We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of Hostal Costa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Costa Azul
Ranked #30 of 97 Granada B&B and Inns
Montreal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We took an apartment, a steal for 65 Euros. Was a great place to relax, super clean and well maintained, safe and modern. No English TV but we had fun watching Spanish Simpsons. The kitchen is great if traveling with a family. We used the washer, however keep in mind, there is no dryer, however the hotel was kind enough to dry our clothes for 2 Euros. Very helpful. They even set us up with tickets to the Alhambra saving us the trouble of standing in line at 8AM. We walked right in with the ticket she set us up with.
The restaurant has little vegetarian options. However the decor and ambiance, is splendid.

Room Tip: We took an apartment, had a bedroom, bath and double kitchen/living room. If you're staying a wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    40
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
51
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

In the middle of November 2012, two friends and I travelled down to Granada for a brief weekend away from Madrid, where we are all currently studying. The Hostal is fantastically located, just off Plaza del Carmen and on a street which boasts a string of traditional tapas bars.

My friends and I only stayed one night at the Hostal, as ours was a brief two-day trip, but our stay there was delightful. We were given a triple room with private bathroom, a separate TV room and a private terrace which overlooks the inner courtyard, beautifully tiled and surrounded by trees. Considering we were each paying 22 Euros a night, we couldn't quite believe the quality of the room provided. It was plainly decorated and the bedside tables did not have lamps, but there were plenty of towels in the bathroom, the shower pressure and temperature was perfect, the room was spotless and modern, and the beds comfortable.

The owner was a very pleasant woman who obviously takes pride in her business. The reception walls are adorned with plaques and framed certificates awarded to her from various Spanish organisations and as gifts from grateful institutions that used her hotel/hostel as a base for several weeks.

The room was safely lockable and the reception manned 24 hours a day. Considering the price you pay at this Hostal, you could almost consider it luxury accommodation!

Room Tip: As we stayed here in November, when the streets are not as busy at night as they are in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Great location and price. The room was clean, with A/C (very important in Granada). That was nice!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank san15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I emailed back and forth with the Hostal and they were so nice. I actually ended up cancelling my booking.com reservation because you can geta cheaper rate directly through the hostal. They go out of their way to be helpful and are very nice at the hostal. They can book tickets for Al Hambra, which I highly recommend!! Why stand in line when you dont have to???

The location is great but it could be a con for some, it is right by the tapas area of town so there are tons of bustling cafes on both streets (the apartment is in between). We didn't mind because we are used to living in the city but I could see that for some people with small kids this may not be ideal. Otherwise the location is perfect for getting to both Al Hambra and the city center. It is very central which makes driving kind of a pain in the butt (which we knew going in). What we did is parked illegally while one waited in the car and the other ran to get the key for the parking garage (it is closeby but trick to get to), it costs 15 Euro.

Also the internet available is not wifi, so if you want to use it bring a cable.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly it is cheaper than 3rds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonitaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed at the Hostal Costa Azul over 5 nights in mid-October, 2010. Actually, we weren't put up in the actual Hostal, but in another building about a block and a half away, the Arte Vida Suites. These are rental apartments, and we were put in the "El Amante", on the top floor, as I recall. It was perfectly fine, if perhaps needing a bit of updating.

The only criticism I have is that, perhaps over time, dinnerware must get broken or missing, and they don't seem to be replaced. For example, there was only one cereal bowl--actually only one bowl of any kind! Our coffee pot was missing a lid, with the result that we had to physically hold a spoon on the top of the pot for it to work properly.

Other than that, the staff at the hotel were welcoming--but they are very relieved if you try to speak Spanish with them. The Suites are on a very quiet street, and one night were were serenaded by a violinist practising in one of the dwellings nearby. Quite lovely.

I would definitely recommend this place if you plan to be in Granada for more than a night or two. It's great to enjoy an occasional home-cooked dinner in your place. I also agree with other reviewers that you should just forget about a car in Granada. I don't know where you would ever park it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

still this time we found it casually but was a nice discovery.
Room and bathroom was newly furnished, clean a pretty. Only, it was over a bar and so a bit noisy, but not untill late night. there was air conditioning which is helpfull in summer. Personnel was kind and helpful. Location is ideal to discover the city and there's a bus connection to the Alhambra and main monuments just 5 min walk from it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

My family stayed at the apartment belonging to Costa Azul during our 2-night stay in Granada.

The hotel's location is perfect. Very close to the Cathedral, close to transportation that can take you to Alhambra, and nestled perfectly amidst shops and restaurants. Everything was walkable, even Alhambra, although I'm happy we took the front desk attendant's advice: Take a bus to Alhambra, since it's all uphill. Then on the way back, walk downhill.

If I'm not mistaken, the hostel has rooms in its main building, and also has an apartment located across the street where you can rent out the whole floor.

My family (5 people total) stayed at the 2-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor of the separate building. It was perfect for us. The small kitchen had enough of what we needed: fridge, sink, cupboards supplied with utensils, hot-plate, and washer (for clothes, not dishes). We prepared our own meals most of the time.

Also, the apartment has a roof deck which is spectacular! You have a view of Alhambra on one side, and the Cathedral to another. I slept on the roof deck one night, but it was too cold to do it a second time. The apartment had enough beds for 5 people (1 queen, 3 twins) so it was perfect for us.

The staff was phenomenal and supremely helpful. We were there during the Fiesta de la Cruz, for which the staff had prepared festivities in the hotel. They were extremely busy preparing for it all, but that didn't deter them from helping us out with everything we needed. And as busy as they were, they provided all the service needed with a smile. Kudos to them!

Also, on internet, I was told they had WiFi, but I never checked. There was wired connection in the apartment (only one) so that was enough for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgharavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Apartamentos Turisticos Costa Azul Granada
Hostal Navas 14
#40 of 97 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Nest Style Granada
#3 of 97 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hostal Verona
Hostal Verona
#15 of 139 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#13 of 97 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
AMC Granada
AMC Granada
#4 of 97 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Costa Azul

Property: Hostal Costa Azul
Address: C/ Rosario, 5, 18001 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Costa Azul 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing