We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol
Ranked #59 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

This little hotel is a wonderful gem! The common areas were full of light, welcoming and spotless. Our room, Buganvilla, was perfect, with double doors leading to our private terrace overlooking the city. It was a quiet, peaceful retreat. We had our breakfast and coffee on the communal terrace each morning, and it was a great way to start the day.Our host, Manuel, was there to greet us, even though we arrived late. He offered suggestions and information and made us feel welcome. The place is difficult to find, but it's centrally located between the Alhambra and the center of town. It was a nice walk in either direction. In short, this place was a real find, and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraVida9552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    52
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
212
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Lovely hotel, the rooms were nice and very clean although a bit smallish, the reception employers very helpful about places to see and visit…and gave us loads of advice of nice restaurants off the main tourist area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I knew from reviews before booking that this would be a nice hotel, but I was unprepared for just how fabulous it is. Carmens are more like private villas than hotels, which gives them an intimate and friendly feel, and this one must be one of the best. Beautifully situated in the foothills of the Alhambra, overlooking the city, and immaculately decorated. We stayed in La Glicinia (Wisteria) which had a lovely terrace which was perfect for an aperitif. It was spotlessly clean and well equipped. No aircon though, which might be a little uncomfortable at the height of summer. Breakfast is served on the terrace and is a perfect place to charge up for a day of sightseeing.

It is tricky to find, and Manuel (bless him) doesn't give perfect directions. Basically, as you approach the city, follow signs for the Alhambra which eventually turn into signs for Parking Alhambra. Go past that, and stop at the Hotel Alhambra Palace (a huge landmark on a sharp bend). This has a little car park which turns into a tiny lane - take that down the hill to the Carmen San Miguel and then phone Manuel, who comes to get you. His carmen is a 5 minute walk from there and if he can't fit your car onsite, there is a discounted rate at the Parking Alhambra. Be prepared - Manuel gives a 30 minute orientation of the carmen and the city, which is extremely useful but tiring after a long drive when you want to get to your room! But pay attention, his tips for navigating around the city are worth their weight in gold. Tickets for the Alhambra (which you need to book a few weeks in advance) can be picked up from a La Caixa bank branch at the yellow ATMs, easier than getting them at the Alhambra itself, or from a central bookshop that Manuel will direct you to. He recommended the Carmen San Miguel for dinner, and this was entirely justified - a 5 course taster menu for less than 40 euros plus wine.

It is rare to find hotels with this level of care and attention where you feel like a friend rather than a paying guest. I'm sure you could find something cheaper if you wanted to, but you would be missing out on something very special.

Room Tip: Rooms with terraces rather than juliet balconies seemed to us a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityLawyerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Manuel was so helpful - he called an organized car rental returns for us, gave great restaurant recommendations, and truly cared about his guests. Rooms were great, we stayed in the boganvilla (sp?) which had a good view of the mtns and city below. Don't worry about the hike bake up to the Carmen from the city, there are govt run vans that will drop you off just above the Carmen, for E1.50 per person. Overall I recommend it, even though this was the most pricey of all hotels we stayed in, in 3 cities.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmonger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Just footsteps from the Alhambra, this small gem gives you a preview of all the best qualities of life in this part of Spain, light, views, trees, a simple graciousness of life, aided in no small part by Manuel, the owner of the Carmen. We stayed in El Torre, the tower, with a private veranda overlooking the Sierra Nevada range and the city below. The decor was inspiring, traditional and clean with real antiques throughout. A nice library of books on the ground floor was at your disposal. If you are ever anywhere near Granada, make it a point to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslieness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on advice from Trip Advisor, so glad we did. Firstly, Manuel (the owner) couldnt do enough for us. What an amazingly hospitable, generous and helpful man. I cant say enough good things about him. Our room was very spaceous (bougainvillea room) with views to die for. Walking distance to the Alhambra and old town Granada. Breakfast was freshly prepared for us by Manuel each morning out on the terrace, with fresh fruit available all day. Plase take my advice and stay here when in Granada, you wont regret it

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegemite1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We drove from Málaga to Granada. Manuel provided excellent directions and warned us about driving. Finding the hotel was a bit confusing even with his excellent directions. Manuel had even saved a parking spot at a nearby restaurant for us!

Once we walked to the property we found a little bit of heaven. What an amazing place! Breathtaking views and obviously well cared for facility. We stayed in La Torre at the top of the hotel. Looking out over Granada in the morning was simply wonderful. Truly one of my favorite stays anywhere.

The room was large, comfortable and well furnished. After walking around the Alhambra and the steep streets of Granada, we were happy to come "home".

Bathroom was pretty standard for any B&B type setup with a shower and not a tub. No complaints.

Great wireless internet at no extra charge. Breakfast was simple and adequate. Fresh fruit was available all day.

If you have an opportunity to visit Granada and don't stay here, you will miss a real gem. Easily one of my top 5 B&B's that I've ever visited and a big part of our Granada experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EduardTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Palacio de Los Navas
Hotel Palacio de Los Navas
#55 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol

Property: Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol
Address: Calle Aire Alta 12, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen De La Alcubilla Del Caracol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing