We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
628
249
64
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
249
64
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free sherry evening sherry plaza nueva darro river dark wood old town perfect location cobbled street tapas wooden door street noise third floor noisy at night beautiful building light sleeper on foot breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The main attraction of this hotel is the location. Which is at the heart of the tourist attractions

The hotel is a blend of modern styling in the small public areas and much more traditional is the bedrooms

We stayed in the hotel's standard room category. I'd describe the rooms as spotlessly clean, simply decorated and just about comfortable enough. You'll probably not spend much time in the hotel as there is so much to do in Granada

We didn't eat in the breakfast - the local bars and restaurants served us well

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DaveFaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

We are delighted that you were happy with your stay and that you found our location to be excellent.
Come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

El Ladron de Agua is a beautiful place to stay in Granada. locates in heart of city, in a large grand history building. BUT there is no car parking, and the road of entrance is only for taxi & bus. Warm staff help us find nearby parking finally. Anyway, the hotel is really lovely, and restaurant nearly is also delicious!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Unfortunately private cars are not allowed at any of the hotels in this part of the historic city. We pleased that you found other aspect of your stay to be exceptional! Come visit us again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We recently stayed over NY for 4 days arriving NYE. The hotel has a very subtle and almost nondescript front door, plus the street itself is incredibly narrow and only accessible to taxis or foot traffic. Entrance is quite deceiving, once inside the interior seems very modern and chic but then when you get to your room it is quite the opposite - heavy wooden doors, windows and shutters, brick tile floors and wooden beams across the ceilings- tastefully decorated and all in keeping with the city and it's atmosphere. We stayed in the Fantasia Betica room - the hotel is vey small only 15 rooms. Our room was tight for size particularly as we had more luggage than many others we saw at the hotel as our trip to Europe is quite long. There is not much storage space for cases or one's clothes and to be honest you really do not need to dress up that much in this city. While we were there the weather was v cold so 4 layers were definitely required at the beginning and end of the day. Best to only bring a cabin sized piece of luggage with you if staying at this hotel. Also the bathroom would have to be the smallest we have experienced so far on our trip. There is only room for 1 at a time and no where for cosmetics etc. but one of the great things was the shower- hot, plentiful water supply, excellent pressure and no spraying or leaking of water from it onto the floor.

Room is also quite easy to keep dark except for emergency light above door which can be annoying from the bed. Bed is only double and I would have expected queen size or 2 singles together. Room is great in that you can open the window to let in fresh air during the warmth of the day. Pillows need to be improved - certainly not what we would expect to sleep on in an Australian hotel of this standard. Rooms were immaculately cleaned every day. However, my sleep was interrupted a lot by the noise of a compressor unit cutting in and out - I assume this was for overall heating of the hotel but as we had turned our hearing off during the night I found this noise very annoying. On the other hand it did not worry my husband at all.

Hotel staff- when we arrived our check in was extremely smooth and efficient. We arrived mid afternoon on NYE and asked hotel team member to find us a nice restaurant for dinner. Given how late we asked about this she I did an amazing job to find us a place to eat which was just up from the hotel and we had a great night there meeting lots of other travellers as well.

Hotel breakfast at €12 p person was very good value and the quality of the food was excellent. I should also mention that each evening from 7:30- 9 pm there is sherry and nibbles- olives and potato crisps - in the library. This is a great thing to do as you usually meet up with other travellers and share tales and information.

We travelled to Granada from Ronda by train which cost around €20 and then took a taxi from the station to our hotel cost approx €8, when we left we flew from Granada to Barcelona. The hotel is extremely well located for getting around the city, only minutes form Plaza Nueva which is a cental point for eating, taxis, tourist bus etc To go to the airport we walked from the hotel to Plaza Nueva to take a taxi to the airport and I would recommend this. Also suggest you arrive at airport with a good 1 hour to spare before your flight as checkin took forever. Trip by taxi to airport takes around 35-40 minutes and costs approx €30.

The hotel is very well placed for visiting the Ahlambra, a smart 30-35 minute walk up a steep roadway very easy to find your way etc. Great exercise - if you do not feel up to this then grab a cab which will cost you €6 one way or catch the C3 bus for €1.5 one way. Hotel not great with this sort of info or suggestions of where to eat re light inexpensive meals perhaps this is the language issue rather than the hotel not wanting to help out???

All in all the hotel is a comfortable, cosy stay with a location that is hard to beat. The amenities in the hotel are excellent and it is spotlessly clean. We would seriously look at a return visit if visiting Granada again. Our room was a superior room and looked out over the River Darro and street below with a view to the Ahlambra at night which was very pretty. Even though we faced onto the street we heard little street level noise apart form NYE which is to be expected.

Room tip: Ask about noise from air conditioner compressor, we were on second floor and it was very audible and annoying to me
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 873susanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

We are thrilled that you so loved our location - close to everything Granada has to offer. Your suggestions for improvements have been duly noted and will be actioned. Come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Beautiful boutique hotel in an excellent location in the old town of Granda. Easy walk to everywhere. Rooms and all amenities are first class and the staff are friendly. I would stay here again if visiting Granada.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2015

So happy that you loved the hotel. Thank you for a wonderful review! Come visit us again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We spent 4 nights at El Ladron de Agua, and enjoyed almost every minute of our stay there. The hotel's employees were pleasant and helpful. Our room was excellent with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. The downstairs courtyard was designed in a modern motif which was extremely beautiful. The breakfast room and lounge were also well designed and beautiful. Art work is scattered throughout.

It is an excellent location for a visit to the old city, the Albayzin neighborhood, and the Alhambra,. The Plaza Nueva is 2 or 3 blocks downhill from the hotel, the Cathedral is 1/2 mile away, downtown stores were just as close, and the Alhambra is a 2/3 mile mainly uphill walk from here.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

We love happy guests! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews