We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location”
Review of El Ladron de Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Ladron de Agua
Ranked #6 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a wonderful overnight stay at this hotel on a brief visit to Granada The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and our room was very comfortable and cool with a beautifully tiled & well appointed bathroom. The location is very good and within very easy walking distance of the main tourist areas. Get a taxi (6 euros) or bus to the Alhambra, unless you don't mind walking up the very steep hill. Granada is a busy city which seems to party all night, so be prepared to shut your windows and switch on the a/c! The central atrium was rather modern / minimalist, which is a pity as the building is 16th century. The rooms however are more traditional and very well appointed. We'd certainly recommend the Hotel to others looking for good value and a convenient location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We are proud of our excellent staff and the the service they provide - and very happy you noticed!
Our location is bar none in Granada. Thank you for a wonderful review and come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The lady at the reception greeted us with a warm smile. The location is fantastic on a cobbled street facing the river. Our room had an old world charm with wooden beams. Missed the drink that was on offer. Would stay here again if we ever visit Granada!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarkarR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a favorable review! Coming from a Senior Reviewer such as yourself, means a lot to us. Please come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is a real oasis..... We stayed in a Deluxe Plus room which was very spacious and comfortable, with a small terrace overlooking the Darro River and views up to the Alhambra. It was gorgeous at night. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to all the main sights and a taxi rank. After a long day of sightseeing in the heat, it was lovely to walk into the beautiful centre courtyard of the hotel which had a running water feature - it was like a little sanctuary. The staff were also friendly and extremely helpful with directions and recommendations. Complimentary drinks and snacks were provided each night. Breakfast is a little pricey, but there aren't really any breakfast places nearby so worth it for the convenience - coffee is freshly made and there is a wide selection of cereals, boiled eggs meats and cheeses, breads and jams. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we would definitely stay again. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Granada!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Farrell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

We really appreciate your kind comments and we are pleased that you found your "sanctuary" in Granada. The water theme is part of the history of this 17th century noble house and we try to create and oasis where guests can rest "body and as well as soul"! Welcome back..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely hotel, with large rooms and bathrooms. It is beautifully maintained throughout. The reception staff could not be more helpful and seem to really enjoy working here. There is a sense of pride. It is a good price too and walking distance to all main sites of interest. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Afer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

It is gratifying to see that you so enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. That is what true hospitality is all about...Please come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The location for this hotel is superb, right next to the river, a calming sound. The room was comfortable and surrounded in dark wood, warm and welcoming. I was alarmed by the supply of earplugs beside the bed, however they were only needed on Thursday and Friday nights as these are popular nights out in Spain. The noise is out of the control of the hotel, however if you prefer the quiet ask for a room on the other side. Some rooms have a view of the Alhambra, majestic at night when it is all lit up (but expect the noise). Bathroom is a decent size, however the floor was not clean when we arrived. There are drinks and tapas in the evenings for guests. I would stay here again,

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank KLS2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to seeing you in magical Granada next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great hotel sitting under the Alhambra. Walking distance to everything. Warm, friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast for a small charge. If you get a verandah room at the front you can watch the passing parade if tourists and locals.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, don't get a room at the front, ear plugs are supplied though, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belindas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are happy that you found our location perfect for your vacation needs. Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After vacationing in Spain for two weeks in many different hotels,
this was our favorite overall. The serene setting and
relaxing ambiance in beautiful, historical Granada overlooking
the Darro River and cobblestone streets with the Alhambra
high on the hill is very unique. We choose hotels carefully,
prefer intimate, personal accommodations with history and
character rather than cookie-cutter hotels and this exceeded
our expectations. Superb location, central to every must do
on our list. The rooms were tranquil, clean, spacious with comfy
beds and pillows, nice showers, Molton Brown soaps, Wi-Fi,
afternoon wine and many other personal touches. The hotel
staff was considerate, receptive and very helpful. They pre-
purchased tickets to Alhambra prior to our arrival. English
spoken well for us with limited Spanish speaking skills.
Overnite parking in Plaza Puerta Real, with convenient
taxi ride to front door of hotel. Concerned that parking car
would be a problem but the experience of staying here
well outweighed any inconvenience in parking offsite.
Wonderful, unforgettable, magical, mystical Granada
and El Ladron de Agua hotel. Highly recommended.
Thank you for the privilege.

Room Tip: Loved the superior room facing the Darro River. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for writing such an exceptional review. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,812 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,309 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
814 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Ladron de Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ladron de Agua

Address: Carrera Darro 13, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £66 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Ladron de Agua 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building from the 16th century has become a hotel, taking its spirit from the essence of Juan Ramon Jimenez's journey and his poems. Its privileged location in the heart of Granada, at the foot of the Albayzin; its rooms bathed in the light of the Alhambra; its colonnaded patio; its lounge, vestibule and well/cistern... All these charms will lead you to the sound of water, and to a peace that will give you inner harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Ladron de Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ladron De Agua Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing