We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number 1 in Granada for good reason!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Isabel la Real

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Santa Isabel la Real
Ranked #1 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Number 1 in Granada for good reason!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel situated in a lovely hillside neighborhood of Granada. Can't imagine a better location in Granada. The hillside is dotted with charming restaurants and and a fantastic ice cream store. There is an excellent public square nearby for viewing the Alhambra, which is especially majestic at nightfall. For 1.20 Euros, you can catch a shuttle bus outside the hotel that makes frequent runs into the city center and runs late into the night. And did I mention the accommodating staff and excellent breakfast? Don't miss out - book now!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brownstones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    185
    36
    5
    1
See reviews for
127
574
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

After travelling regularly for more the 40 years, with five weeks on this occasion we feel qualified to say this is a wonderful stay. Great location near Plaza San Miguel Bajo, Granada it has everythink. Friendly helpful staff, good sized rooms with good bathroom, especially clean and sparkling. Great Cafe Bar in Plaza, Cafe Bar Lara with fantastic Spanish food and service. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisure13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the Santa Isabel la Real. The hotel is a charming little house in the Albayzin district of Granada. It is set amidst narrow cobblestone lanes with picturesque whitewashed houses. It is a mere five minute walk from the San Nicolas viewpoint. You can visit the viewpoint well after sundown to view the Alhambra with its haunting nighttime lighting, without having to worry about missing the last bus back to town.

The staff are extremely courteous and hospitable. They provided complimentary laundry service on request. On the day of our arrival, they immediately invited us to have breakfast even though we had arrived several hours earlier than the scheduled check in time and had not even stayed the prior night. We had a early morning flight on the day of our departure and they generously opened up the breakfast buffer at 6:30 AM (an hour before the regularly scheduled time) to ensure that we did not leave hungry.

We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms that overlooked the courtyard. It was pleasant with the gurgling sound of the quaint little fountain in the courtyard lulling us to sleep. The breakfast buffet was wonderful - farm fresh eggs cooked to order, homemade jam and cakes, fresh bread, cold cuts of ham, and homemade lemonade. The lounge made for a wonderful place to sit and read in the afternoon. The bookshelf was well stocked with travel literature and fiction.

All in all, the Santa Isabel la Real was our favorite hotel in our entire two week trip to Spain.

Room Tip: We stayed in the basic room on the ground floor overlooking the central courtyard and had absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShamikNPriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Myself and my wife spent only one night here on July 9th 2014. We were in Granada to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We booked the Santa Isabel based on the great reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed !
We had one of their most basic rooms, which was large and comfortable. There was a high wooden ceiling, supported by large wood beams which gave a sense of comfortable warmth to the place. The wooden framed window looking out onto internal courtyard, which had a small fountain gurgling away, added to the ambiance. The bathroom was also large, with cool marble floors and a good sized shower. The bed was really comfortable, and despite the high temperatures at this time of year, the air conditioner and comfy beds ensured a great nights sleep.

The hotel is in a great location in the old part of town with it's narrow streets, whitewashed walls, and artisan shops around every corner. Only a couple of hundred yards in either direction outside the front door there are quaint squares with a selection of bars and restaurants, where a few relaxing drinks were had. It was also an easy walk downhill to the main shopping areas and to see some of the main tourist attractions.... The walk back up the hill is not as easy!!! But the C1 bus runs about every 10 minutes and stops right outside the hotel.

Breakfast was continental style buffet and plentiful. I particularly enjoyed the real homemade lemonade .. a great way to start the day.

The hotel staff were excellent and gave us great assistance both before and during our visit, booking our tour, recommending restaurants and places of interest to visit, and generally doing what great customer service teams do.

We visited the Alhambra on a guided tour (€50 each), which took about 3 hours and was well worth the cost. Don't visit Granada and miss this tour! (Reviewed separately).

Hotel Isabel la real is a definite keeper.. I hope we will be back!

Room Tip: The basic room was excellent.. I didn't see the others but if they are better than the basic the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel surpasses most in hospitality. The staff is young and very helpful. Our room opened onto the center courtyard and was absolutely charming. While small, the room was comfortable and exuded a time long gone. We slept like babies!
The location is central to the old town with St. Nicholas Plaza in easy walking distance as well as the Cathedral.
The breakfast is unbelievably good. We had so many choices and even cooked eggs. Total thumbs up on this hotel.

Room Tip: I do not think there is a bad room. Ours was on the ground floor with a window to the courtyard but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed at this lovely little hotel twice before and had very positive experiences. This time, since there were three of us, they offered us "La Casita", a small apartment a couple hundred meters down the street from the main hotel building. Unassuming from the outside, with a plain exterior and an industrial looking steel door, the apartment inside was charming and spacious by European standards. Two bed rooms, room for four, a comfortable living-dining area and a small kitchen with a clothes washer, and a private patio where my wife and daughter loved to relax and read. Included in the fee was an excellent breakfast at the main hotel. A real bargain. And all this just a few hundred meters from Mirador San Nicolas that provides superb views of the Alhambra, simply breathtaking at dusk and dawn. Since the Mirador is a party scene and group tour stop at sunset, I found it most rewarding to get up early and watch the sunrise light come up over the mountains and gently caress Alhambra. Quiet and serene. A great opportunity for photographers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralfraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The staff here were very helpful and helped with our luggage and the owner even cooked us omelettes for breakfast. The room was fairly small but comfortable with the window opening onto the inner courtyard. It is in the old city but the bus to the Cathedral (and Alhambra) stops outside and is very frequent. Just up the road is a very good Flamenco venue called Jardines of Zoraya.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Isabel la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Isabel la Real

Property: Santa Isabel la Real
Address: Calle Santa Isabel La Real 17 y 19, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Isabel la Real 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a restored house from the XVI century. It is situated on the main street of the historical neighbourhood of the Albaizyn ( Granada), five minutes walking distance from the city centre. It is surrounded by gardens and different monuments such us the Monastery of Santa Isabel la Real, the palace of Dar-Al Horra and the San Miguel Bajo church. The hotel is also very near the beautiful views from San Nicolas, San Cristobal and la Lona. There is an enclosed parking lot and a bus stop near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Santa Isabel la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel La Real Hotel Granada
Santa Isabel La Real Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing