We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity in Granada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Ladron de Agua
Ranked #5 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Serenity in Granada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

After vacationing in Spain for two weeks in many different hotels,
this was our favorite overall. The serene setting and
relaxing ambiance in beautiful, historical Granada overlooking
the Darro River and cobblestone streets with the Alhambra
high on the hill is very unique. We choose hotels carefully,
prefer intimate, personal accommodations with history and
character rather than cookie-cutter hotels and this exceeded
our expectations. Superb location, central to every must do
on our list. The rooms were tranquil, clean, spacious with comfy
beds and pillows, nice showers, Molton Brown soaps, Wi-Fi,
afternoon wine and many other personal touches. The hotel
staff was considerate, receptive and very helpful. They pre-
purchased tickets to Alhambra prior to our arrival. English
spoken well for us with limited Spanish speaking skills.
Overnite parking in Plaza Puerta Real, with convenient
taxi ride to front door of hotel. Concerned that parking car
would be a problem but the experience of staying here
well outweighed any inconvenience in parking offsite.
Wonderful, unforgettable, magical, mystical Granada
and El Ladron de Agua hotel. Highly recommended.
Thank you for the privilege.

Room Tip: Loved the superior room facing the Darro River. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for writing such an exceptional review. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    194
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
82
508
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Beautifully restored building, lovely rooms with very helpful staff. We parked at Plaza Peurta Real, underground car park off Acera Del Darro, this is about 400m away from the hotel, there is no parking at the hotel. Receptionist took my car number to notify authorities as i was not sure if I had entered a restricted zone on the way in by mistake. (Apparently it is possible to enter this zone if going to a hotel in it, but authorities need to be notified). Clean room, cool, great shower, overlooking small river in front of building, buffet breakfast in small downstairs restaurant. Free Wi Fi, free sherry every evening. Earplugs were provided in room but were not needed and we did not have any noise problems. Great location, asked for recommendations for eating out and were very helpful. Great price on pre-booked room only package, breakfast was 11 Euros. Have been to Granada before, but if we return this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Active_Traveller014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are gratified that that you were comfortable and that our staff were so helpful and accommodating. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The setting is lovely, and in good reach of all the main attractions. The building has been beautifully restored.

The room was clean and well furnished and lovely and cool (perfect silent aircon), although some may have found it a little dark. The bathroom was nice although the shower tended to allow lots of water to run out into the bathroom.

The free sherry and snacks in the evening is a nice touch, strangely there didn't seem to be many people taking advantage during our stay tho.

There was occasional noise from passer's by at night but it wouldn't stop me recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are gratified that you found our hotel so comfortable and that you enjoyed our great location.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel 9th - 12th June 2014 and had a "Superior" room. It was really nice, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

It has no restaurant except for breakfast but is in a very good area for eating. There is a nice little bar in the street just left out of the door of the hotel. There is a small river running past the front of the hotel, just across the narrow street, and above it towers the Alhambra. If visiting Granada again we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Really very nice indeed. I could not fault this place on anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ludomcgurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We are so pleased that a seasoned traveller such as yourself had such a great stay! Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable
Level Contributor
227 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Although our room overlook the courtyard which was covered it still had a good view. It had shutters you could open on the inside,TV,2 sinks in the bathroom a bubble spa bath with shower. Big bed very soft pillows great nights sleep. All the rooms have names not numbers ours was Isabella it's a good job the receptionist remembered our faces as my husband not good at remembering names. Reception very good got our tickets on line for Alhambra Palace and a guide for the next day. It is cheaper if you do it on line yourself before your trip but it was worth the extra. Reception gave good advice for tapas bars as well. 7 o'clock free sherry and meet other guests in the evening was fun we all had a good chat and exchanged experiences. Breakfast continental but nice fresh tea or coffee as soon as you arrive down.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We are delighted your stay was restful and fun and that your experience with our staff was top notch. Please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is right across from a little senic stream and close to the Plaza Nueva. You can walk a couple hundred yards and look up to see Alhambra. There is no parking at the hotel. We ended up parking at the aparcamiento San Augustin. The hotel itself looked nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked our tickets to Alhambra with the receptionist. The jacuzzi tub was nice. The hotel was a little noisy, because it has an open air courtyard. They do give out ear plugs, which worked for me.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yourdisplayname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We sincerely appreciate your kind and considered feedback. We are especially glad you loved our prime location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Ladron de Agua for two nights at the end of May, 2014. Most of the hotel's rooms are spread around a two-story interior roofed courtyard. We had a superior room, without breakfast. The public areas of the hotel have a contemporary ambiance and are quite attractive. Our room was on the second floor facing the street. It was reasonably large, with high ceilings, a bit over-furnished, but done with taste. The bathroom was somewhat cramped, with the usual assortment of fixtures just squeezing into the space. It was certainly modern, clean, and well-appointed.

We were a little surprised to find complimentary earplugs on the night tables besides the bed. At night we found out why. The hotel is located on a narrow street along the Rio Darro, and there are several bars (clubs) nearby that stay open to the wee hours of the morning. When their patrons finally leave, they are a rowdy bunch (probably students from the university), oblivious to whatever disturbance they are creating.

If you are a deep sleeper or the hotel is willing to guarantee you a room away from street, you will enjoy your stay. The location is a good one, with many nearby restaurants, including some along the river a short walk from the hotel. As the bird flies, it is a short distance to the Alhambra, but on two feet it is a steep walk. Better to take a bus or a taxi and save your walk for the return.

Do follow the tourist map through the winding streets of the Albayzin behind the hotel to the viewpoint at the Mirador San Nicholas. The view of the Alhambra against the background of the snow covered peaks of the Sierra Nevada mountains is stunningly beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be very noisy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EHG_EKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are fortunate to be located in such a historic location in the heart of the Old Town and appreciate that there are occasions when this popular area can be somewhat noisy. Thank you for your insights and feedback. We hope to see you again in magical Granada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Property: El Ladron de Agua
Address: Carrera Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramon Jimenez's journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern... All these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing