We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic building and excellent position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Zaguan del Darro
Ranked #79 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The hotel is located in front of the Alhambra hill and very close to Plaza Nueva.
It's an historic building and the room layout was rather... particular.
A great bargain for a single room (actually there was a second bed in the room loft)
I stayed just one night and was rather satisfied with my choice, especially considering the very good price I paid for it (but no breakfast included).
There's also a very good wine bar close by, ideal for having a last good "copa de vino tinto" before going to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucarobymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

In the old part of Granada, this small hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were huge, with super high ceilings and lots of beautiful antiques. Our rooms were on the first floor, with balconies facing out to the cobblestone road and river, even a view of Alhambra. We loved it here! It was lovely to just open up the balcony doors and watch all the people strolling along the river in the evening.

Yes, you need to walk to get to the hotel. Not for the faint of heart because the streets are cobble stones and boy does Granada get hot in the summer! But if you can handle it, this hotel is worth the walk. I think the hotel dates back to the 16th century. Amazing!

This hotel is very reasonably priced. They don't serve breakfast but the little bar next door does and they are super friendly. Staff at the hotel were all friendly too, and their mini bar in the room was affordable. That's something you never see!

We also booked baths at the Hammam that is located right across the river from the hotel - a two minute walk away. It was a really nice experience after walking around Alhambra earlier.

Parking was about a 15 minute walk away and easy to get to. If you pay at the hotel you get a small discount.

I would definitely recommend d this hotel to my friends. It's such a special and unique place. Internet access was great too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suewanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A delightful place to stay the views from our window of the Alhambra palace were marvelous.A really lovely experience of staying in the Albaicin the old town, this hotel is a gem .There is no parking anywhere near the hotel but car parks price 21 euros for 24 hours.The ancient cobble stones and reasonable priced drinks and one free Tapas in all the bars in the side streets you really feel like your in the Real Spain and not on the Costas which made up for the hour and a half it took us to find a place to park .Plan your parking.....but dont let it put you off staying in this hotel its is the most unusual and hotel we have ever stayed in, thanks to all you lovely people on Trip Advisors comments.

Room Tip: Plan your parking in advance be prepared.Get your tickets well in advance for the Alhambra etc massi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank123x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Staying in this hotel was an excellent way of experiencing the real Granada. I had a marvelous view of La Alhambra from my room!!! The hotel is on a lovely ancient cobblestoned street, that while there is no traffic and some people might complain that it is hard to get to, was delightful to walk through and see the winding narrow river on the side and tiny bridges connecting to more cobbled streets. (You can easily get to the hotel by taxi from the train station, etc. or from Plaza Nueva which is a few blocks away, since they are allowed access.) The hotel has some steps to reach the first floor, but you can use the elevator which is in the restaurant right next door which connects to the hotel. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, proving the Andalusian hospitality. Travellng alone, I felt very safe there. The room and bathroom were clean, television set available. Internet service was a bit hard to get some times, but I sat in the comfortable reception area and was able to get easy access. I even enjoyed speaking to the staff at the reception desk.

It was so wonderful to get up in the morning and see La Alhambra right in front of my eyes!!! (Make sure to ask for a room with a view, since only some of them have a view.) And every time I would come back to the room, and at night, I would love to gaze at La Alhambra with the changing tones on this magnificent piece of history that it would get throughout the day.

The hotel is also situated near the famous Albayzin neighborhood, which should not be missed.

And when I left, the receptionist gladly called for a taxi, which came in less than 5 minutes. She also accompanied me to the elevator and to the entrance of the hotel. Couldn't have been happier!

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room with a view of La Alhambra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMINYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

Before you book this hotel, you must be aware that it will not be a regular hotel experience.
The hotel is in an ancient house in the historic quarter. It is almost impossible to reach it by car, so be prepared to carry you luggage down the street and than up the hotel staircase (reception is on first floor).
Each room is different from the other. We booked room 202, which is located in a kind of attic with a narrow staircase just past the door (we were warned of that at reservation). Room had no view, but was very quiet. Comfortable, but a little too dark.
It was an interesting experience. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrazilViajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a really excellent hotel, but it is a little quirky so it may not suit the more conservative visitor to Andalucia. I have travelled extensively for work over many years, and can honestly say that Zaguan is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. We spent three nights in a double room on the second floor with views of the Alhambra - it was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the heating was on (it was unseasonably damp and cold weather) and everything was scrupulousy clean. Contrary to opinions expressed in other reviews, we were made to feel extremely welcome and found all the staff to be friendly, helpful and unfailingly courteous. The location, at the foot of the Albaicin and a few minutes' walk from Plaza Nueva, is excellent for accessing most of the places you'd be likely to want to visit on a short break. And the bar downstairs does great breakfasts. Yes, OK, there's a little bit of street noise at night, but it never disturbed us. We would not hesitate to recommend Zaguan del Darro to anyone looking for a comfortable, relaxing stay in atmospheric surroundings.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were in a double room with views of the Alhambra, across the patio from the front desk. We loved the architectural details in the reception area and the decor. Our room had wooden beams and antique wooden furniture. The beds were modern and comfortable. The bathroom was modern with a shower stall and updated plumbing. Water pressure was very good, and the shower was always hot, night or day. It was cold at night when we visited, and the central heating worked well. The first night we heard occasional street noise (St.Patrick's day revelers), although we had the wooden shutters closed. The second night was quiet and undisturbed. It's a 5 minute walk to the nearest taxi stand at Plaza Nueva. It's about 10-15 minutes to walk to the Paseo Triste. We walked up to the Albaicin area (San Nicolas viewpoint) from a side street - about a 20 minute steep walk from the hotel, but interesting views along the way. The front desk staff spoke English, were friendly, well-informed, and helped us with our luggage up the short flight of steps from the street to the front desk. There is an elevator to reach the rooms on the upper floors from the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,276 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
San Pedro
Shine Albayzin
Shine Albayzin
#33 of 122 in Granada
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Ladron de Agua
#7 of 122 in Granada
846 reviews
Albaicín
Plaza Nueva Hotel
Plaza Nueva Hotel
#75 of 122 in Granada
337 reviews
Palacio de Mariana Pineda
#56 of 122 in Granada
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zaguan del Darro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaguan del Darro

Address: Carrera Darro 23, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zaguan del Darro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zaguan del Darro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaguan Del Darro Granada
Zaguan Del Darro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing