We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and nice comfortable quiet room.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Ladron de Agua
Ranked #5 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Excellent location and nice comfortable quiet room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had the El Sueño de Isabel room on the third floor. Very quiet nice room with a partial view of the Alhambra. Nice bathroom and 5 windows in the room/bathroom. The location of the hotel could not be better to see the sites of this wonderful city. The decor and style of the rooms are wooden beams and rustic. Really liked it.The staff were very helpful and friendly. They offer free local sweet wine and olives and potato chips at 7-9pm in the library. They offer a breakfast for $12 Euro a person- did not have it so can't comment. Will for sure stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Had room El Sueño de Isabel room. Liked it. Quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us...The room you stayed in is my favourite room; it is airy with lots of light and a views of the Alhambra. Our complimentary drinks and snack service is a favourite amongst our guests, and I am glad you enjoyed itl. It is also comforting to know that you were satisfied with the service and our staff, they are very dedicated and all of them have an intimate knowledge of Granada, its culture, the places to see, the best restaurants and tapas bars, and how to get around the city. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    194
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
82
508
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I knew the location was perfect before arriving but I was surprised at how nice the room was. I had a very large bedroom and bathroom with high beam ceilings. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was the perfect retreat after a long day of sightseeing. Thanks for an ideal hotel experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Nothing make us more happy than satisfied guests! Thank you for sharing your experience. My staff will certainly appreciate your kind comments (and so do I!). Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, and magical Granada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have visited many cities and areas of Spain, it is a vibrant country for sure.
When visiting a city however, it is often difficult to find a hotel that is in a good location for sight seeing while at the same time is peaceful enough to get the rest you so need to enjoy a new day out! Hotel Ladron de Agua is just such a place.
Moreover, the staff are bi-ligual and extremely willing to assist you in any way they can.
They are indeed a representation of a gracious host. You will sleep in dreamy comfort and whether you chose to wander the streets of the Albacin, trek up to the Alhambra or just indulge in some of Granada's fine cuisine for the evening... it's all just a saunter outside your front door!
I suppose the local "scene" could become a bit much in nearby Plaza Nueva in the heat of summer! But then you would not be in Granada then, would you?
Oh no, join the rest of the Spanish people and get ye to the playa!
All joking aside, this is a gem of a hotel in every way.

Room Tip: I did not eat at the hotel, save one day of 6 for breakfast. That is just my way. I generally pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnePerreault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

WOW! Location, superb, very close to the main square and the beginning of the walk to the Alhambra, and close to the Moorish quarter.
Room, fanstastic, individual style with an amazing bed, not to mention the bathroom.
Very friendly staff who seemed to want to have guests rather than going through the motions.
And the price, even though it was Easter, the price was a steal.

Room Tip: As we only stayed in one room, and they are unique, its hard to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Very well situated for the Alhambra and City Life. Staff are very friendly and the hotel combines the charm of the past with all modern ameneties. We stayed in February and it was cold outside.. Apart from the Alhambra all the other tourist attractions were closed for one reason or another.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed in El Ladron del Agua for a short break in december. I chose the hotel because of the great location, but I must admit it was a great surprise. Amazing staff, always willing to help with directions or personal suggestions.

The room had a good standard. It wasn't massive, but enough for our stay. Very well featured, it has everything we needed. The corridor may be a bit too noisy during the morning, but it's not a big deal. I definitely will go back to this hotel in my next visit to Granada

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyNotATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

I looked carefully at the map of Granada to choose this hotel. I wanted to be in the Albiaicin area (old town) but not far from the centre with the Cathedral and Royal Chapel. I did not want to climb up steep hills in order to get back to the hotel each night.
This is a stylish boutique hotel, which is perfectly placed in a picturesque spot by a stream; an oasis in what can be a bustling area. We had a standard room, so no Alhambra views but the minute you were in the street, the views were there. The room was very comfortable, the reception staff were very helpful with competent English language skills. The hotel displays art work and is is proud of the history of the building
Breakfast was not included but we found it good value and served in an attractive basement cellar. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Property: El Ladron de Agua
Address: Carrera Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramon Jimenez's journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern... All these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing