We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
628
249
64
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
249
64
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free sherry evening sherry plaza nueva darro river dark wood old town perfect location cobbled street tapas wooden door street noise third floor noisy at night beautiful building light sleeper on foot breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Let me start with the good. The location was wonderful. Situated on a stream facing the hill that supports the Alameda. It is located right in the heart of the city close to many dining options. The lobby was beautiful and there is a nice social room. It has a very pleasant decor that speaks to it's boutique nature.

Things I didn't like. It's very difficult to find. We had a rented car and we drove to it but later learned we were not supposed to as the small streets are for pedestrians and taxi's only. If you are driving yourself, park in the city center and take a taxi to the hotel. Also, the front desk staff did not speak very good English at all. The bed consisted of 2 twins pushed together which is common but uncomfortable. There were not enough towels and no slippers or robes in the room. No music readily available in the room either. The trash can in the bedroom was broken. Lastly the shower controls were difficult and the soaps are provided in a dispenser that was old and needed to be replaced, not individual bars or small shampoos.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank OC_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Thank you for your feedback!
We are pleased that you found our location to be second to none. We are always grateful for suggestions for improvements and your constructive comments will be looked into and actioned immediately.
However, guests booked with us will find detail information about how to get to the hotel and find secure parking in the area, on our website. We offer exclusive amenities from Molton Brown in wall mounted dispensers to save the environment from unnecessary use of mini plastic bottles and plastic wrapping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Made a last minute decision to visit Granada during a 2-week stay in Madrid, and booked this hotel online after reading the reviews - was not disappointed!

- The location is near-perfect, just across from the River Darro at the foot of the Alhambra.
- Rooms were well designed and comfortable, with a nice "local" feel
- Staff were helpful and friendly, with good recommendations on local food, drinks and attractions
- The pre-dinner Sherry from 7 to 9 was an unexpected treat - a nice way to relax before dinner and meet fellow travelers

I would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Granada.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vikram06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

We are delighted you found everything at the hotel to be so much to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

We recently stayed at El Ladron in a deluxe room for two nights, which was very spacious. The hotel is really in a great location and easy to find. Since the weather was nice, we even walked to the hotel from the train station and back. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating, they arranged for us to have an early breakfast since we had to check out before visiting the Alhambra. The breakfast had a wonderful assortment of items and we ate there both mornings. A tip for anyone who buys tickets to the Alhambra online via Ticket Master...go to the Tienda de la Alhambra on Calle Reyes Católicos nº 40 (it's just a short walk from the hotel) and print out your tickets using the Ticket Master machine. This way you can enter the grounds near the Nasrid Palaces and not have to go all the way to the main entrance and stand in line. It's about a 20 minute walk uphill to get to the palace from the hotel. For anyone visiting Granada we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room tip: We stayed in a deluxe room named Juan Ramon Jimenez which was overlooking the river and was very spacious.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MissyButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Location, location, location - glad you found our hotel to be so convenient to all; in the heart of old Granada. Come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

A beautiful hotel just below the Alhambra and within a quick walk to everything. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful, and the room was spacious and clean, overlooking the small river out front. They have a Sherry tasting every night, so stop back in for some before heading out for dinner. I would recommend this place to all.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank efoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

We are thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The main attraction of this hotel is the location. Which is at the heart of the tourist attractions

The hotel is a blend of modern styling in the small public areas and much more traditional is the bedrooms

We stayed in the hotel's standard room category. I'd describe the rooms as spotlessly clean, simply decorated and just about comfortable enough. You'll probably not spend much time in the hotel as there is so much to do in Granada

We didn't eat in the breakfast - the local bars and restaurants served us well

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DaveFaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Ladron de Ag... E, Owner at El Ladron de Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

We are delighted that you were happy with your stay and that you found our location to be excellent.
Come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews