We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WILL NEVER COME BACK AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Granada Congress
Ranked #20 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Very bad experience in this hotel. There is no fresh food, the value and the variety of food is so poor . i was so dissapointed , There is no accesibility to the jet pool , u have o pay 25Euros per hour. There is no free acessto the jacuzzi only to gym. Spaious room , cleanbut the sleep quality is less then asverage! Location is fair

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmileyRamLebenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was a very nice modern hotel located in a residential area of Granada. It was near a bus stop and you could walk into the center of town. It would take about 20 minutes. The bathroom was very nice. It had 2 sinks and a separate room next to the shower for the toilet/bidet separated by a glass door. There was a very high tech shower there which was not that easy to figure out. The safe cost 6 euro. We did not use it since we were only there for one night. The bedroom had 2 red beds, 2 red chairs and red curtains. The hotel had 5 fast elevators and a spa/gym on the 6th floor (which we did not use) The 9th floor had a view of the city. The lobby of the hotel was beautiful with a huge crystal chandelier. It had a beautiful dining room. We had an included buffet dinner with our Globus tour group which consisted of lasagna, chicken, fish, french fries, meatballs, macaroni, fish sticks, salad, cold cuts, cakes, croissants and ice cream. My only complaint about this hotel was the poor quality of their breakfast. This was the first hotel that I have ever complained about the buffet breakfast. There were many choices, but the quality of the food was poor. The eggs were very runny, the croissants and pain au chocolate were all dried out, the milk to go on the cereal was warm. I barely ate anything for breakfast except for some ham and cheese. All in all it was a very good hotel but I subtracted 1 star for the quality of the breakfast. Since we were only there for 1 breakfast it was OK. I have attached some photos.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoopy1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

+ ok location, some of the staff are friendly, nice rooms

- not very clean rooms, expensive "spa" (€25 p.p. p/h), low quality furniture, horrible restaurante recommendations (clearly commision based tips), bad room service, expensive parking, no wifi in rooms, piano bar without anybody playing, hotel bar cant make simple things as a mojit or a cappuccino, no international tv channels. And the list could be much longer

In short words; are you from a different country then Spain you will not think this is a 5* hotel. They would struggle with a 4* rating in other countries in Europe. Most if it is there but the helpfull staff, clean rooms, small gifts, etc you normally expect from a 5* hotel is missing. So in other words they are in my opinion wrongly marketing themself as something they they are not.m

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Egil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The staff was friendly. The rooms were large and comfortable. We were thinking about using the Spa and it was closed. The breakfast was good and overall we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridajfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The internet is intermittent and slow when you happen to catch it working - hardly conducive for business. After giving up working via the internet, thought I'd try and relax in the spa - only to be told it's not open. So the hotel advertises itself as a 5-star business and spa hotel ....., the staff seem very fed up - they are aware of the issues and resigned to the situation. Avoid, this is a poor hotel!

Room Tip: Don't choose any of the rooms, choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholasBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Location was far from the city attractions. Front desk was understaffed. Plumbing was a problem! We kept getting only hot water in the shower! Breakfast was terrible.

Room Tip: Look for another!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abasmaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

First a note on the controversy over the 5 star rating of this hotel. The thing you need to understand is that the hotel ratings in Spain are more akin to those of Mexico than the U.S. Thus you need to deduct from half a star to a whole star to get a fair comparison. I stayed at a lot of hotels in Spain this month (a one star, three 3 stars, eight 4 stars and two 5 stars), and this hotel is, in my opinion, significantly better than all the 4 stars, so in a relative system, deserves its 5 star rating. My stay here was a good experience. The room was spacious and nicely appointed, with a great view of the Sierra Nevada towering over the city. The public spaces are spectacular, with two huge chandeliers in 100 foot high spaces. The food in the hotel was good. There were a lot of little things which weren't perfect, which may annoy someone expecting an actual 5 star hotel--the windows were very small, the pen was out of ink, there was no suitcase stand, the trash can was broken, there were no tissues or wash cloth, the laminate flooring was a cheap touch, you had to pay extra for a safe key, the small TV could really only be seen from the beds, and was hung crookedly, there was a double sink yet no real counter space. However, I was already expecting a 4 star experience, due to reading the previous reviews, so these trifling things did not detract from an overall satisfying and enjoyable stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great place to stay in this beautiful city (The Alhambra was the absolute top highlight of my 2 week Globus bus tour.)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#49 of 122 in Granada
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#28 of 122 in Granada
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Granada Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Granada Congress

Address: Calle Maestro Montero 12, 18004 Granada, Spain (Formerly M.A. Nazaries Business and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Figares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Granada
#9 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £62 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Granada Congress 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Granada Congress is a reference in the historical city of Granada, not only for its location but also for its original arquitectorical design. The property has an excellent positioning, as it is located just a few metres away from Recogidas Street; the main link between the hotel and the city center. The Congress and Exhibition Center and Science Center are also at easy reach. In addition, Barcelo Granada Congress is located opposite a shopping center and has direct access to the high-way road (just 1 minute driving) connecting Granada with Sierra Nevada. Granada International Airport is just a 20 minute driving. The hotel can be set within the well known Zone 1 of the city, the prefrerred area for those travelling to Granada for business reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Granada Congress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m.a. Nazaries Business Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing