We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a 5 star hotel in my experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Granada Congress
Ranked #33 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“NOT a 5 star hotel in my experience.”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

When I book a 5 star hotel I expect certain extras that you don't get in 4 star properties. There were only basic bathroom amenities, no tissues, we had to ask for bathrobes, wifi did NOT work in the bed room (we changed rooms to a guaranteed wifi room but it still didn't work properly), the property advertises satellite tv channels but these were only Italian( no English speaking at all). Breakfast was a big buffet but the 'hot' food was at most tepid warm- who wants to eat warm fried eggs that have been cooked for some considerable time?? Worst was the cleanliness- for example when we opened our bedroom window, there were hundreds of cigarette buts stuffed into the window frame. It was disgusting. To be fair, once we showed the duty manager the photos of this matter, he sent a cleaner to sort the problem out but it should not avebeen like that in the first place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    266
    191
    67
    38
See reviews for
157
340
16
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TASMANIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2012

It was my first visit to Granada, and I needed lots of assistance in every things, the hotel was so helpful for my girlfriend and I to visit all important places in Granada, room was big enough for the price we paid, the location of the hotel, gave us the opportunity to see real life style of Granada people, (residential area)
Diffidently I recommend this hotel for someone who is coming in short trip,
I m a big traveler, spent lots of my life in hotels and I can tell when a hotel is well managed or not, as soon as I m in the place. I can tell you, this is a well managed hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YAKEEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2012

How' Pickie' can you get, the glass dors in the bathroom are there to improve on hygene and I think that they are a good idea. Some peopple look for problems to write about. We have travelled the world and I rate this hotel amongst the best, the rooms are spacious and well appointed. I did not have the dinner but the breakfast buffet was very good for a hotel of this size and the choice was also good. I would rate the hotel 4 stars . The only problem we had with the hotel is that the car park at 15€ a day is quite expensive. You get what you pay for and at 33€ per person including breakfast was a result through 'Late Rooms'

Room Tip: Check late Rooms ask for a high room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrrh1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We thought the glass door separating toilet and bidet was stupid and bordering on dangerous, has anyone injured themselves yet! The dinner was very nice but the buffet breakfast wasnt the best with very little choice and not good quality. Although it was in a good location we could not rate it better than 3 stars.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Very bad experience in this hotel. There is no fresh food, the value and the variety of food is so poor . i was so dissapointed , There is no accesibility to the jet pool , u have o pay 25Euros per hour. There is no free acessto the jacuzzi only to gym. Spaious room , cleanbut the sleep quality is less then asverage! Location is fair

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileyRamLebenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Granada hotels

New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was a very nice modern hotel located in a residential area of Granada. It was near a bus stop and you could walk into the center of town. It would take about 20 minutes. The bathroom was very nice. It had 2 sinks and a separate room next to the shower for the toilet/bidet separated by a glass door. There was a very high tech shower there which was not that easy to figure out. The safe cost 6 euro. We did not use it since we were only there for one night. The bedroom had 2 red beds, 2 red chairs and red curtains. The hotel had 5 fast elevators and a spa/gym on the 6th floor (which we did not use) The 9th floor had a view of the city. The lobby of the hotel was beautiful with a huge crystal chandelier. It had a beautiful dining room. We had an included buffet dinner with our Globus tour group which consisted of lasagna, chicken, fish, french fries, meatballs, macaroni, fish sticks, salad, cold cuts, cakes, croissants and ice cream. My only complaint about this hotel was the poor quality of their breakfast. This was the first hotel that I have ever complained about the buffet breakfast. There were many choices, but the quality of the food was poor. The eggs were very runny, the croissants and pain au chocolate were all dried out, the milk to go on the cereal was warm. I barely ate anything for breakfast except for some ham and cheese. All in all it was a very good hotel but I subtracted 1 star for the quality of the breakfast. Since we were only there for 1 breakfast it was OK. I have attached some photos.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoopy1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotogrande, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

+ ok location, some of the staff are friendly, nice rooms

- not very clean rooms, expensive "spa" (€25 p.p. p/h), low quality furniture, horrible restaurante recommendations (clearly commision based tips), bad room service, expensive parking, no wifi in rooms, piano bar without anybody playing, hotel bar cant make simple things as a mojit or a cappuccino, no international tv channels. And the list could be much longer

In short words; are you from a different country then Spain you will not think this is a 5* hotel. They would struggle with a 4* rating in other countries in Europe. Most if it is there but the helpfull staff, clean rooms, small gifts, etc you normally expect from a 5* hotel is missing. So in other words they are in my opinion wrongly marketing themself as something they they are not.m

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Egil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Occidental Granada
#62 of 122 in Granada
497 reviews
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#45 of 122 in Granada
713 reviews
Eurostars Gran Via
#69 of 122 in Granada
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allegro Granada
#49 of 122 in Granada
414 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Granada Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Granada Congress

Property: Barcelo Granada Congress
Address: Calle Maestro Montero, 12, 18004 Granada, Spain (Formerly M.A. Nazaries Business and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Figares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Granada
#14 Luxury Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Granada Congress 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Granada Congress is a reference in the historical city of Granada, not only for its location but also for its original arquitectorical design. The property has an excellent positioning, as it is located just a few metres away from Recogidas Street; the main link between the hotel and the city center. The Congress and Exhibition Center and Science Center are also at easy reach. In addition, Barcelo Granada Congress is located opposite a shopping center and has direct access to the high-way road (just 1 minute driving) connecting Granada with Sierra Nevada. Granada International Airport is just a 20 minute driving. The hotel can be set within the well known Zone 1 of the city, the prefrerred area for those travelling to Granada for business reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Barcelo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Granada Congress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m.a. Nazaries Business Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing