We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TERRIBLE HOTEL1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Granada Congress
Ranked #46 of 125 Hotels in Granada
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE HOTEL1”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon thinking was going to be a lovely place. When we got to our room we realised there was a horrible red stain in the sheet. Moreover, There was a leak in the bathroom. We had little tour of the hotel looking for the swimming pool and realise there was none of that and the spa was not working either when they advertise themselves as a spa place too. They claim there is wireless which is a lie as we had to be supplied with the cable. Everynight during our stay there was an awful noise from the lobby at 1am and would not stop. Disgraceful for a 5 star hotel. We really thought this is more like 2star hotel standard. The location was not that great either and it was next to motorway/dual carriage way. When we complained to the receptionist about the problems in the room they really did not care at all and did not bother doing anything about it. The problem though is that we had booked in advance and could not leave. So it was a real shame because it really is misleading the way it is presented in the pictures on the internet. Spoiled our honeymoon and would certainly never go back there and not recommend it at all to anyone.

Room Tip: Certainly not the one on top of the lobby as you would not be able to sleep with the very loud noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adama5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    233
    180
    63
    34
See reviews for
139
280
13
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We were initially booked at the MA Alhamar, but on reaching there, we were informed that due to "technical problems" they had no rooms available and they would be shifting us to the MA Narazies, which was a 5 star property. Hence I cannot comment on the price-value of the hotel.

But in terms of basic amenities, this hotel is very good. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The rooms were impressive, very clean and comfortable. Overall, I would tend to agree that the hotel is not upto 5 star standards, but if you get a good deal, then its definitely worth it.

On the negative, the hotel is away from the main town area. Though the bus stop is right across, if one wants to stay in the main central area post dinner, returning home late will be a problem as the bus operates only till 11pm.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satyenthadani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

This is definitely one to avoid. Poor location, and the spa costs €23 per visit for residents! There are very many much better options in Granada.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eiamjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Granada hotels

istanbul
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Booked this hotel because it was recommended. Location is good, and it has parking. However, I had my camera with me but we forgot in the room. Only 30 minutes later, we went back and they have told us that it is not in the room. Our mistake was we called them and asked whether they found it or not. During their check, we went back to the hotel and it was nowhere to be found. They were not helpful and they were not understanding at all. So be careful with your belongings when you stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ca2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

The location is terrible, we arrived by car and the access to the parking area was a nightmare, and on top they charge 15 euros a day for parking.
We asked at the front day for help on local tours, and we were told that they did not provide that service, that we had to go to the official tourism office, which was closed at 5pm.
There were 5 elevators at the hotel, and 2 of them were out of order and the others were so slow that we had to wait over 5 minutes several times, and once we had to come to the lobby from the 6th. floor using the stairs.
We had requested a non smoking room, but the one we staid in (room 607) had a terrible smoke odor.
The only positive thing we can say about the hotel was that the breakfast was excellent, but to our surprise was only included the first 2 days of our stay, but not the last.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nestorvillalobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

This is a new hotel Boasting five star. But I estimate this is only three or forur star regular hotel. They need know-hows to operate elegantly. No fancy. No romantic. No dreaming. Just a regular four star hotel. Of course there is no problem to stay here. You can stay if the cost matches your purse. Maybe this hotel is for businessman because City of Granada is developing quite fast these days.

Stayed January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nomonomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Having stayed here and seen what the staff have to put up with very long hours and no pay they haven't paid on time for over 18 months but they charge enough staff have gone 2 months with no pay absolutely disguting. they work 17 hours sometimes loose their holiday and have to take when told not when they want it

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilijana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#42 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Eurostars Gran Via
#74 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Occidental Granada
#61 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Granada Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Granada Congress

Property: Barcelo Granada Congress
Address: Calle Maestro Montero, 12, 18004 Granada, Spain (Formerly M.A. Nazaries Business and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Figares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Granada
#19 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Granada Congress 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Granada Congress is a reference in the historical city of Granada, not only for its location but also for its original arquitectorical design. The property has an excellent positioning, as it is located just a few metres away from Recogidas Street; the main link between the hotel and the city center. The Congress and Exhibition Center and Science Center are also at easy reach. In addition, Barcelo Granada Congress is located opposite a shopping center and has direct access to the high-way road (just 1 minute driving) connecting Granada with Sierra Nevada. Granada International Airport is just a 20 minute driving. The hotel can be set within the well known Zone 1 of the city, the prefrerred area for those travelling to Granada for business reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Barcelo, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Granada Congress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m.a. Nazaries Business Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing