We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location”
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Ladron de Agua
Ranked #3 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
389 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This property's location is excellent - right off of Plaza Nueva (good eating, bars and cafe's); 20 minute hike to the Puerta de Justicia entrance to La Alhambra and on Carrera de Darro which is a wonderful strolling avenue.

We stayed in the Melisendra room on the second floor - it was spacious and comfortable. A drawback is that you can hear your neighbors. We liked the bathroom and the toiletries, but the shower could be bigger and the door should open to the outside rather than toward the inside.

The hotel offers breakfast for an additional $12 E per person, but since there are so many nice cafe's all around and very close by, we enjoyed trying a new one each day rather than eating in. After a long day, we relaxed in the cozy den set up like a library with a computer. Each evening, Jerez and olives are served. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the narrow back alley. Many people stroll through there at all hours and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    201
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
86
528
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel was excellent.

I found the staff exremly helpful. There were some questions I had and the staff come from the area and gave me great advice and suggestions.

We arrived during a rainy day and were soaked. The first thing that we we offered was a coffee or hot chocolate while we were checking in. Great service.

Positives:
Location
Ambience of the hotel.
Comfort
Had a wine mixer every night. The wine was not one that I would have chosen but the idea is great and we met other travelers and exchanged tips on certain sites to visit.


Negatives:
We faced the street so had a great view. The problem was a lot of people came down our street between 3 - 5 in the morning still partying. Not the hotels fault but the street was noisy on and off through the night. It is a pedestrian only street so there was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed in a supreme room for only an extra €20 and it was perfect. Lovely walnut furniture, large bathroom and comfortable bed. From the window (which opened up) we had a view of the Alhambra up on the hill. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moniko1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E Longmeadow, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor and are so glad that we did! The hotel is situated in a restored mansion and still has fantastic carved beams and woodwork throughout the building. The entrance is a bit deceptive in that it's sleek and modern with a wonderful fountain. When you go into the hotel itself, it's like stepping back in time. Each of the rooms is named for a Lorca poem and ours had a lovely view of the Alhambra. We walked all over town from here and found some amazing grafitti art by El Nino de las Pinturas. The hotel helped us obtain tickets to the Alhambra which is the main reason for our visit, but we fell in love with the rest of the old town. We loved our stay and highly recommend El Ladron de Agua!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Alhambra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_and_Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A beautiful tranquil hotel located in beautiful Granda with views to the Alhambra and the little river running through the Albaycin. Parked at a public car park further away and took a cab in - no problems at all.

Shower was very powerful, terrific, beds comfortable. The staff were very helpful and lovely.
Beautifully restored 17th century building perfectly located close to everything - important when traveling with children! Lovely molton brown products, free Wifi, bottles of water constantly replenished.

Unrelated to the hotel - I do not recommend the flamenco show they sell tickets to as it was very touristy and did not feel very authentic, bus loads of tour groups shuffled in and out at haste. However we clapped and yelled Bravo at one point to our taxi driver upon returning late that night as roads in the Albaycin are very narrow, he negotiated the narrowest of streets with great skill!

The hotel itself is great and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlekarstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This place is a beautiful hotel away from the noise of the crazy tourist trade that is Granada. The rooms are excellent and the entire hotel has a lot of character and has charm, it's a very romantic spot. The only downfall is that we could hear the people in the rooms next door to us on both sides.

We don't want to put anyone off the rooms are clean and the bathroom was excellent. The bed was cozy and comfortable, and furniture / decor was very tasteful. Also very thoughtful touches with the Molton Brown products and the bottles of water in the room.

Room Tip: Good value for a stay. Enjoy the charm of this romantic hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidecatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Don't be fooled by the 3 star rating - this hotel is is beautiful. The rooms are very cozy and clean, the bathrooms well appointed, the beds comfy. The location is perfect, an easy walk to a lot of the major attractions. What really made it special was the staff ! Everyone was friendly, helpful and fluent in english. Sonia (front desk) was exceptional. She was very friendly, her recommendations were spot-on and she went out of her way to be helpful by printing off a map of the drive to our destination the next day(Valencia). Thank you for a wonderful stay in historic and beautiful Granada!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Property: El Ladron de Agua
Address: Carrera Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramon Jimenez's journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern... All these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing