We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zaguan del Darro
Ranked #75 of 125 Hotels in Granada
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I can't praise this little gem of a hotel enough. Nestled under the shadow of the Alhambra, with stunning views from the front rooms, it is both atmospheric and practical. Based in a converted 16th century monastry, we worried it might be cold and drafty. Instead, our room was large, comfy and warm - even in the very cold January nights - and the staff welcoming and endlessly helpful. This was the cheapest of the rooms we looked at in the historical unesco protected quarter, which is perfectly located for visiting the Alhambra, the Flamenco caves at Sacromonte and the windy little roads in the famous ancient Albaycin area. To be honest, it was so cheap we thought there must be a catch and very nearly booked a more expensive hotel to be on the safe side! We looked at the pictures of the lovely foyer, but expected it to actually be run down and a bit tired when we arrived. We were so wrong, and we were very glad we hadn't wasted our money going somewhere else when the Del Darro was brilliant and such good value. As a former newspaper travel editor I've stayed in hotels all over the world. If you like big flash hotels and are happy to pay an arm and a leg for the experience, then something small and friendly like this might not be for you, but otherwise, it's really great. Don't miss the breakfast in the tapas bar downstairs either!
Our room was on the first floor right over the road. It was brilliant looking up to see the Alhambra, but if you are a very light sleeper, the road might be a bit noisy. It didn't bother me at all though, so it would only be a problem for the very sensitive. The double windows, authentic wooden shutters and thick curtains made sure the noise was minimal. All round, a brilliant hotel in a great position.

Room Tip: The front rooms are beautiful, but not so good if you worry about noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    114
    31
    18
    17
See reviews for
40
127
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Possibly we should have heeded the position in the ranking but we were wooed by the quirkiness!
Granted the position opposite the Alambra is good providing you get a room with the view however the street is full of revellers till the early hours so you probably wont get much sleep.
We arrived on a damp december morning having transfered from a hotel in the shopping district to be more convenient for our Albaicin visit. The first thing we noted was the steep and uneven steps up to reception so not for the disabled as the lift does not start till the first floor! The reception staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. Our room was definately quirky but pokey would have been a better description. The double room comprised of a small double pushed against the wall so the unfortunate sleeping that side had to climb over the other sleeper as the bottom of the bed was against the wardrobe . The ensuite was a small narrow area less than 3 feet wide ( probably would not pass building regs in some other countries) it was definately a case of tuck your elbows in! I know it was an old builing but so was everything else including the threadbare bedlinen which was so old and thin it appeared grey in colour. What was the last straw for us was the room was freezing , the aircon/ heat unit did not work even though the receptionist said it was showing max temp. The central heating we were told did not come on till 7pm! It did just that but went off early so by the time we came back from dinner and an evening stroll, it was off and the room was again freezing. We asked to change rooms but there was no help there . We spoke to other guests and they had similar complaints to ours . We did not bother with breakfast as that was taken in the bar downstairs which did not look very appealing to us .

Room Tip: we understand there was a front facing suite but we did not see it . certainly the other front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theonlyladyinred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Hotel Zaguan is a quirky property, 350 meters from Placa Nueva at the edge of the Arab Quarter .It is located in a very narrow street and it would be suicidal to attempt to park anywhere near the Hotel. Reception is up a flight of stairs from the street entrance. It is pleasant hotel with rooms facing, in the Moorish tradition, an internal courtyard and a water feature. The staff was outstanding; our evening flight from Barcelona was delayed but the lady at reception was cheerful and helpful, even when we arrived at 1am! Alberto, in particular, was a wealth of information with regards to transport, restaurant recommendations and areas to explore. We booked our visit to the Al Hambra through the Hotel and were delighted with both Tour and our Guide.
Our twin- bedded room, 401 is on the top floor and is very small; one bed is at the end of the room while its companion is on a mezzanine floor above, and is reached by a steep staircase. Essentially the second bed has been created from a single room. The promised “Alhambra view,” could only be glimpsed from the stairway landing. The air conditioning worked well but was not so effective at the higher level of our room. The bathroom was clean, but compact and the shower was small, barely 650mm square. Storage space was at a premium and we kept our two small cases in the passage way.
There is a lift to all floors and WiFi is available in the lobby.
The adjacent Bar Minatauro II serves an excellent cooked breakfast and is much closer – and cheaper – than those in Placa Nueva.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Thre were four of us (2 adults and 2 children) and we shared the Junior Suite (lovely queen bed and two full size cots). The hotel and our suite had a lot of character and was lovely and cool. It was a bit of a squeeze with the cots but still enough room for the 2 nights that we spent there. The location was perfect and the view of the Alhambra out of our window was lovely. The Hotel is in the medieval part of town and we did not need to go near the modern part of Granada at all. The Plaza Neuva was a 5 minute walk away and all other Albayzin places of interest were accessible by foot. The bus to the Alhambra was also a couple of hundred metres up the road. The staff did not have a lot of English (and we did not have a lot of Spanish) but they were very friendly and helpful. The Bar Minotauro next door was great for meals and the staff were fantastic - especially Antonio. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Junior Suite - it is spacious and has a view of the Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Friendly, helpful staff. Spacious comfortable room, plenty of Spanish character in the hotel. Perfect base for a visit to Granada; a stone's throw from charming Plaza Nueva.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The room was booked online and said it was available from 1pm. When we arrived at this time we found the lady on reception very rude and told us to come back at 2pm. At 2pm the same lady told us the room was not ready. We sat in the reception area and did not get an aplology or even an offer of a drink. We felt very unwelcome and a nuisance. We were astounded with this attitude.

We have to say the room had a beautiful view of the Alhambra but our stay was completely ruined by the VERY rude lady on reception. If you want good service do not come here

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Our room smelled like sewer gas. The staff was friendly and understanding, but the owner wouldn't let us cancel without paying a fee. We cancelled anyway and stayed at Hotel Palacio Santa Inez instead (which was very nice). Book this hotel at your own risk!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SiewHuiDamewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
San Pedro
Shine Albayzin
Shine Albayzin
#30 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Posada Del Toro
Hotel Posada Del Toro
#32 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Realejo - San Matias
Casa Palacio Pilar del Toro Hotel
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#20 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zaguan del Darro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaguan del Darro

Property: Hotel Zaguan del Darro
Address: Carrera Darro 23, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zaguan del Darro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zaguan del Darro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaguan Del Darro Granada
Zaguan Del Darro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing