We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Mesones!”
Review of Hostal Mesones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Mesones
Ranked #28 of 95 Granada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I loved this hostel! Though I would call it more of a hotel... I have read travel reports about how Granada is the "most unfriendly city in the world" ... I say [--]! That distinction should go to New York in my opinion. Marta the hostess was so sweet and kind! She really goes above and beyond to make sure all of her guests are happy and their needs are met. The hotel itself is clean, comfy, and has AC that really works! The location also can't be beat, right in the town center, easy walk to the Alhambra and everywhere else. I give two thumbs up to Hostel Mesones and would definitely recommend staying there when in Granada!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danzahner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Gerente at Hostal Mesones, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Danzahner, first of all, thanks a lot for trusting in Hostal Mesones for your visit to Granada.

Thanks, also, for the nice review you have written about us, we are glad to know that all the effort we do to make your staying at us a nice experience, has the result we expect.

Have a nice day! Belén Teba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed for a night for our visit to Alhambra. Very close to the cathedral and if you like shopping, this is perfect. Be forewarned though that most shops are closed on Sunday. Room is a bit small but clean and comfy. Our room comes with its own private bathroom but it is outside the room to which we are given keys. The hostess was a nice lady and helpful with our enquiries. Love the breakfast provided, simple but very nice. About 13mins walk to the bus shuttle stop that will take you to Alhambra. Surrounding area is safe even in late evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ihazelynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Gerente at Hostal Mesones, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Ihazelynz, first of all, thanks a lot for your staying at Hostal Mesones.

We also want to thank you for the nice review you have writen about us; We would like to inform you that we are refurbishing the Hostal and we have new things already, like flat TVs in all the rooms.

We would like to let you know that we have rooms with private bathroom (in suite) just in case you did not know about it.

Once again, thanks a lot! Have a nice day! Belén Teba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here for a few nights, and it was lovely. The owners are some of the most pleasant and helpful I've encountered. It's on a nice street, feeling safe not an issue at all. The room was of course quite small but very clean and homey, everything in the bathroom worked well, and though we had a window out to the street, the noise was not bothersome.
Location is awesome. It didn't take us more than 20 minutes to walk to anything we wanted to see, and the bus up to the Alhambra is very close by if you need it.

Great place to stay in a great city.

(P.S. the coffee in the morning was very good, too)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Gerente at Hostal Mesones, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Elizabeth, we would like to thank you for the nice review you have written about us.

We are glad to know that all the effort we do to make your staying at us, has the result we expect.

Thanks a lot again! have a nice day! Belén Teba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hostal, for the money, is as good as it gets in a big city like Granada. The room was a decent size, the bathroom in the room bigger than others we've stay in, Gemma, our hostess was as helpful and sweet a person as they come. The location is perfect, just a couple of blocks from the Catedral, 20 minutes or so from the Alhambra. And the price was very reasonable. The room was cleaned and made up every morning. Great place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Gerente at Hostal Mesones, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Geroge Z, first of all thanks a lot for the nice review you wrote.

We are glad to know that all the effort we do to make your staying at us, like being at home, has its reward!

Thanks a lot again! have a nice day! Gema Mas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Mesones Hostel is in a very central Granada location, just meter from the cathedral. The new owners (only there 8 months) are very welcoming, warm, friendly and helpful.
It is excellent value for money and really qualifies as a hotel more than a hostel. It was clean, bathroom lovely - lots of hot water - room cleaned each day, breakfast was good.
This is how a hostel, small B & B should be - friendly, great value and excellent location.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boysontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Gerente at Hostal Mesones, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear "Boys on the run" We would like to thank you for the nice review you wrote!

We wil keep on doing our best to make your staying at us a nice experience!

Thanks a lot again! Belén Teba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The B&B/pension is located a few hundred metres from the cathedral and the lively Bib Ramblas square. For the location and the overall quality it was very good value.

I had a single room with shared bathroom. Both were a good size and clean.

The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful. English, French and German spoken (as well as Spanish, of course).

The room, shared bathroom and breakfast room were all spotlessly clean. Aircon and TV. Breakfast was fine - juice, coffee/tea, a couple of slices of bread (your choice of jam or the Spanish tomato/olive oil mix) and some sweet cakes/biscuits.

The hotel is on the corner of a block - opposite one side of the hotel there is a large bar. There was quite a bit of street noise, which might disturb you if you wanted to sleep before midnight (but why would you want to do that in a Spanish city?!) A room overlooking Calle Mesones would be quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Propietario at Hostal Mesones, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Adam! I would like to thank you for your review!

We are glad to know that you had a good experience at us; I would like to inform you that we are putting double windows in the rooms; we are trying to pay attention to all the comments our guests have to improve as much as we can our service!

Thanks a lot again! have a nice day! Belén Teba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I spent two days in Hostal Mesones because of a conference at the University of Granada. The single room was clean and it had a washbasin and air conditioner. I took a room with shared bathroom and it was clean all the time I used it. The owners have recently changed and the new ones are very gentle and provide you with useful information. They speak fluent Spanish, English and French (maybe other languages as well). They have introduced a breakfast of orange juice, coffee and toasts with jam, all included in the price.

During the night the streets are loud but it is solved closing the windows.

If I come back to Granada I will go to Hostal Mesones again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoaquinN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Propietario at Hostal Mesones, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Joaquin! I would like to thank you for the nice review!

I am glad to know that you had a nice experience at us! I would like to inform you that we are putting double windows in the rooms.

We wil inform you all about all the new things we are doing to improve our service!

Thanks a lot again! Have a nice day! Belén Teba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Pension Castil
#13 of 95 in Granada
74 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#14 of 95 in Granada
93 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 95 in Granada
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hostal Nuevas Naciones
Hostal Nuevas Naciones
#27 of 95 in Granada
102 reviews
Albaicín
Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Realejo - San Matias
AMC Granada
AMC Granada
#5 of 95 in Granada
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mesones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mesones

Address: Calle Mesones 44, 18001 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £32 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Mesones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing