We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mistake.”
Review of Hotel Reina Mora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Reina Mora
Ranked #84 of 125 Hotels in Granada
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A mistake.”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Hotel Reina Mora has been described by one reviewer as' A Gem'. Let me tell you now,it's definately not a gem. The photos give a completely false impression. We found it dark, depressing, charmless and overpriced. Our twin bedded ground floor room was tiny and 'gave on' to the street which meant that the ugly roller blind had to be continually closed to avoid people looking in from the street. The walls were paper thin. We could hear guests talking and moving around in the joining room which made it difficult to sleep. Breakfast was in the window-less basement and was absolute chaos. With only one large table for about twelve, it meant the other ten guests had nowhere to sit. People were milling about making their on toast and perching where they could with coffee cups and and bowls of cerial. We gave up and went to a local cafe. The Hotel is difficult to find, situated on the finge of the City in a rather shabby grafitti covered side street. There is nothing of interest in this part of town and the stylish Centro and the beautiful 'Albaicin' is a good 15 minute walk. The Hotel Reina Mora was a mistakes we will not be making again. Forget about parking. Do yourself a big favour - if you have a car park it outside the centre and stay in one of the many great value and very beautiful small hotels in the fantastic old part of the City and simply enjoy exploring the small streets and lovely Plaza's on foot. The only plus points where the freindly and helpful reception and the general cleanliness of the rooms. If this place is a gem then Im a Dutchman. Avoid.

Room Tip: If you are mad enough to stay here book a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffrey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granada_10, Gerente at Hotel Reina Mora, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear sir. Sorry for your disappointment with our hotel. We do not publish photographs of our hotel FALSE, since you arrived was angry and upset, not knowing why. It's not fair to write false comments about our hotel. The facade of our hotel does not have graffiti, these totally confused, all our rooms have double windows are very confortables, and as for darkness, if cloudy weather does not logically enough light of day. As for breakfast, if you've been staying in hotels, you must know that at times this fully occupied the dining room, for I reported in a coffee, and wait about 15 minutes until space is available for breakfast, but you do not you want to wait, and ask us to leave your car in the parking lot until 16:00 hrs. - , we inform you that one day you will pay more for parking, because parking is up to 12:30 PM. - (as hotels in the world) and not rented hourly parking and you've paid, is why it gets so bad coment about our hotel? not fair sir, I think we should be more honest and more prudent and not try to hurt the publicity of our hotel. I think the comments customers used to be constructive to further improve our services and provide a good quality. We have a certificate of excellence from Tripadvisor, thanks to feedback from our customers, we accept all criticism of our customers to improve and enhance our services, we do not accept is to despise our facility and make remarks useless because you paid € 13 for parking place. Good luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    74
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
39
110
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed as a single traveller.at Hotel Reina Mora during the "semana santa" last April . I found it extremely comfortable. The hotel owner and the lady at the desk were very welcoming and extremely helpful. The room was very clean and pleasant. I also enjoyed the breakfast and sitting at a large dining room table gave me the opportunity to exchange conversation with other guests and practice my poor "Spanish". All in all it met my expectations and if I have the opportunity of visiting Grenada again, I would again make reservation at this hotel. A word of advice - hotel price during semana santa is higher. Furthermore, the cathedral, some restaurants and shops were closed to visitors on Maundy Thursday and Good Friday. Not a time to go unless you wish to watch the Holy Week processions. Viv (Montreal, Qc)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Very friendly atmosphere - upon arriving the host gave us a full presentation of Granada re. where to go/eat etc. Excellent beds. Very clean and beautiful Italian interior design. In a walking distance to everything but a bit hidden away so no noise in the evenings.Breakfast was modest, however fair considering the cheap price (only 5 €) Super nice rooms for decent prices. If I ever where to go back to beautiful Granada I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the room with terrasse which is very recommendable as it is perfect for sharing a cold glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granada_10, Gerente at Hotel Reina Mora, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you about you honest opinion, it is so very important for us. we try to do best the breakfast, and I hope sometime you can visit us again. Thanks to customers like you helps to make our service better. THANKS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a day in the triple room. The front desk was very helpful. The room was cold. The free Internet access was hardly accessible from the room. Hotel breakfast was poor and is best avoided.
The bus to reach the Al Hambra is a good 10 minute walk from the hotel. Never make the mistake of not pre-booking the entry ticket days earlier by Internet or you will have to Q up at the booking office at 7 in the morning ( as I did ). Booking office opens at 8 a.m and they issue a limited number of tickets each day.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank akmbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granada_10, Gerente at Hotel Reina Mora, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear Customer. I do not understand that you have had cold in the room, we have a quilt on every bed and blanket for each bed placed in the closet in case the need, plus we've shown how you have to put the heat in your room is with a single control, you can select the temperature you want. We always have wi fi internet connection, possibly in some cases may have less coverage, but not always, for that, as you know we have a lounge with a computer with free internet for customers. Our buffet breakfast is of fruits, juices, coffee, chocolate, croissants, muffins, jams, butter, cereals, yogurt, cheese, ham, sausage, salami, two different kinds of bread, etc. (poor?) Costs 5 € per person, i don´t know what you want breakfast for 5 €. I recommend that before making a well informed tour visits the monuments and conditions of each one, that's not our fault.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We found this hotel by searching on Trip Advisor and liked the sound of the reviews as well as the reasonable pricing. However, it far exceeded our expectations. From the moment of booking over the internet (and asking lots of questions!) staff were helpful and welcoming. We drove to the hotel and found the directions (both map and written instructions) emailed to us on booking were very easy to follow and we made it to the hotel on the first attempt. That is saying something when you are talking about driving in the historical district of a typical Spanish city! (Read: networks of narrow one way streets!)

First impressions are everything and the entrance to the hotel and reception are clean and welcoming, giving the impression of professional, friendly and helpful service - which proved to be true throughout our stay. Parking was directly opposite the hotel in a secure parking garage.

Our first touristy interaction with the front desk staff was to be given a map of the city centre and a very helpful and detailed briefing of main sights, places to eat etc etc. The staff member in question must have spent at least 15mins talking with us personally about our plans for our stay and giving suggestions! In fact, every single person we dealt with on the front desk was very friendly, professional and helpful. The hotel is also very well located for all sights, probably about 5-10mins walk from the main touristy district.

The room was smallish, but this is to be expected in Europe. It was beautifully furnished and decorated to what we felt was the standard of a 4* hotel. Everything was exceptionally clean and the breakfast room was a really nice touch - it was furnished in an upmarket living room style and had the option of a large dining style table or couches for eating your breakfast. On asking mangement for their thinking behind this, they said they wanted it to feel like a home. It certainly was much more relaxing and personal than your traditional restaurant style hotel breakfast room. Also on breakfast, we had to check out very early in order to get to another town for ongoing travel plans and the staff were extremely accommodating, preparing breakfast for us a whole HOUR ahead of the time they usually started breakfast. Might we add, we did not request this service. We were happy to miss breakfast since we were departing well outside the alotted times, but staff insisted on preparing it for us early.

After saying all this, it should come as no surprise that although we had only booked for one night, we decided to stay for two.

We hope to return to Granada in the future and when we do we won't even bother looking at other hotels. Reina Mora is exceptional - book it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

another little gem
the man on the front counter could not have been anymore hepful and freindly.
the rooms are small but you are in the middle of granda but they are clean and comfortable
t

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

A nice, chill place to stay in Granada down a narrow alley. The rooms are small but they have big doors you can open so you can at least pretend like you have a nice balcony. We were "shushed" by management but we weren't used to the Spanish siesta so we probably deserved it. Everything's walkable and the bottom line is that it's an awesome value so give it a shot.
Tip: Hannigan's is good ex-pat bar about a mile walk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeHateMe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Reino de Granada Hotel
#87 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Hotel Dauro Granada
#30 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#36 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Hotel Sacromonte
#56 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel GIT Alcover
Hotel GIT Alcover
#85 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reina Mora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reina Mora

Property: Hotel Reina Mora
Address: Calle Nueva de La Virgen 40, 18005 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reina Mora 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description and services: Reina Mora Hotel is a recently built hotel (2005) located in the heart of the city centre just 3 minutes walk from the Congress Centre and within a few minutes walk from the most important monuments. Four-story building, modern construction, outward-facing rooms. 16 rooms available and lounge (available in October 2009). 24-hour reception service. 16 rooms available, all outward-facing. Single, single (big bed), twin, double (big bed), triple and quadruple rooms and one junior suite, all equipped with:• Air-conditioning• Central heating• Mini bar• Telephone• Wifi and cable Internet access in all the hotel.• Satellite TV• Bathroom• Towel-dryer• Sound-proof rooms (double glass windows)• Family rooms up to 6 people • Non smoking rooms• Pillow Menu in all the rooms (Low-Medium-High). Private parking on request and with charge Eur 13.00 per day (Please, indicate it in "Special Requests"). There will be a lounge for guests available in October 2009, offering free tea, coffee and infusions. Laundry service (not included in the price). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Reina Mora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing