostel is located a street away from the main road so the nights were really peaceful. Food isn't a problem as the main area of granada is just a short 10min walk away. Overall, a pleasant and affordable stay in Granada.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest_Ee_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

About 10 minutes on foot from the train station and easy to find. Hostal located just off the main street so it wasn't noisy. Bus stops readily available which brings you to Alhambra (bus 30) and Albayzin (bus 31, 32). You can also take a stroll to reach the main tourist street (restaurant, shops) under 10 minutes.

Hostal is run by a lovely couple with two equally amazing dogs. Patrick is more than willing to give you tips on travel, restaurants and any other queries that you might have.

Room was small and basic but comfortable. Hot shower was available and bathroom was clean. Would recommend a stay at this hostal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faithxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hostel is run by a lovely Dutch couple who try to make you stay as pleasant as possible. They provide advice on restaurants, breakfast sites and transport. Their dog is a big sook as well and extremely pampered.

The hostel is not in the old part of town but is within an easy walk and is a short bus ride to the Al Hambra and up to the bus station as well.

Rooms are clean and reasonable size with bathrooms that are large enough and have constant hot water. The wifi worked well in our room but some people who were further away from the office found they had to sit outside the office to get connection. The beds were comfortable enough and towels provided were cleaned and changed during the week.

There are several restaurants nearby but on Sunday morning can be a little difficult to find an open restaurant for breakfast.

Due to the price and the location close to the university young people stay and party on weekends, the doors are not well soundproofed so you can be woken at all hours by people coming in and going out to party. One room decided to party in the hostel but this was quickly stamped on by the owners.

Room Tip: For wifi in the room get a room close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tumbuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

It is a clean, cheerful place with great hosts. The only thing that you have to think is that is in a good location and is cheap and maybe this can be a little bit of a issue...because at night got a little bit noisy of people walking on the street after partying (4-5 a.m.)
They gave us a lot of advise of what to see and what to do, the only thing that in my opinion and after a bad experience I would not recommend is to go to Elvira or Gran via Street to eat. Also we asked them if they knew of a place where we could make laundry, they said that they would do it, which was great! I separated the clothes by colors to make two loads...I just don't know how my husband's white t-shirts got grey...go figure.
Besides everything else we had a great time and you get to go to many places from here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

A clean, safe, place to stay in while in granada! The rooms were cheery, colourful, comfortable with clean white sheets and very very hygienic. The place is totally worth the price. For women travellers this place is very safe and secure.The owner, originally from The Netherlands is very friendly and helpful. He really took care of us and advice us on the places to visit, restaurants, etc.
Definately a place to stay in when visiting Granada.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepalishirali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hostal is close to all sights of Granada and within easy reach from train or bus stations. Shopping and eating one minute from the doorstep. The area is close to the University and very youthful and energetic although not extremely noisy.The hosts will help you with any information you may need. The room was nicer than I expected in this price range. Bathroom facilities and hot water supply worked very well.
Will stay there again if in Granada

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Hospederia El Zaguan
Hospederia El Zaguan
#96 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Zurita
Pension Zurita
#16 of 97 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#17 of 97 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#13 of 97 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Residencia Ziri
Residencia Ziri
#28 of 97 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Hostal Austria
#32 of 97 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Nuevas Naciones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Nuevas Naciones

Property: Hostal Nuevas Naciones
Address: Plazuela Trivino 1, 18001 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Nuevas Naciones 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Nuevas Naciones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing