We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, wonderful rooms, amazing service”
Review of Hotel Reina Mora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Reina Mora
Ranked #83 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I've been traveling through Spain for the last 10 days and this was by far the best hotel we've stayed at. The room was very pretty and the bathroom was beautiful, despite the incredibly small shower (which I've come to understand is every shower in Spain). The staff was also incredibly helpful with planning our day and getting laundry done.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SariPoage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Reina Mora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

The reception was OK; at least informative, giving map of city and showing some landmarks. He also informed us of catching the airport bus just down the block which was very helpful. There also was a guest room where tea and coffee could be made. This hotel is small and pleasant however I feel that it is overpriced for the quality of room. The room is small, the furniture is dated and no thought put into the decor. The bath room old with the oldest shower I have seen. We stayed in many cities and in many hotels on our 4 week holiday in Spain. In making a comparison, I think you can do better.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venusalberta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

It's strange reading other people's reviews, how your own experience (good or bad) can differ so much from others.
We stayed two nights and payed 49 Euros room only, per night, through venere.com, Our room was on the first floor but actually called the second. The room was spacious, spotlessley clean and we found the bed to be really comfortable - a super, super king size that has two separate mattresses so I wasn't woken by my snoring partner!
The TV didn't work, but we knew it would only be Spanish channels anyway and who goes on holiday to watch TV?
The staff were helpful and friendly and there is a nice lounge in the basement with internet and it's a nice place just to sit and plan your day. There's a small breakfast of tea/coffee and a magdelena served here from about 7.30 - 9
It's near the central El Corte Ingles and having stayed in Granada before we found it a slight way out from say, the Alhambra or the Albaycin but still not too far a walk from the shopping area. The street it's on is very quiet.
WARNING - if you use the hotel map and want to get to the bus station, it is not where it is shown on the map! they are using very old maps as we walked to the bus station on leaving as it didn't look that far but it moved some years ago and is actually on the other side of the city! Other than that, I'd recommend this little hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mossleytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I booked rooms here due to the free parking promotion. However, the hotel itself was disappointing.

Plus points:
The rooms were clean and the location close to the center of town.

Disappointments:
The rooms - The 401 double room was so small it could hardly fit 2 people. Its a shame to call this a double room. This hotel also has double rooms on the ground floor (yes on the street) with passers by right next to your window. Since this is right in town you can imagine the poor privacy here.

Sleep quality - The bed itself has an awful spring that cuts into your ribs, giving poor sleep quality. There is also a very loud garbage truck that does its rounds in the early morning so its disturbing.

Wireless internet - Our experience is that the wireless internet is not stable throughout the hotel as we were traveling with friends. It depends on where the room is.

Service - We found the service to be very disappointing. Let me give 3 examples:
1. We asked to change the room because the sleep quality was so bad. We were slapped with a 25 Euro charge later. I asked whether I would be charged when I changed. I was told no but they charged me later. This is either a service problem or their communication skills are terrible.
2. We mentioned that the wireless internet was not working. The person at reception was adamant that it worked and did not even try to see if the internet was down. The point was not whether the internet was working, its that the personnel showed no interest in the validity of the complaint.
3. The person at reception would keep giving us instructions such as "you cannot eat in the rooms, you cannot put another card in the slot". There was no please. Just do this, do that.

Verdict:
We had traveled through Andalusia so we understand the general service levels. This hotel did not meet expectations in both the rooms and service aspects. Save your money for another hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granada_10, Gerente at Hotel Reina Mora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Dear Customer, I regret your disappointment in our hotel. But I must inform you that you made the switch to another room at 4 am after having used all, and commenting that the bed is uncomfortable. Our hotel is new, have occupied two rooms in one night, and only we charge you € 25 for change (not the total amount of booking a room) and our surprise, we found the room to change into the shutter of the terrace broken, and we have not made any charge. The room 401 has one big double bed, fully equipped and with terrace. About the internet connection, you mentioned to me that your computer is old and does not work well, you have been logged enough hours in the lounge with our free Internet computer. It's not fair that you make these comments because we will have to charge 25 €. You can read comments from our customers experience and opinion of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I am surprised - 1st time ever we made bad choice, looking at trip advisor.
We did pay so much money for the hotel - it wasn't worth it at all - compare to the other places in Europe, where we have been,

Yes, the guy in the reception desk was nice. Hotel is in the centre - more or less -like so many other small hotels in Granada. Room was small. Bathroom ok, but shower cabin was broken. TV small and noisy. Room from the street - noisy, bed wasn't comfortable. We could hear crying baby in the night!

Sorry, but not recommended at all.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sniegula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granada_10, Gerente at Hotel Reina Mora, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear Customer, Thank you for your comments about our hotel, the room that you had chosen is standard type (Available superior rooms), the size of standard rooms, are normal and granted by law to hotels of category two and three stars in Spain. As for noise, then we surprised me since we are on a street with little traffic and also often as you may have seen all our windows are double glazed. Bed uncomfortable, because, frankly we have hard mattresses and new (brand Flex), maybe I would have preferred soft, but usually the mattress must be hard, and I'm surprised about the broken shower, I know not covered! ! I will say that everything is new, I would have loved if we had left a notice at reception 24 hours, broken on the shower! in terms of price, because you can visit our website, which is double room from € 49 Sunday through Thursday and 72 € at weekends (except extra season), we charge the garage space to 13 € per day, when all area around us the charge to 17 or 20 euros a day. Sorry you've been uncomfortable in our hotel and wish you luck. best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

The Hotel is not bad, but for 100 euro for night is absolutely crazy! With the same price u can have a much better hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dariosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granada_10, Gerente at Hotel Reina Mora, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear customer, our price is like any hotel in the world, is based on low season, medium, high and extra, all this is regulated by law in Spain in proportion to the category of hotel and the services and qualities it offers. If you do not plan to pay high price, it might choose a low or mid season. You can see our prices in our web site, from 49 € at 72 €. That is RIDICULOUS for you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This is a small but lovely hotel near the Cathedral and Royal Chapel in Granada. The hotel is very clean and well kept. We were a family of 4, so had the top floor room which can sleep 5 and includes a couch. Nice bathroom and comfortable beds. Easy to walk to most tourist attractions. Very pleasant and helpful reception staff. Breakfast is provided on the basement level in a lounge room, and consists of coffee, tea, croissants and small muffins. There are also couches and a computer for guests to use in the lounge. I believe the rooms also have WIFI. The only drawback is that they have limited garage space across the street, so make sure to request a parking space or you will have to park (and pay) to store your car in a nearby public garage. The hotel is not easy to get to, so if you are not familiar with the streets of Granada, hire a cab to take you there!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountain-y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Reino de Granada Hotel
#88 of 122 in Granada
145 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel GIT Alcover
Hotel GIT Alcover
#82 of 122 in Granada
150 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#53 of 122 in Granada
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#29 of 122 in Granada
519 reviews
Hotel Las Almenas
#46 of 122 in Granada
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reina Mora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reina Mora

Address: Calle Nueva de La Virgen 40, 18005 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £39 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reina Mora 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description and services: Reina Mora Hotel is a recently built hotel (2005) located in the heart of the city centre just 3 minutes walk from the Congress Centre and within a few minutes walk from the most important monuments. Four-story building, modern construction, outward-facing rooms. 16 rooms available and lounge (available in October 2009). 24-hour reception service. 16 rooms available, all outward-facing. Single, single (big bed), twin, double (big bed), triple and quadruple rooms and one junior suite, all equipped with:• Air-conditioning• Central heating• Mini bar• Telephone• Wifi and cable Internet access in all the hotel.• Satellite TV• Bathroom• Towel-dryer• Sound-proof rooms (double glass windows)• Family rooms up to 6 people • Non smoking rooms• Pillow Menu in all the rooms (Low-Medium-High). Private parking on request and with charge Eur 13.00 per day (Please, indicate it in "Special Requests"). There will be a lounge for guests available in October 2009, offering free tea, coffee and infusions. Laundry service (not included in the price). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Reina Mora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing