We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people. Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol
Ranked #59 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Manuel is a gem, very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. This is one of those place that is small, quaint and treats you like a special friend. It is also a place that attracts interesting friendly people.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank scrapman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for five nights while exploring the beautiful city of Granada. This small hotel is located above the city, just below the Alhambra which is only a 10-15 minute walk. To reach the commercial areas, you can walk down to the center in perhaps twenty minutes. The walk down is usually by a stairway/sidewalk. (See below.). The downside is that it is much more difficult going up this hill to return to the hotel. Cabs are cheap and plentiful and we advise using them. Just ask to be taken to the Alhambra Palace Hotel and you'll be five minutes from the Carmen.


The hotel's owner Manuel is a gracious host and is fluent in English. He can provide you with help or suggestions. The room we had included a balcony sitting area with a great view. The room was spotless. The maid service was complete. Breakfast is available and includes basic bread, muffin, cheese, and the ever present jamon serrano. There is a honor bar available and a lovely terrace on which you can take breakfast or enjoy a bebida after the day's activities.

If you are limited in mobility, you probably should pass on this hotel. Parts of the road walking to the hotel is steep and the road is uneven with cobblestones. The Carmen does not have a lift and the rooms are above or below the first level.

October weather was super. Clear, clean, in the high 70s. Crowds were minimal. The hotel is airy with plenty of windows which plays well with the weather.

In summary, the hotel and service are great and we will return. The only proviso is the issue of people with limited mobility and the hills/sidewalks/roads which is not limited only to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jerandnanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Location: Excellent!
Linens: Very fine
Bathroom size: Generous

And it's downhill from there..... We and friends stayed for 2 nights and perhaps we are too 'American' for this type of B&B. Leaving my room key in the unattended basket on the front desk whenever we left the Carmen gave all the other guests the knowledge of who was home and who's room could be entered with the key we were required to leave there.....

But if that wasn't disconcerting enough, we returned from dinner the first night to learn that 'someone' came into the room, took our belongings and deposited some in our miniscule closet, some back into our suitcases and some onto the chair in the room! Worst of all, they turned off the AC and opened the windows - seems harmless except my wife' s allergies were killing her and it took hours to clear the room of the moist air!

Our friends iPad ( the safe isn't large enough for even a wallet!) and eBook reader were moved along with their clothes. Make no mistake, this was not turn down service - no new towels, make up of the bed, etc. and their AC was also turned off.

Manuel was scarce during our brief stay - the next night we left our rooms after the staff was seemingly gone for the evening (9 pm late dinner) and figured we'd be fine only to return to the same intrusion and AC shutoff again!

I am unaware of what culture allows this behavior but before you book here, beware you will have NO privacy and your personal space will not be respected.

The 'just a few minute walk to the downtown' advice was also a mystery for us as other guests have noted and we ignored their restaurant recommendations in favor of Tripadvisor spots!

Beautiful spot, ok breakfast for 8 Eu ( you essentially have no cheaper nearby alternatives) and excellent proximity to Alhambra...... Otherwise beware of intrusive hosts!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
11  Thank Chicagonative_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a wonderful small hotel in the Jewish quarter of Granada. The location is fabulous, and Manuel and Ester were wonderful hosts. They provided us with a lot of very useful information, and arranged for us to see a great flamenco show. We stayed in the Torres room for 3 nights and absolutely loved it! The views are great -- the fact that one can wake up and walk on the big terrace perched above the city is a wonderful start of the day! Of the 3 days, we had breakfast only once, the day we visited Alhambra, and than was a smart choice for us since the breakfast is ordinary. However, what I loved in this hotel was the availability of fruit at any time of the day. We truly appreciated that -- what wonderful service! Thank you Manuel and Ester!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bulka56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Manuel is the perfect host at this delightful small hotel in Granada. What a surprise to enter into a beautiful garden setting with gorgeous views over the city. Very close to the Alhumbra and easy to reach the centre of the city on foot. Extremely clean and comfortable rooms and a delicious breakfast. Great terraces and patio with views...the ideal place to have a drink and unwind after sightseeing. Thoroughly recommend this little Carmen.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bunnyrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel run by Manuel. He is an enthusiastic font of all knowledge about Granada. He is extremely helpful and proud of his little hotel.
We stayed in the Torres room which has a balcony and a stunning view over the city. One night there was an amazing firework display which lasted till midnight!
Now for a few carping criticisms:
There is a bit of regimentation for example there was a notice instructing you not to take food into your room. Fortunately this was not enforced!
As for the room itself, there is no shelving in the bathroom and all rooms have showers, not bathtubs.
The safe in the room is hardly big enough put a wallet in. The breakfast is rudimentary. No eggs, plastic cheese and ham, no rolls, stale bread and no toaster. Avoid!(€8!)
Overall we felt this hotel was overpriced compared with those in surrounding cities.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DocHedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a delightful small hotel located close to the Alhambra and a short walk from the centre and main sights. Manuel and Esther were charming hosts and a mine of information throughout our stay. The views of the city and Sierra Nevada from our room and the breakfast terrace were outstanding. Breakfast is the usual continental style with fresh fruit, ham, cheese, cereal, yoghurt etc Coffee is excellent and only fresh juice would have improved the offering. Rooms are clean and comfortable; we thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spadge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,760 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
847 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Palacio de Los Navas
Hotel Palacio de Los Navas
#62 of 122 in Granada
341 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,006 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol

Address: Calle Aire Alta 12, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £80 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carmen de la Alcubilla del Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen De La Alcubilla Del Caracol Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing