We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great value in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zaguan del Darro
Ranked #75 of 125 Hotels in Granada
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great value in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

We stayed here for two nights earlier this month and loved the hotel. We were in room 301 which was spacious, and with a view and overlooked the street, yet was still quiet at night. The hotel and rooms are simple but at the same time very clean and have a lot of character. The hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to the main attractions, and just steps from the Plaza Nueva where there are good restaurants and shops and easy access to public transportation. The hotel staff was very helpful in answering questions and making arrangements and was available at all times. For the price we paid (75 euros per night) we felt that it was a great value. We were very happy with the hotel and would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone coming to Granada for a visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas73331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    114
    31
    18
    17
See reviews for
40
128
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

OK so we got a half price deal from booking .com but didn't expect a half size room. Have stayed in small rooms before but not where a doublebed is wedged against a wall at one side & a cupboard at the foot; one person trapped for the night. Even worse, arrived after 12+ hours travelling cold & hungry so put up with size & go out for food. return to a freezing cold room, see reception, heating broken offer of a blanket! Next morning still broken aircon should be ok. IT'S NOT! staff offer to sort we go out. Return eve, room cold & not cleaned. Aircon sorted by us, eventually. No reception staff most of time, very cold all time, no point in complaining would just waste valuable holiday time. Breakfast in bar next door just ok. Situation for visiting Alhambra excellent, but lots of other hotels in area. If going to Granada avoid zaguan do opt for Calle de Darro area. Park at Servo ochoe for good deal & buy a morning garden ticket to Alhambra to get feel & PM ticket to Palaces with a last entry time quiet by then.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallClinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

I found this hotel on Little Hotels of Spain (which is reliable and great), but was very afraid after reading a couple of the bad reviews here. We decided to take the chance because we wanted something charming rather than a new and sterile hotel room. We are so glad we did! We requested and were given Room 301, which has a view of the Alhambra and is very charming, with exposed rafters and nice furniture. The bed was great, as was the bathroom though the shower was small--but the building was built in 1563, so certainly not in the original plans. Reception was very nice and avaiable 24/7. It was noisy one night with 20 somethings sitting outside our window after the clubs, but I was tired enough from our travels that I feel right back to sleep. We slept with the windows open so if we had wanted to use the AC, it may have sufficently blocked any noise.

The hotel is very difficult to find by car! Street signs in general are difficult to find in Granada. We ended up parking somewhere and taking a taxi, not being able to even find the parking the hotel recommended. It turns out, it was the same price as the hotel would have gotten us. Once there, the location in the Albacin is great. Up the hill from Plaza Nueva are some nice outdoor cafes.

For those few people who do still look for hotels that allow smoking, this one does. But the room did not smell like smoke at all.

Definitely recommend this small hotel to those looking for character.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Wonderful location - view of the Alhambra from our room - great breakfast right next door - cozy room with great furniture - super friendly staff. We stayed for 5 days and loved every minute.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missturtle628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

We should have known before we went. Communication with them was very confusing, emails were answered late etc. The driving directions were wrong, it took us a while to get there, driving around in the narrow streets of Granada. The hotel in under-staffed and there is no service. The receptionist could not give us any restaurant recommendation and he was not really interested in giving us a lot of details on what was going on in Granada. It all got worse when we came back at night, when my wife entered the bathroom and it was full of cockroaches: we called reception, but only the next day, someone came with a spray to fight the animals...
es -brrrr-. The noise at night in the hotel woke us up several times.

This definitely is a NEVER AGAIN.

  • Liked — Woodwork & antiquities
  • Disliked — cleaniless
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank livoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
320 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

The junior suite (Room 101) which we had booked turned out to be one bedroom with a settee at one end and a small bathroom - not quite what we had expected. The room itself was comfortable and attractively furnished but it was spoilt by the noise each afternoon from the reception area (which made taking a siesta impossible) and the noise from the road at night and the bar beneath the hotel, which disturbed our sleep until 3.30 am in the morning. If this doesn't bother you, then the location of the hotel is ideal and the reception staff helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

This is a small hotel in a historic large house in the Albaycin neighborhood in the old area of Granada. It is located at the bottom of the hill that the Alhambra is on, so is very handy to the premier sightseeing site. (We spent a whole day at the Alhambra) The location
is very interesting and appealing, on a very narrow street across from
the River Darro (we'd call it a creek here), and a block or two away from a very pleasant Plaza Nueva with several restaurants, bars, and sidewalk cafes. We had a great time just wandering around the neighborhood. Parking, or on some days just driving, to the hotel is impossible. The hotel has a deal with a couple of city parking garages
that reduces the price somewhat. Dump your car there.

We traveled with our daughter, son-in-law, and 8-year old grandaughter
-- their room, up a metal spiral staircase, was not for the stair-challenged. However, it may have been the only one that could accommodate an extra bed. It also had no windows, which was just a bit claustrophobic. Our room, while not real large was quite adequate
and clean and comfortable. The room decor was minimal, but we aren't fussy about that.

Staff was very helpful and accommodating and all spoke some English. The only downside was that breakfast was not included -- you could get it at the bar downstairs, but it was pretty forgettable.

All in all we liked this hotel very much.

  • Liked — Quaint historic building in quaint historic neighborhood
  • Disliked — No breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanJaneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
San Pedro
Shine Albayzin
Shine Albayzin
#30 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Posada Del Toro
Hotel Posada Del Toro
#32 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Realejo - San Matias
Casa Palacio Pilar del Toro Hotel
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#19 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zaguan del Darro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaguan del Darro

Property: Hotel Zaguan del Darro
Address: Carrera Darro 23, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zaguan del Darro 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zaguan del Darro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaguan Del Darro Granada
Zaguan Del Darro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing