We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was more than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Granada Victoria
Ranked #8 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Was more than we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

Stayed over night at the NH Victoria in Granada to visit Alhambra. Although getting to the parking garage for the hotel was a bit confusing over all it was a great experience. The staff at check in were very pleasant and spoke better English than I could Spanish.

The room was very clean and what we have come to expect at the NH brand. We had a small balcony that looked out at the street. There was some noise from below but not enough to be a bother.

We couldn't ask for a better location. The staff directed us up the road to a couple of tapas bars where we bought drinks and were fed sandwiches, olives, shrimp, clams and roast peppers. The longer you stayed at a bar and ordered drinks the better the tapas were.

The next day we toured Alhambra where it was a short walk then a short bus ride to the fort. We checked out and the hotel held our bags.

Overall this was a great place to stay, downtown and close to everything we were looking for.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    622
    137
    24
    14
See reviews for
367
943
60
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and 2 young children for 3 nights in July, and we were very happy with our selection. In terms of location, i found it to be ideal. It is a short walk to the Cathedral and Plaza Nueva from where the no 32 bus can take you to the Alhambra. The Alhambra is of course, the main tourist attraction in Granada, and indeed Southern Spain, and it is easy to see why when you get there. With the Sierra Nevada range on one side, and the white washed streets of the Albaycin on the other - it truly is breathtakingly beautiful. The Palace itself together with the gardens of the Genaralife are absolutely magnificent. Make sure you book tickets in advance, and you must ensure you have the credit card you used when booking, when you collect your tickets. You could quite easily spend an entire day here, but if you do be wary of the scorching summer heat - it was over 40 degrees every day of our stay.
Back to the hotel itself - we had a family room, with an additional bed that was provided free of charge (booked by calling NH hotels direct) for 99 euros. Extremely good value we felt. The room we had was very well proportioned, and had a very large (by Spanish hotel standards) bathroom. The service was also very good. All staff were extremely polite and helpful in recommending local tapas bars, and helped reserve us a table at the popular "Las Tomasas" - nice restaurant with great views of the Alhambra as the sun sets. Our flight home was not until very late, so the hotel said we could make use of the room for the entire day for 45 euros, which we felt was a worthwhile move, so we could all relax and freshen up prior to departure. Given it was 45degrees that day - i think it was a good move! We opted not to take breakfast at the hotel, preferring to grab coffee and pastries at one of the many nearby cafeterias each morning. Try one of the quaint tea houses in the Albaycin for a minty/fruity, refreshing brew together with some baklava - the Kasbah I thought was particularly good.
I have been fortunate enough to visit Seville, Cordoba and Granada, and have to say that this is the nicest place we stayed. Also whilst the Mezquita in Cordoba and Real Alcazar in Seville were beautiful, the Alhambra itself is in a league of its own.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tazzarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gentbrugge
Level Contributor
283 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed at the NH Victoria for 2 nights. The hotel is clean and well maintained. However the rooms are rather small. Also there is a lot of noise coming from the street. Not ideal for light sleepers, or bring some earplugs.The hotel itself is ideally located to visit the city and the main attraction the Alhambra. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

our stay was comfortable. room was spacious and quiet. front desk staff were friendly. The night shift deskperson did not understand english. Breakfast at the restaurant was overpriced. There were plenty of restaurants nearby though.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB4041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

We had a lovely time in the NH Victoria. Got a deal via their website. EUR99 (before IVA of 7%) per triple room per night, which was very good value considering it was high season in Spain.

The NH Victoria was not difficult to find since it stood at the junction of Calle Recognidas, Calle Reyes Catalicos and Puerta Real . We arrived via train into Granada and walked out from the station onto Av. Andaluces and then, straight onwards to Avda de La Constitucion to take a bus (EUR1.2) to Puerta Real via Gran Via and Reyes Calalicos. Plenty of buses ply this route and bus stops were clearing sign-posted with bus routes.

The facade of NH Victoria caught our eyes quickly as it was the only off-white historical buiding in the middle of a busy road junction and almost immediately, we noticed that there were cafes, pastery shops, restaurants and even a Burger King right at the door steps. The shopping streets were moments away too.

Upon further exploration, we found convenience stores in the rear of the hotel - skip the first mini-convenience store, chock full of pungent cheeses and hams hanging from the ceiling and walk further downhill in the rear street to get to a better smelling, better priced and better stocked one. Very useful for our daily supplies of water.

The hotel was also moments away from the Plaza Bib Ramble (al fresco restaurants) as well as many of the sights, e.g. Catedral (5min), Plaza Nueva (10min), Albaycin (15min). A short walk to Plaza Neuva or Plazade Isabel Catolica where the statue of Columbus and there would be buses to La Alhambra ticket office (bus 32)) and the depths of Albaycin (bus 31). In short, we couldnt ask for a better place to stay.

The tourist information centre @ Plaza Nueva was not far away and provided a more detailed map than the one NH Victoria provided. Nevertheless, NH's front desk provided accurate advice on where to eat good tapas (restaurants on Carrera Del Darro & Carcel Caldereria Nueva), what bus to take and where to board the buses to various sights.

NH Victoria was designed and furnished in typical classy NH style, with dark woods and plain colours. Beds and beddings were comfortable and our room facing the rear street was quiet, shielded from the hustle and bustle of Puerta Real. Check in was seamless and staff spoke a working level of English. Our only grouse was the difficulty in getting housekeeping / room service to understand our request for a small kettle. Staff were not rude and were always smiling but despite their best efforts and 2 tries later, we settled for a teapot of hot water.

During our stay, the hotel had a special upgrade offer - EUR25 to upgrade your room and EUR90 to upgrade to a suite. But given that we were already very comfortable in our spacious room - configured to accommodate an extra single bed with space to move about - we did not bother. The hotel also provided a special 15min free internet coupon, valid for their business centre - a small cubicle of a room behind the reception desk. The hourly & daily internet rates in the room were exhorbitant and the business centre internet cost EUR0.32 per minutes after the 1st free 15min. We stuck to our free 15min and it was all we needed to double check our flights back due to the quick connection speed.

When it was time for us to head to the airport, NH Victoria's prime location was a huge benefit. NH Victoria is located between the 1st and 2nd stop of the Airport shuttle bus. Walk down Acera Del Daro (10min) to the 1st stop outside Hotel Daro or walkup Calle Reyes Catalicos to Gran Via (15min) to the 2nd stop opposite the Catedral. The shuttle was the only dark blue bus in service throughout the city, costs only EUR3 and arrived to the 1st stop punctually 5mins past the hour.

In summary, we had a good time in Granada and the NH Victoria played an important part of making Granada a memorable stay. Once again, our experiences with NH hoteles has been stellar.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

This was the perfect place to stay in beautiful Granada, Spain. The hotel was quiet, clean, and well-staffed. The room was the most modern we had come across in our tour of Spain. The bathroom was our favorite bar far. Not only was it spacious and clean, but the mirror was even heated to prevent steam.

The view from our room was of the busy Granada streets, but with the windows closed it was quiet as could be. It was a five to ten minute walk to the foot of La Alhambre. However, then you have the option of taking a bus to the top of the hill or walk it. We hiked it, it took about 20-30 minutes, but it was a great workout.

Breakfast was not included. There was parking, not sure if there was an additional fee. This wasn't the least expensive hotel we stayed in, but it was worth every euro.

The hotel staff was excellent. They were friendly and knowledgeable about the city and its restaurants. We asked for a place to have dinner with a view of La Alhambra, not only did they select a delicious place, call the restaurant for us, and make a reservation, but they called us a cab and gave specific directions to ensure our easy arrival. The restaurant was Restaurante Las Tomasas, check out the pictures for the view.

We will definitely recommend and return to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmlmls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

We chose this hotel in order to cash in some NH loyalty points, othrwise we could have got slightly better value for money elsewhere in Granada. We arrived by train from Seville and had a simple taxi ride to the front of the hotel - there's no problem finding it as it stands on a prominent position on one of the city's main thoroughfare's. Check-in was smooth - offered upgrade for 25 euros but we were on a budget so declined.

Our (first) room looked OK at first sight, nice and modern but slightly dark due to the low-level of lighting provided. However when we returned to the hotel after dinner, the room felt excessively hot and stuffy. Turning on the aircon had no effect as the cooling circuit had been switched off for the "winter" months (even though it never got below 12C at night). I've seen this practice soooo many times in S European hotels, and it's a shame the hotel management fails to understand that people from other parts of the world have different comfort levels when it comes to sleeping temperatures. Opening the window alas had no effect either as it opened into a sealed internal courtyard full of hot stuffy air.

Reluctantly I had to return to the front desk at what was, by now, almost midnight. I expected the usual argument that it was winter and a/c was not needed, but instead they almost immediately and without any unpleasantness offered us an upgrade to a much larger corner room facing the street. I beleive this may have been one of the executive rooms on offer at check-in. The new room had the major advantage of having severla large french windows that could be opened onto small balconies to let in the cool breeze. The only disadvantage was the street noise from party-goers down below, which continued until 2 or 3 in the morning. Although slightly undesirable, this bothered us less than the high temperature in the first room and we slept soundly after long days of sight-seeing.

We did not eat in the hotel, as there was plenty of choice of restuarants within 5-10 minutes walking distance. We particularly liked one of the N African style restaurants on the hill opposite the Alhambra, and a bistro-type place on a narrow pedestrianised street just to the NE of the hotel. For breakfast, we simple visited the ice-cream place across the road from the hotel for a simple coffee and croissant. I think the hotel breakfast (not included in our rate) was an extortionate 17 Euros pp (one of the few significant drawbacks of the NH chain in my view).

Loacation-wise the hotel is absolutely fine as you are right in the city centre and can explore everywhere on foot, though the hill up to the Alhambra is fairly taxing. We enjoyed Granada, though we felt it was slightly less interesting than Seville and Cordoba which we had visited before.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Granada Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Granada Victoria

Property: NH Collection Granada Victoria
Address: Puerta Real, 3, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Granada
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#2 Family Hotel in Granada
#8 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Granada Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Granada Victoria is located in the historic city of Granada at the foot of the majestic Sierra Nevada mountain range and the intersection of three rivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, NHHotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Granada Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Granada
Nh Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing