We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In one word - excellent”
Review of Hostal Mesones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Mesones
Ranked #23 of 92 Granada B&B and Inns
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    54
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
49
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I really enjoyed the four nights I stayed at Hostal Mesones. The location is amazing (a minute walk from the cathedral and surrounded by restaurants and cafes) and the value for money is outstanding. It's not at all fancy but perfect for those seeking an affordable, clean, well-located, friendly small hotel to stay in Granada. I will definitely stay here again if I ever return to Granada.

My only warning is there are a lot of stairs. It was fine for me but could be an issue for people with mobility issues.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Propietario at Hostal Mesones, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Remy123, first of all thanks a lot for trusting in Hostal Mesones for your visit to Granada.

Thanks also for the nice review you have writen about us! we will keep on working to make our guests staying a nice experience!

Have a nice day! Belén Teba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here two nights and enjoyed it. The taxi driver knew exactly where it was and even though he did not speak English and we can't speak Spanish, he managed to explain where we should walk to get to the hotel - since the hotel is in a pedestrian area, taxis can't drive you right up to the front door.

Our room was white. That pretty much explains it. (See photo.) There wasn't that much street noise since you are far from traffic.

The bathroom is tiny and there was a problem with leaking water but the hostess was very friendly and the breakfasts were good (although they really need to invest in a better coffee maker - it's too small for all of the guests and you nearly always had to wait for a cup to be brewed). The water pressure was adequate. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The bed was comfortable.

What makes this place special is the location - very convenient to the sites of wonderful Granada. And for the price, it's a very good deal for what you get.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sea-lon-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Gerente at Hostal Mesones, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Sea-lon sf, first of all, I would like to thank you for choosing us for your visit to Granada.

I would like to let you know that we have bought another coffee machine for the other guests-room, so that guests do not have to wait.

We decided not to have tea/coffee service in the rooms, because we thought it would be nice if guests come to the common area to have a coffee or tea so that guests could get to know others guests and make this area as a entertaiment room.

Thanks a lot again for your review! Have a nice day! Belén Teba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Anyone who is looking to visit granada can blindly book this hostal. It scores on location, service and price! The hosts are extremely warm and friendly. Was a pleasure to stay there. The location is unbelievable. Right in the heart of the shopping district of granada and 20 min from the alahambra. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikram84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Gerente at Hostal Mesones, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Vikram84, first of all, I would like to thank you for choosing us for your visit to Granada!

Thanks a lot for the nice review you wrote about us!

We will keep on doing our best to make your staying at us a nice experience!

Thanks a lot again! Have a nice day! Belén Teba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice hostess that was very helpful in giving us directions to some great sights. Room was small but clean. Small bathroom with shower. No problems. Ac worked well as did the wifi.
Granada was a great place to visit. Definitely recommend this place. Breakfast was simple but very good.

Only struggle we had was initially finding the hostel as we were driving. Our gps could not tell but this place is on a pedestrian mall. We laughed when we figured it but it was frustrating at the time. Call ahead regarding parking to make sure you get a discount.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Gerente at Hostal Mesones, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear KarenXYZ, first of all, I would like to thank you for choosing us for your visit to Granada.

If we have known that you were coming by car, we could have sent you by email, a file where you could have seen a location map, so that it is easier to find the Hostal and the Parking.

Next time let us know and we will help you.

Thanks a lot for the nice review you wrote about us!

We will keep on doing our best to make your staying at us a nice experience!

Have a nice day! Belén Teba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed at Hostal Mesones for 3 nights. Great atmosphere and breakfast included. The staff was welcoming and helpful for many questions and attractions. Even better just around the corner from the cathedral and close to many shops and cafes.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank arieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Gerente at Hostal Mesones, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Arieger, first of all, thanks a lot for choosing us for your visit to Granada!

I would like to thank you for the nice review you wrote about us!

We will keep on doing our best to make your staying at us a nice experience!

Have a nice day! Belén Teba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I loved this hostel! Though I would call it more of a hotel... I have read travel reports about how Granada is the "most unfriendly city in the world" ... I say [--]! That distinction should go to New York in my opinion. Marta the hostess was so sweet and kind! She really goes above and beyond to make sure all of her guests are happy and their needs are met. The hotel itself is clean, comfy, and has AC that really works! The location also can't be beat, right in the town center, easy walk to the Alhambra and everywhere else. I give two thumbs up to Hostel Mesones and would definitely recommend staying there when in Granada!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danzahner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ana belen t, Gerente at Hostal Mesones, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Danzahner, first of all, thanks a lot for trusting in Hostal Mesones for your visit to Granada.

Thanks, also, for the nice review you have written about us, we are glad to know that all the effort we do to make your staying at us a nice experience, has the result we expect.

Have a nice day! Belén Teba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Pension Castil
#16 of 92 in Granada
68 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#13 of 92 in Granada
87 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Zurita
Pension Zurita
#15 of 92 in Granada
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hostal Zacatin
Hostal Zacatin
#25 of 92 in Granada
107 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Olympia
Pension Olympia
#17 of 92 in Granada
54 reviews
Casa Palacio Lopez Daza
#16 of 136 in Granada
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mesones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mesones

Property: Hostal Mesones
Address: Calle Mesones 44, 18001 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Mesones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing