We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveller rating
634
254
64
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
254
64
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free sherry evening sherry plaza nueva darro river dark wood old town perfect location cobbled street tapas wooden door street noise third floor noisy at night beautiful building light sleeper visiting granada restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 974 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2014

Hard to beat hotel in terms of location as it's next to the plaza nueva, a short stroll from all the shops, in a quiet zone yet beyond the main door is the throb of human traffic.
Service is discrete yet willing.

Date of stay: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

Happy that you loved our location!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

We stayed in early November. This is a converted "carmen" with a covered interior courtyard on the banks of the Douro river (or the bit of it that hasn't been covered over). I'm not a great fan of "boutique" hotels. Perhaps because they're called boutique hotels, a pretentious name if ever there was one, which can hide a multitude of overpriced sins.

We were pleasantly surprised. Helpful, smiley girls on the reception desk; a splendid atrium; a peaceful little library; not a bad breakfast; our room right at the top (The Generalife) was very light and spacious with views up to the Alhambra set us back Euros 120 a night (£100) which I thought was good value; it was quiet with little noise filtering up from the street below. We did peek into some of the other rooms. Some looked small although there are a few bigger ones. So make sure to ask. Reasonable sized bathroom with jacuzzi although the shower gel is screwed right into the corner requiring you to get up and squirt some ( with difficulty) every time you want to use it. Little things mean a lot. A quibble.

At the edge of the old city and a short walk away from the lively Plaza Nueva which leads straight up to the Alhambra. Walking distance to shops, clubs, flamenco bars and outstanding Granada tapas bars. Not easy to find if you're driving and even less easy to park. So come by taxi or on foot from the nearest bus stop.

It's a 3-star which ( let us remind ourselves) in countries where the state sets the criteria for how many stars you can have is reasonable. Tea-making facilities would be nice as would a minibar that had something in it. But all in all a really good bet, reasonably priced, close to the action, stylish, unpretentious and comfy. We'd stay here again.

Room tip: Stay in the Generalife if you can.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Happy that you loved your suite and we appreciate all of your comments. Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

We live in Spain about one hour's drive from the city of Granada. We love Granada and it keeps drawing us back. This is the first time we have stopped in the hotel El Ladron de Agua (the water thief).

The hotel is situated on the River Darro as it flows through the city under the walls of the Alhambra. It is on the edge of the Albaicin (the old quarter) and the buzzing Plaza Nueva in the heart of the city. It a wonderful hub for exploring the city with its beautiful buildings,fascinating history, tapas bars and special ambience. I must of course not forget to mention the world renowned Alhambra Palace.

Motor vehicles (other than authorised vehicles such as taxis) are prohibited in the area in which the hotel is situated and there is no parking nearby. In many ways this is a blessing. Our solution was to park in the Alhambra Palace car park. It is very easy to access this from the motorway. It is signposted all the way. There is no need to drive into the city of Granada, which strikes fear into many people's hearts. The car park has plenty of shade under the trees and 24-hour surveillance. It is a little expensive but at €18.50 for 24-hours, it is not unusually expensive for a city. There are brilliant transport links from the Alhambra Palace into the Plaza Neuva. A taxi is only €5 and there is a bus about every 10 minutes for €1.20. There is also the hop on hop off city tour road train at €8 for the whole day. We chose taxi and we were dropped right at the door of the hotel.

The hotel is a 16th century building and it has been tastefully fitted out to the highest modern standards while still being in keeping with its history. We were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the river and the busy pedestrian thoroughfare from the Plaza Nueva to the Albaicin. It was nice to see and hear the buzz from the room balcony. At no time were we disturbed by any distracting noise.

The room was in keeping with the building and the bed was extremely comfortable. The shower room was tastefully designed and we loved the Molton Brown soap and shampoo.

The staff all went out of their to be pleasant and helpful which is so important and can be lacking in Spanish hotels.

The Wi-Fi was excellent.

We enjoyed our three days in Granada and look forward to returning to El Ladron De Agua

Room tip: The room, which we were very happy with, overlooked the river and, to the right, the church..
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bibsandbobs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

We are delighted that you found your stay to be so enjoyable. Thank you also for the information about parking, which I am sure other visitors will find very helpful. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon, since you are a resident on the coast...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Excellent location for walking tours of Granada (seeing as you can`t drive in this area due to traffic restrictions anyways - and advise the hotel staff if you arrive in Granada by car as they will clear your license with the police to avoid a ticket if you accidentally drive into the restricted zone, which is easy to do even going to a parkade off of Calle Recogidas). Room was very nice, king bed and jacuzzi tub, large wardrobe/desk/armchair. Beautiful inner courtyard and artwork, complimentary wine at 7 PM in the library where you can meet other guests and share the days adventures. Didn't try the breakfast as there are many open air restaurants a block left of the hotel up the river and more down the right through the plaza. Another unique feature is no room numbers, so you have to remember the name of your room as you hand in your key every time you leave, but the staff always seem to know and hand it back as soon as you walk in the door. hotel will also book your Alhambra tickets for you in advance for a couple of Euro's.
Only negative was our room was in the back of the hotel and view consisted of a wall of the building behind, but this isn't a town where you sit in your room so it was a minor point.

Room tip: Front of hotel for a view, back is quiet.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Stayed over on business just one night. The hotel is modern and clean. Super friendly and efficient staff. Very comfortable bed, slept like a baby listening to the waters of the Rio Dorro. Overall tops!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

We appreciate your TOP score! Welcome back...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews