We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really happy we stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Isabel la Real
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really happy we stayed here”
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We were lucky enough to have both stayed at the Santa Isabel hotel and stay in room 11. This hotel is a renovated residence and the work has been completed with a lot of thought and love by the owners. We were lucky enough to stay in room 11 at the very top. This meant we had amazing views of the Alhambra and I believe one of the best rooms in the hotel. It is not a luxury hotel but more a rustic large room which is clean, large, beautifully decorated and makes you feel like you are in Spain. Not for anyone looking for a very modern large hotel but fantastic if you are after a wonderful Spanish experience. The hotel staff are mainly the owners who care and are wonderfully friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurnsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    201
    37
    5
    1
See reviews for
129
603
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

As referred to in earlier reviews, the hotel is a small and perfectly calm oasis around an open courtyard designed for relaxation. The temperature was between 30 and 45 degrees whilist we were there and the hotel itself never felt hot. It remains cool and comfortable.

The Albaicin where the hotel is located, is in the old Moorish quarter which has now been renovated by the government and is a pleasant network of narrow, cobbled streets, with plenty of resturants/cafe bars. The best lookout spot in the city at Plaza Nicholas is very clkose and we whiled away most of our evenings there drinking wine and taking in the view of the Alhambra.

When we got in we found the hotel quite difficult to find as we didn't have a proper map of the albaycin and the directions on the e-mail form the hotel are for driving not walking, so we definotely went the long way round.

Breakfast - cereal, bread, toaster, fruit, meat, cheese, croissant, boiled eggs etc etc. On the lats day we thought we were going to have to leave early and they woudl have put it out from 7 for us. It's actually 7.30 until 10.30.

The rooms are fa great size, quiet, cool abd and the bathroom in ours was huge. Room 9. The aircon which was definitely needed, worked very well and was on most of our stay.

The reception is covered 24 hours a day and nothing seems to much trouble..

The road as below is still being fixed, so the 32 which normally passes out front doesn't.

I would definltely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank law6knp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The hotel is a small (11 rooms), calm oasis constructed around an open courtyard designed to allow cooling air in and no sunshine. Therefore, even in the height of summer, it's relatively cool and certainly comfortable. Once one passes through the main door, you enter a refreshingly peaceful, weel run, well appointed hotel.

The Albaicin in the old Moorish quarter is a network of narrow, cobbled streets, picturesque squares and resturants/cafe bars. The Santa Isabel la Real is situated about a 7 minute downhill walk to one of the main shopping areas in that part of Granada. Another 7/8 minutes puts one at the entance to the Alhambra.

Although not particularly hard to find one's way about, I'd recommend getting a map sooner rather than later as some of the streets can start to look a little similar. The hotel provides quite a decent version. As for the hotel, it is friendly, very clean, the breakfast is plentiful and varied - cereal, bread, toaster, fruit, meat, cheese, croissant, boiled eggs etc etc.

The rooms are fabulous - tastefully put together, roomy and with mini bar (if that's important) and well fitted, large en-suite with shower over bath. The aircon is efficient and quiet.

Nothing seemed too much trouble for the hosts including tea brough up on a tray and sandwiches, fruit and water on departure because we were leaving before breakfast. Other than the open central courtyard (with small, simple fountain), there is a smallish terrace. The reception is covered 24 hours a day.

Should one wish to book the Alhambra, or a Flamenco evening, restaurant, taxi or probably many other things, once can do so via reception - very civilised.

When we were there (July 09), the road outside was in the process of having pipework laid, so was uneven and difficult for vehicles to negotiate. This is in no way detracted from the stay or caused any noise or other aggrovation. The no 32 bus normally passes the hotel but, as this isn't possible, one needs to go to the Place St Nicolas. The 32 goes to the Alhambra/Albaicin town centre and can make a welcome relief from walking uphill to return. At €1.20 per person, per trip it's a lot cheaper than taxis, who all manage to take a route that gets the fare over €5 for what should be a 5 minute trip max!

I'd have no hesitation recommending this charming hotel - one of the most relaxing I've stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkHunter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Yes, the hotel was excellent. Almost as exciting, though, is how close you are to two superb restaurants. (Ana, one of the hotel's managers, recommended both.) First, you must go to Restaurante Las Tomasas which is just down the road. You get an unbelievable view of the Alhambra, and the food is fantastic. I recommend the duck. The second restaurant , which is even closer in a nearby plaza, is El Aji. The pork dish blew me away. After visiting five Spanish cities, our best meals - by far - were at these two restaurants. By the way, the hotel is also extremely close to the Mirador de San Nicolas, which also has a great view of the Alhambra.
Back to the hotel: We had a great room on the upper floor. The room felt new, was decorated with taste, and the bathroom was great. It was very comfortable. The one drawback to this particular room is that you have a view of the park next door which draws some interesting characters during the afternoon. Nevertheless, walking around the Albayzin is charming (though hilly), and the shops down the hill have some cool items. The hotel is not close to the Alhambra, but it's not really an issue since you just take one of the local buses to get there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeRcreaTors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We were disappointed that we were not warned about the road construction , which resulted in preventing the local bus from coming close to the hotel. We ended up walking around for 20 minutes trying to find the hotel, after being dropped off by the bus.

This is a fine family run hotel, that is exceptionally well maintained, and a treat to stay in, since it is a renovated 16th -17th century building, and has retained a lot of the character (including very small windows). It is very quiet at night.
The breakfast was good but overpriced. The location is improving, but unlike Sevilla and Cordoba's old quarters ,the Albaizyns is still a bit "sketchy" in places, So the hotel is actually one of the nicer renovated buildings in the area. We had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnc-canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We chose the hotel based on the TA rankings, and have no compliants. Our usual style for hotel reviews:

Getting in - cab from train station. It dropped us off the corner, and want a 30 second walk to the hotel. One alert - there is a fair bit of construction going on in the Albayzin area, so budget some extra time in case you are taking cabs to the airport / train station / alhambra to get your tickets etc.

Location - is the key reason why this place rocks. In Granada, you have to stay in the Albayzin. Don't make the mistake of staying in any other neighborhood. The hotel is located on a quiet street which has car access.

Check-in - Ana at the front desk was very helpful and also carried one of our very heavy bags up to our room.

Room - we chose the room on the top floor, which had a clear view of the Alhambra. Truly phenomenal.

Breakfast - included in the room rate - nice spread down in the basement room.

Internet - weak signal in the room; but access in the lobby. They also have a laptop in the living room downstairs for guest use.

In sum, great place. Can't go wrong here.

  • Liked — View, location, service
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PedroPony76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Great little hotel in the heart of the arabic quarter of the city, the 'hopper bus' stops right outside the door so trips to the city centre are easy.

Our room was delightful with the perfect view of the Alhambra, but I understand that it is unique to that room.

Breakfast great, professional staff, clean, comfortable, and charming, what more can I say. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
963 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
760 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Isabel la Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Isabel la Real

Property: Santa Isabel la Real
Address: Calle Santa Isabel La Real 17 y 19, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Isabel la Real 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a restored house from the XVI century. It is situated on the main street of the historical neighbourhood of the Albaizyn ( Granada), five minutes walking distance from the city centre. It is surrounded by gardens and different monuments such us the Monastery of Santa Isabel la Real, the palace of Dar-Al Horra and the San Miguel Bajo church. The hotel is also very near the beautiful views from San Nicolas, San Cristobal and la Lona. There is an enclosed parking lot and a bus stop near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Isabel la Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel La Real Hotel Granada
Santa Isabel La Real Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing