We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel in unbeatable location”
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Ladron de Agua
Ranked #5 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This 15-room hotel in a heavily renovated 17th-century mansion is located on a narrow pedestrian street bordering a stream at the foot of the Alhambra and in the heart of the Albaizin, the old Moorish quarter. Opening the ancient door on the hotel's unadorned facade, you find yourself in a starkly modern foyer decorated with poetry-inspired wall hangings. Beyond that, the once-open central courtyard of the house has been converted into a marble-floored lounge with an artistic central bubbling fountain. The rooms on upper floors open onto galleries around this space, and are each named after a poem or musical composition. I found my room amply sized, and very comfortable, with the most luxurious array of pillows I have ever enjoyed in a hotel and an excellent bathroom. With the location on a pedestrian street, there was no traffic noise. Wireless internet access was good (and free). A nice breakfast is served in a below-ground brick-arched room, probably once a cistern. The hotel staff, notably the gorgeous Violeta, were uniformly cheerful, friendly and helpful. An early wake-up call and taxi to the airport were efficiently organized. Perhaps the single best feature of the hotel is its location -- practically everything in Granada is within walking distance, and even the Alhambra is reachable for those with good legs and stout hearts. In all, this was one of the most charming, comfortable and convenient hotels I can recall. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street and the Alhambra have tiny balconies and are especially pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNSTEPHENPERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay. The hotel is extremely well situated in this compact city ad everywhere we wanted to visit was in walking distance. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The room was comfortable if a little small but had everything we needed, the bedding was great and we slept extremely well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan191052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed here during a weekend trip. Hotel is well located in the old town, easy walking distance to the Alhambra. Beautiful atrium and simply rooms with character, highly recommend.

Don't hire a car, it's not really required in Granada and you will need to leave in a parking garage, approx 20 Euros per 24 hours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Located in the heart of Granada within walking distance of the Alhambra (or take the #30 or 32 bus from the square if hills are not your speed) and just minutes from nightlife, too, this small hotel is lovely with large rooms, great bathrooms, good wi-fi and service.

Room Tip: The rooms which overlook the stream have minibalconies and the windows are shuttered so the street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here in Oct 2012 on our visit through Spain. We stayed in the room "Curazon Nueva". It's a lovely boutique Hotel, built on a heritage site, right in the centre of town. Very close to Plaza Nueva. Bars, Retaurants and sites are all within walking distance. We walked to the Mirador, up on the hill, as well as to the Alhambra.
The staff are extremely friendly and did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. My wife is Veg and they showed us the good Veg restaurants in the area.
Breakfast was OK compared to other hotels we've stayed at.
The rooms were excellent. Rich Wood furniture and authentic tiled floors. The bathrooms are a good size as well. Showers were fabulous. Beds were big and comfy. We could have done with a Coffee Maker in the room. They didn't have an Iron and ironing board as well. It's a small investment, but would help guests a lot.
Other than that, it's a lovely hotel, in a lovely location with great rooms.
We'd re-book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room, facing the Alhambra or facing the back. The side alleys can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zafarkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This property's location is excellent - right off of Plaza Nueva (good eating, bars and cafe's); 20 minute hike to the Puerta de Justicia entrance to La Alhambra and on Carrera de Darro which is a wonderful strolling avenue.

We stayed in the Melisendra room on the second floor - it was spacious and comfortable. A drawback is that you can hear your neighbors. We liked the bathroom and the toiletries, but the shower could be bigger and the door should open to the outside rather than toward the inside.

The hotel offers breakfast for an additional $12 E per person, but since there are so many nice cafe's all around and very close by, we enjoyed trying a new one each day rather than eating in. After a long day, we relaxed in the cozy den set up like a library with a computer. Each evening, Jerez and olives are served. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the narrow back alley. Many people stroll through there at all hours and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel was excellent.

I found the staff exremly helpful. There were some questions I had and the staff come from the area and gave me great advice and suggestions.

We arrived during a rainy day and were soaked. The first thing that we we offered was a coffee or hot chocolate while we were checking in. Great service.

Positives:
Location
Ambience of the hotel.
Comfort
Had a wine mixer every night. The wine was not one that I would have chosen but the idea is great and we met other travelers and exchanged tips on certain sites to visit.


Negatives:
We faced the street so had a great view. The problem was a lot of people came down our street between 3 - 5 in the morning still partying. Not the hotels fault but the street was noisy on and off through the night. It is a pedestrian only street so there was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 124 in Granada
1,883 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 124 in Granada
1,056 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 124 in Granada
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 124 in Granada
835 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 124 in Granada
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Address: Carrera Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £71 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramon Jimenez's journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern... All these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing