We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Ladron de Agua
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari(Granada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Puerta de Las Granadas(Granada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (892)
Filter reviews
892 results
Traveller rating
581
231
62
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
231
62
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree sherryplaza nuevaevening sherrydarro riverlibrary roomsmall riverdark woodtapascobbled streetold townwooden doorperfect locationopen courtyardstreet noiserestaurant recommendationsthird floornoisy at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
417 - 422 of 892 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent one night in mid-October 2013 and were very pleased with our choice. It is a smaller courtyard building with each room having a unique name and story. Our room had a view of the Alhambra and was exceptionally clean and well-appointed. The location of the hotel is wonderful with easy accessibility (walking or bus) to all of the must do sights in Granada. The staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations and held our luggage for us while we went to the Alhambra. The one thing I would do differently is to request a room with a bigger bed. We had a "double" thinking that it would be like the other rooms we stayed in during our trip where 2 twins were pushed together to form one bed. In this case a "double" literally meant a double bed so sleeping was a bit tight but we made do. All in all, this was a great boutique property and I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elemeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your great review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. When you visit us next time, please request a King Size bed and we will be happy to allocate you a room which has one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in while in Spain, and turned out to be our least favorite. There was nothing terribly wrong, but thinking about the whole experience I think this hotel was worth about 100 euros less than the 240 per night that we paid.
It started out actually while we were still in the US. I contacted the hotel three times to make a reservation for an activity and to confirm our reservation, twice via email and once via their website. No one ever replied. (all our other hotels replied to me immediately) I was so nervous that I actually came on tripadvisor to make sure the hotel was even still in business I thought perhaps we'd get there and not find any hotel. When we checked in, it turned out they had made the reservation but never bothered to reply.
In general the staff here isn't ready for a high end hotel. We got wrong info from them about the Granada airport. We arrived to a broken room safe that couldn't be fixed so we had to carry our passports around (don't they have a pre-check in list of things to check?). They called an airport cab for us without our asking which made us miss the breakfast we paid for and ended up arriving far too early for our flight anyway. They charged the wrong among at check-out and then chased us into the street for another 48 euros.
We upgraded to a deluxe room because it was described as having a view of the Alhambra. But in reality the room had these tiny port hole sized windows that you could only see out of when standing directly in front. And they were in full view of the galley style hallways of the hotel so you couldn't leave them open or other guests could see right in.
The immediate area of the hotel felt a little seedy, near boarded up buildings covered in graffiti.
On the plus side (and this was a big plus) you can walk to the Alhambra from this hotel, if you are good with hills.
Again, there was nothing awful about this hotel but there was nothing great or memorable about it either. I do feel it is badly over priced. When we checked out and my husband saw what I had paid for what we ended up getting I thought his head was going to spin off.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitchaMitcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

We are sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay and we do appreciate your feedback. Perhaps you were experiencing some internet issues at home as we have both your email and our staff´s same day response on file. Although you stayed in one of our most popular rooms, we also realize that it may not have been to your taste. Our staff do their utmost to accommodate guest needs and will continue to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in October to take in the surrounds of Granada and the amazing Alhambra. Our room was on the 1st floor. We did experience some noise although this was (I suspect) due to other particularly noisy guests in the room next to us. Our room looked onto an alleyway so natural light was limited. We had a standard room but if natural light or a view is important I believe you can upgrade to a room with a view. Breakfast was not included in our rate however we did have it on a couple of occasions and it was satisfactory. Free bottled water each day was a nice inclusion. The staff were helpful and recommendations for restaurants were good, try Los Manueles or Los Diamantes to experience the best of the Granada tapas culture. They also arranged a guided trip for us to the Alhambra which was really good although a bit on the expensive side at 52 EUR. In summary, a great place to stay in Granada.

Room Tip: Upgrade from the standard if you want a balcony or view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger_Ninja_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

We are pleased that you so enjoyed our hotel and its location. We hope to be able to welcome you back to El Ladron de Agua on your next visit to Granada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is charming; beautifully appointed, it feels more like an elegant, real home than a hotel. It is walking distance from the Alhambra, Cathedral, and many cafes and shops. Well-insulated glass in French door-styled windows assures you have all the beauty and little of the noise of this oasis at the foot of Alhambra. The staff were welcoming and helpful and spoke English, which I appreciated. All was very clean and comfortable. The dining room is small but pretty offering a nice selection for breakfast.

Room Tip: My room on the street side of the hotel was filled with light and offered a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. Great observation, the hotel was formerly a Noble house and we have done our utmost to maintain its historic ambiance. Please come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

As with our reservations at all our hotels for our trip to Barcelona, Madrid, Cordoba, Seville and Granada this month, we booked the highest priced "deluxe-plus" room here to get a larger room with "stunning views of the Alhambra". We were very disappointed when we entered "Juan Ramon", an adequate room, but much smaller that we have enjoyed in the other cities, with a small balcony overlooking a tree and stream. On the lowest floor here, there was no view of the Alhambra. Next door was a "superior" room which was almost identical except it was 37 euros cheaper and next door to that, a standard room which was 59 euros cheaper than ours. If you choose to stay here, paying extra for an upgraded room has no value. The location is good but this did not live up to expectations or be as welcoming as our other experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Penny,

We appreciate your feedback and take all our guest comments to heart. Originally a historic noble house dating back to the 17th century, now a small boutique hotel, each room has slightly different views and has its unique character. During the summer months views from "Juan Ramon" include a large ancient tree on the river bank, which most of our guests have commented favorably on. But we understand that this may not have been to your liking. We are sorry about that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews