We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Zaguan del Darro
Ranked #75 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Friday 7- Tuesday 11 March 2014 as members of a group of 22 - we filled the entire hotel. The location in Carrera del Darro couldn't be better, only a few hundred metres from the main Plaza Nueva and overlooked by the Alhambra.
The hotel dates from the 16th century so is a bit quirky with rooms of all shapes and sizes, some have a view of the Alhambra. Our room (402) was at the rear which made it gloomy, it didn't have a view except the backs of other nearby properties. It was pokey (4x3 metres) and very simply furnished - 2 single beds (comfortable), one bedside cabinet, small table and dining chair, an alcove with hanging rail substituted for a wardrobe, TV with lots of channels but none English, small fridge which was so noisy we had to switch it off. There were no tea/coffee making facilities. Bathroom small and functional and would have been ok if it hadn't smelled strongly of drains - there was no U bend trap fitted to sink drain. Hot water was exactly that - hot - very!
There's a lift but this doesn't go to street level so there is a flight of steep, shiny, stone stairs to negotiate to reception on the first floor ( hotel is above the Minatauro tapas bar/cafe).
The hotel does not provide catering but the bar/cafe does limited but cheap breakfasts and meals and very good tapas with drinks. There are numerous cafés in Plaza Nuevo.
Hotel staff all spoke English and were very pleasant and helpful.
Room rates varied between €50 - 80, ours was €60/night which probably reflected the fact that it was on the top floor, small, had no view and was smelly - it wasn't really worth it had it not been for the hotel location.
Everything is in walking distance - Alhambra a short but steep 20 - 30 min, the old streets of El Albaicin rising to the busy Plaza de San Nicholas another half hour. If you can't manage the hills, small service buses rattle around the narrow streets of El Albaicin and up to the Alhambra.
There are plenty of shopping possibilities which we didn't investigate - we hadn't come to Granada to go shopping!
Summary - an authentically old hotel in a brilliant location, rooms are individual and quirky and it seems to be a bit of a lottery as to what you'll end up with which kind of makes it interesting.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank him_n_her_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    117
    34
    18
    17
See reviews for
40
135
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was perhaps my favourite hotel in spain, from the friendly bearded gentleman at reception to the amazing view of the Alhambra from out juliet balcony.
We arrived in the afternoon by car and found a free park by chance a few blocks up. we started having a walk and enquiring at hotels. Upon entering the Zaguan the feel was amazing and old, like we had gone back a few centuries, the staff was nice and I was expecting the price of the room to be out of our budget so i was shocked when it wasnt. I inspected two rooms and decided to stay in 301.
The room was split into two levels, the bathroom and entrance higher than the bedroom and some stone stairs going up to our juliet balcony with the most amazing view of th Alhambra. The furnishings are all antique and the artwork was suited. The bed was also the most comfortable I slept in during our month in Spain. The bathroom was large and the shower was small but the water was hot and at a good pressure. The only down-side is that there is a smell in the bathroom, perhaps the building is old but management should look at this.
There is no restaurant but there is a small cafe downstairs or numerous along the cobbled street that runs outside.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemisst85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A few steps along from the Plaza Nueva, alongside the Darro River you will find this unassuming hotel - it's easy to walk past as there is little signage to indicate that it is there, however if you find The Minotauro tapas bar then you're bang on, as the reception to the historic hotel is up a set of stairs just to the left.

The hustle and bustle of a Sunday morning on the cobbled street was momentarily left behind as we swiftly checked in at reception, located in a riad-styled courtyard. We took the (slow!) lift to our room (No 301) which was warm and well appointed, with a set of stone steps leading up to the private balcony accessed through french doors. We let the hustle and bustle back in for a while, and people-watched with the backdrop of the Alhambra against an azure blue sky.

A very comfortable few nights ensued. The road outside can be rather busy (taxi and buses only) and as it is cobbled, tyre noise may potentially present a problem however, we were undisturbed. Bathroom facilities were fine, although the room was very warm and there was a slight drain odour towards the end of our stay. Wi-fi is robust for android devices but didn't seem to want to work for Apple equipment - staff said they were aware a problem existed but this had also been problematic on my partner's solo visit two months prior, so had not been addressed in the interim.

Breakfast is not offered at the hotel but one has to head no further than The Minotauro downstairs, who served a cracking hot breakfast and fresh orange juice each morning. It was only on our last day that we discovered that the number 31 bus runs right past the hotel and stops opposite on its way to Albaicin, and the other best view in town (especially at sunset!)

All in all, a great, good value base from which to explore this wonderful city!

Room Tip: Room 301 has the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonjolty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

last september, my husband and i booked a few nights at this hotel. upon seeing the room i could see that it was very small.....and had nothing but a thin curtain between the bedroom and the bathroom. also, in the bathroom, the windows were uncovered to the rest of the surrounding windows. be that as it may, this wasn't the worst of it. the first (and only) night that we stayed, our room smelled like sewage. when we spoke to the front desk about it, she acknowledged that some rooms have smelly plumbing issues and some don't. she couldn't offer another room and wouldn't refund any of the three nights that we paid in advance. the clueless "manager" was no help and actually very annoying. we checked out anyway and, thankfully, got our money back through our credit card.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zelmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

On arriving here, we were impressed with the building and it's charming internal courtyard. Located right next to the darro river, it's a great spot.
The journey to find it was less impressive, as cars can't access the hotel due to it being in a restricted zone. The car park is across town near plaza de Los campos, about a 10-15min walk, and charged at €16,50 per 24h with a hotel stamp on your ticket. Taxis can go to the door, however, so if you plan ahead you can always park and get a taxi to the hotel with your bags.
Our rooms were at the back of the building, and although basic were comfortable and well appointed. The real downside was the fact you can here everything (and I mean everything) your neighbours do. Being on the balcony level I could also hear the receptionist almost perfectly. I'm a heavy sleeper, so not too much trouble for me, but earplugs are otherwise a must!
Wifi is good, based in reception so doesn't reach the upper floors. My room was covered well though.
Breakfast wasn't included, but the bar downstairs did a good breakfast at a reasonable cost.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Advegerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,303 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 611 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spend three nights in this establishment, and really enjoyed our stay (both in the hotel and Granada).
We had a second-floor room with a view across the street and fast-flowing little stream to the Alhambra, looming high above and with flags fluttering on the watchtower. It was as impressive at night as it was in the day. Did not find street noise a problem.
Staff were very helpful - a big tick especially for Alberto.
The room was nicely decorated and featured a curtained four-poster bed - now you don't get that every day! It was also spacious, though this could not be said for the en suite - it was case of keep your elbows in in the shower. There was not too much space to perch on the toot, either.
Downstairs, adjoining the hotel is a cafe, the Minotaur, which I think is independent of the hotel. We had breakfast there twice and tapas one evening - very generously sized and complimentary with drinks. Coffee was good here too.
Aside from that, there are plenty of restaurants only a few minutes walk away.
If I had the chance to return to Granada (and I hope I do), I wouldn't hesitate about checking into the Hotel Zaguan del Darro once more.

Room Tip: Ask to check a few of the rooms if you are on site. Each seems to have its own personality. Of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The building is around 600 years old and very interesting, located in a very scenic area of the old city, very convenient to everything. Room was comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly. The area around the hotel is very noisy as is the hotel itself, the noise of the lobby was more disturbing than the street and my room faced the street(very nice view of stream ancient buildings and looking up the Alhambra).

Room Tip: one with a view and without an entry off the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matheu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
San Pedro
Shine Albayzin
Shine Albayzin
#28 of 122 in Granada
368 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Albaicín
Hotel Posada Del Toro
Hotel Posada Del Toro
#31 of 122 in Granada
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,216 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
766 reviews
Albaicín
Plaza Nueva Hotel
Plaza Nueva Hotel
#78 of 122 in Granada
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zaguan del Darro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaguan del Darro

Property: Hotel Zaguan del Darro
Address: Carrera Darro 23, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zaguan del Darro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zaguan del Darro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaguan Del Darro Granada
Zaguan Del Darro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing