We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with lots of character but clean, comfortable, excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Posada Del Toro
Ranked #31 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel with lots of character but clean, comfortable, excellent value”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Delightful hotel with rooms looking over a small courtyard. A couple of mins walk from the Cathedral and the bus stop with short bus ride to the Alhambra. (Taxi back from Alhambra only EUR 4). On the edge of the Albaicin area. Very traditional and atmospheric but obviously totally refurbished - nice touches like ceramic basins - with good shower, very comfortable bed. If you need pitch dark to sleep then this is for you as windows are shuttered! Like other reviewers we were not thrilled with the breakfast although there was butter for the toast, plus fresh strawberries and yoghurts too. Any dissatisfaction with breakfast was outweighed by the charm of this little hotel which I will be recommending to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sottycatChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    187
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
51
222
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Very central location, everything very close, 2 min from the cathedral. Though this creates problems in finding parking - found one about 10 min walk from there at EUR 22 per day, pretty expensive. The room was very modestly furnished, no view, but clean - both the room and the bathroom. We – my wife and me - were on the quiet side (looking onto the inner patio), but rooms on the other side must be pretty noisy as Grenada in general, and this street in particular, is very noisy. Two helpful girls at the reception. The breakfast was pretty basic, though we got it earlier in order to leave for Alhambra and that can be the reason – queuing at entrance to Alhambra was by far the biggest disappointment in our 10 days in Madrid & Andalusia. .

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Hotel has a nice feel and architecture. Reception staff friendly and supportive. An adequate breakfast given the price paid for our two nights accommodation. Spacious room and bathroom with a step out balcony. Can be noisy (from the street) so would try and get an inner room if we returned. Well located for walking the historic centre and close access to buses for historic area and for bus station..

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the internal patio rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bothydweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Hotel Posada Pilar Del Toro is an Antique hotel that has been restored beautifully. It is a great joy to walk about the hotel and take it all in. Our room was beautiful , clean, roomy overlooked the central court yard and was very quiet. The dinning room downstairs where breakfast is served is a fine example of the period architecture as is the rest of the hotel. The breakfast is very typical for a Spanish restaurant and was very good.
Del Toro is perfectly located close to everything with many restaurants and bars very close. The staff are very helpful and will give you all the information to find a great place to eat.
The Plaza Nueva , Calle Elvira, Granada Cathedral are all within a short walk. A little further is Calle Navas where the tapas bars are every where - great street.
My wife and I will stay here again the next time we visit Granada and I will make sure that our friends know of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brentwood-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This hotel is very well located in the best area, in my opinion, of Granada - El Albayzin - very close to Plaza Nueva and some good bodegas. I stayed there for 2 nights and my bedroom was comfortable, spacious and clean.The bathroom was decent but had the strangest shower I've ever seen. The reception staff were very friendly and kind. It is good value for your money, but the breakfast is really bad and I'd rather have it somewhere else. As there are quite a few good tea rooms and cafés nearby and the room rate is quite good, this wasn't really a problem for me. As a solo traveller I felt quite safe staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Hotel is very well located, right on Calle Elvira, which is one of the main streets of Granada, leading right to Plaza Nueva.

Parking is a problem - The closest one is San Augustin, which is very close but costs 25 Euro per day! Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have any agreenment with this parking place.

Staff is nice and polite - although some have issues with English.

The hotel is beautifuly designed, with antique furniture all around.

I stayed in a room facing the inner courtyard - as quiet as it gets, though on the small side. Room and bathroom both are very clean.

The biggest downside of this hotel, apart from parking, is breakfast. This is probably the worst breakfast I have ever seen - no selection at all, only bread, jam & pate basically. Plus, service is horrible.


In summary, if you don't need breakfast and/or parking, you should definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, third floor or fourth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The location is first class- a short stroll to plaza nueva and all the action. The rooms are huge and amazing value for €59 including breakfast. the rooms were quiet and the beds were oversize ( we had a twin room)

Room Tip: We had room 401 it was huge with two doors opening on to a small balcony overlooking a lovely indoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#40 of 122 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#18 of 122 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Hotel Macia Plaza
#33 of 122 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 122 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#27 of 122 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Del Toro

Property: Hotel Posada Del Toro
Address: Calle Elvira 25, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Del Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Elvira street in lower Albaizín and in the heart of Granada, stands majestically at the Hotel Posada del ToroBuilt in 2006, it is recognizable for its wood coffered ceilings, its spectacular stained glass windows and the paved patio as Granada style.In our restaurant La Posada, you will be able to taste delicious dishes typical from Granada, with the best traditional cuisine of the region.As a special detail with our guests, we offer free breakfast to our clients when booking a room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada Del Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Pilar Del Toro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing