We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel concept in the excellent location”
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Ladron de Agua
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel concept in the excellent location”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I had a pleasure of staying at the hotel during my business trip to Granada and absolutely love it!

This boutique hotel is full of character with a rustic Spanish deco, modern touches like Molton Brown products, flat screen TV and an art gallery inside! The hotel beautifully embraces the concept of literature and art with monthly art exhibitions in the courtyard, library with wonderful books and Granada guides (make sure to try a glass of sherry and tapas that are left there for hotel guests!). Each room is not a number but takes its name from one of Spanish poems – these days you don’t get this very often.

And the location? Imagine a narrow street next to the romantic river, a stone away from Alhambra and 2 minutes from the best tapas bars in town. Make sure to look up and notice the art on the front wall of he hotel - stunning!

Of course, great staff makes a great hotel. They genuinely care about your stay and will provide you with plenty of suggestions in terms of great restaurants, tapas bars, flamenco shows etc.– always with a big smile on their face!

Thank you very much for making my visit to Granada very special!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamila85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am very pleased that you found our hotel such a great experience. That´s why we are here, to serve you and make your stay comfortable.
Your comments about our staff, is much appreciated. I believe they do a terrific job and I will pass on your comments.
Again, thank you for staying with us, and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    203
    54
    10
    8
See reviews for
87
536
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had the El Sueño de Isabel room on the third floor. Very quiet nice room with a partial view of the Alhambra. Nice bathroom and 5 windows in the room/bathroom. The location of the hotel could not be better to see the sites of this wonderful city. The decor and style of the rooms are wooden beams and rustic. Really liked it.The staff were very helpful and friendly. They offer free local sweet wine and olives and potato chips at 7-9pm in the library. They offer a breakfast for $12 Euro a person- did not have it so can't comment. Will for sure stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Had room El Sueño de Isabel room. Liked it. Quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us...The room you stayed in is my favourite room; it is airy with lots of light and a views of the Alhambra. Our complimentary drinks and snack service is a favourite amongst our guests, and I am glad you enjoyed itl. It is also comforting to know that you were satisfied with the service and our staff, they are very dedicated and all of them have an intimate knowledge of Granada, its culture, the places to see, the best restaurants and tapas bars, and how to get around the city. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I knew the location was perfect before arriving but I was surprised at how nice the room was. I had a very large bedroom and bathroom with high beam ceilings. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was the perfect retreat after a long day of sightseeing. Thanks for an ideal hotel experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Nothing make us more happy than satisfied guests! Thank you for sharing your experience. My staff will certainly appreciate your kind comments (and so do I!). Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, and magical Granada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have visited many cities and areas of Spain, it is a vibrant country for sure.
When visiting a city however, it is often difficult to find a hotel that is in a good location for sight seeing while at the same time is peaceful enough to get the rest you so need to enjoy a new day out! Hotel Ladron de Agua is just such a place.
Moreover, the staff are bi-ligual and extremely willing to assist you in any way they can.
They are indeed a representation of a gracious host. You will sleep in dreamy comfort and whether you chose to wander the streets of the Albacin, trek up to the Alhambra or just indulge in some of Granada's fine cuisine for the evening... it's all just a saunter outside your front door!
I suppose the local "scene" could become a bit much in nearby Plaza Nueva in the heat of summer! But then you would not be in Granada then, would you?
Oh no, join the rest of the Spanish people and get ye to the playa!
All joking aside, this is a gem of a hotel in every way.

Room Tip: I did not eat at the hotel, save one day of 6 for breakfast. That is just my way. I generally pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnePerreault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

WOW! Location, superb, very close to the main square and the beginning of the walk to the Alhambra, and close to the Moorish quarter.
Room, fanstastic, individual style with an amazing bed, not to mention the bathroom.
Very friendly staff who seemed to want to have guests rather than going through the motions.
And the price, even though it was Easter, the price was a steal.

Room Tip: As we only stayed in one room, and they are unique, its hard to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Very well situated for the Alhambra and City Life. Staff are very friendly and the hotel combines the charm of the past with all modern ameneties. We stayed in February and it was cold outside.. Apart from the Alhambra all the other tourist attractions were closed for one reason or another.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed in El Ladron del Agua for a short break in december. I chose the hotel because of the great location, but I must admit it was a great surprise. Amazing staff, always willing to help with directions or personal suggestions.

The room had a good standard. It wasn't massive, but enough for our stay. Very well featured, it has everything we needed. The corridor may be a bit too noisy during the morning, but it's not a big deal. I definitely will go back to this hotel in my next visit to Granada

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyNotATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
962 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,638 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
916 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Property: El Ladron de Agua
Address: Carrera Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramon Jimenez's journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern... All these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing