We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, great breakfast and gorgeous to look at, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Isabel la Real
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is gorgeous. The staff are very friendly, and we thought the breakfast was great (although we are early risers so we had a full array of choices that other reviewers may not have had).

However, we think other travellers should know that it's noisy even if you *aren't* on the ground floor. Here's why: the rooms are situated around an internal courtyard. If other guests make noise in this courtyard, you can hear it. The stereotype of Spanish people is that they keep late hours and they love to talk and this was certainly our experience! One late evening we were "treated" to 15 min of a loud conversation between two guests who turned out to be staying in the same room. Heaven knows what they were talking about but, please, save it for behind closed doors!

I don't think that people need to tiptoe around hotels (OK, actually, I do ... but I will allow for the occasional lapse), so perhaps this is just a plea to everyone to be considerate of others when in parts of the hotel that face onto guest rooms.

In any case, we would probably stay here again because the other attributes were so positive. I would love it if the staff made it a habit to tell guests, at check-in, about how noisy the courtyard can be.

Room Tip: It seems as though ground-floor rooms are not very nice at all. We were on the first floor and it w...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValueValueValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Santa Isabel la Real
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel was clean and rustic. They provided a great breakfast and had an extremely helpful staff. It's walking distance to several great tapas restaurants. We'd highly recommend it.

It is at the top of the town- this means that going to the town center or toward the Alhambra means a bit of walking. It's probably only about 10-15 minutes (if you manage to take the correct streets- it's a bit of a maze for newbie), but there are cobble stones which makes walking difficult if you have any physical disabilities or difficulties. The location is great as long as you don't have any trouble walking up and down the streets a lot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ella4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have always wanted to visit Granada and the Alhambra, and this November [2013] we managed to achieve our wishes.
I searched the net for comments as usual and after having had some refusals of our dates, found this hotel in the Albacin district of Granada. Up the hill in the old moorish quarter and next to the historic convent of St Isabel, is tho WONDERFUL guest house. Parking is easy but driving up the hill may prove difficult! We came by bus from the airport and it was extremely cheap and easy.
The hotel is a modernised version of the earlier monastic guest house, comfortable, clean and welcoming. Near to restaurants and easy to get the bus to the Alhambra.
This is one of the few hotels that I would recommend without reservation! Breakfast is superb with great selections and enough to set you up until you need a mid day snack.
Going to Granada? Go to this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliepd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The location , hospitality , atmosphere and above all the staff (Lucia is a miracle) provides you the feeling of home away from home.
If you are not into big crowded fancy hotels and you look for unique , special hotel this is the one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avital R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We spent our first night in Granada in this hotel, and we couldn't have had a nicer intro to the city. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. We absolutely loved the beautiful courtyard and all the interesting woodwork in the hotel. The staff was very helpful, and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. We were very happy here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ijaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had 4 wonderful night in the Albayzin quarter of Granada staying at the Hotel Santa Isabel la Real. They have very efficient, friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. A declious breakfast is served from 7.30-10.30am, which includes some local specialities. The room was perfect, with air con & heating and a very good sized bathroom with powerful shower. It is a five minute walk to the Mirador de San Nicolas and the cliff-side restaurants with their spectacular views of The Alhambra and a 15 minute walk to the bustling Plaza Nueva.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 nights in Granada.
Our room was lovely & the beds very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with lots of fresh fruit and homemade cake.
The staff at the Santa Isabel were so helpful with tours and advice.
Its in a great location with the number 31 bus stop right outside.
Restaurants a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
995 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
783 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,733 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Isabel la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Isabel la Real

Address: Calle Santa Isabel La Real 17 y 19, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £70 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Isabel la Real 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a restored house from the XVI century. It is situated on the main street of the historical neighbourhood of the Albaizyn ( Granada), five minutes walking distance from the city centre. It is surrounded by gardens and different monuments such us the Monastery of Santa Isabel la Real, the palace of Dar-Al Horra and the San Miguel Bajo church. The hotel is also very near the beautiful views from San Nicolas, San Cristobal and la Lona. There is an enclosed parking lot and a bus stop near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Santa Isabel la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel La Real Hotel Granada
Santa Isabel La Real Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing