We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy Granada hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #31 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Accrington UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Classy Granada hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights as two couples. We chose the hotel as being convenient for a visit to the Alhambra and also for a run up to the Sierra Nevada.
The hotel is very easy to find off the A395 autovia circling Granada to the south and east. It is well worth while if visiting by car to reserve a space in the garage, as street parking looks to be at a premium in the vicinity.
First impressions of the hotel are misleading. It has a plain red brick exterior and a small but attractive forecourse. However, things improve dramatically once inside and approaching reception with a modern glass entrance hall showcasing a modern stylish staircase. Reception itself was a painless experience with polite, smartly turned out staff speeding us through our check-in. Our rooms were on the ground floor, each with a small adjoining terrace allowing an evening get together to share a bottle of wine and plan our following day to the Alhambra. The rooms were large, cool and comfortable, with modern efficient bathrooms and a very useful illuminated wardrobe.
We arrived quite late in the afternoon, which meant that the pool at the side of the hotel was by now in shadow, but I imagine that the location of the hotel is not one which would attract the sun worshipper, so wall to wall sun is probably not a necessity. The pool was small but very refreshing and most welcome after a hot day`s travel.
We ate both nights in the hotel restaurant for a very reasonable 22 euros per head for a three course dinner with a good choice of all courses. The filete de ternera was particularly voted a hit. Wines were served either by the bottle or the glass and again were deemed to be good value with no more than the normal mark up obvious. Facilities within the hotel were excellent and the public areas were very stylish and modern. The television area was separate from the rest of the bar area, allowing a quiet drink if required. Staff were welcoming and helpful and spoke excellent english when our spanish faltered later in the evening!
We chose to visit the Alhambra after lunch on our second day in Granada and had pre-booked tickets to the Nazarid Palace for 3pm. Make sure you leave sufficient time to get from the centre of Granada to the Alhambra, print off your tickets and get to the Palace in time to meet your entry slot. We had problems at the time we had chosen, due, we were told, by colleges emptying at the time we were making our transfer, which took a lot longer than anticipated. I would suggest one and a half hours as an absolute minimum to make the transfer.
The easiest way back to the hotel from the Alhambra is to find one of the taxi stands outside the Alhambra and take a ride back. 5 euros for four people seemed to be a very good deal to us.
Our other reason for the choice of hotel was that it was convenient for the road which leads up to the Sierra Nevada. Out of the hotel garage, turn left at the roundabout outside and that is the main road up to the top.
This hotel offers a modern, stylish base from which to easily visit both Granada and the Alhambra. We did not, in retrospect, give ourselves enough time to do justice to Granada, although this was our third visit to the Alhambra. We will be back, and we will be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pansantander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    628
    180
    35
    10
See reviews for
349
663
36
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and I wish it had been more.I picked this hotel for the location being just outside the alhambra palace. The hotel is modern and the staff are very friendly and helpful.There is a great swimming pool and sun terrace a bar serving snacks and meals and a restaurant but with a limited menu.
There is nothing outside the hotel but only a 20min walk to either alhambra{up a very steep hill with breath taking views} or to the great town of granada where you can eat and shop till you drop!
Loved our stay here and if we were ever in the area would not hesitate to stay for longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our trip of Andalucia. The main reason for staying in Granada was to visit The Alhambra. We arrived late in the afternoon on the day before our scheduled visit to The Alhambra. The hotel staff was very helpful and kind checking us in. We got a really nice room located on the second floor. Despite the fact that the window was right above the garage entrance that did not pose an issue. The room was modern and clean with a nice, fully equipped bathroom. It has a refrigerated mini-bar, but unfortunately no coffee making facilities.

With respect to parking your car, the hotel charges €9.50 per 24 hours for parking in their garage. You can park for free in the neighborhood directly surrounding the hotel. Just don't park the car next to a yellow line.

The hotel has a good swimming pool located on the first floor. Really nice for chilling out after a day of walking. The hotel location is perfect when visiting the Alhambra by car. It is located just a drive up the hill.

Visiting Granada center can not be done by foot since it is just too far away. Parking is expensive in downtown Granada and there are not many places available. A good alternative is to take bus number 33 which stops just left of the hotel (standing with your back to the hotel lobby) and takes you to the cathedral directly in 10 minutes for just €1.20. It drives regularly (every 10 minutes) and the service runs until 23:00 hours.

Summarizing, good hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneDeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I have stayed at this hotel whilst on business for a couple of years and the location in terms of proximity to the Alhambra palace is excellent. A nice 20 min walk to it, uphill but great view. Its also a nice 20 min walk into the centre of granada, or a 6 euro taxi ride into town. Its close to the motorway for a quick getaway up to the national park sierra nevada aswell.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom_mars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

it is located just outside of the city 1-2 kilometres but it is simply not very important cause it too time consumeing more than difficult the access to old city so it'd be better to stay around. Mainly it is 5 minute driving from the alhambra and very easy to reach from the highway ( south side). excellent breakfast and very clean room and spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salvatore l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, Wiltshire. U K
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel was perfect for our 2 night stay in Granada. It was a short distance out of the centre so was in a quieter area than the central city hotels. We found it very easily, just off the ring road which meant we didn't need to drive into the city - often a stressful experience when one is unfamiliar with the roads! Car parking is available in a secure underground car park and it was much cheaper to park there than at most of the central hotels. The hotel is modern and smart and we had a well proportioned quiet room. Public lounge areas are comfortable and stylish. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet style selection with almost everything you could think of! There is a lovely quiet pool area at the rear of the hotel with bar and cafeteria facility. All the staff we spoke to were courteous & helpful during our stay. The Alhambra was so easy to access being just a 5 minute drive up the hill next to the hotel. We went into the city in the evening on the number 33 bus which stops just outside the hotel and runs every 15 minutes for the short journey to the city centre for 1.20 euros each. We found a very nice restaurant - Albanta - next to the hotel where we had a dinner one night and lunch on the day we had to return to the airport. Having a very late night flight home we enquired about a late check-out and were allowed to keep our room until 18.00 instead of leaving at 12.00 for an additional 20 euros which we felt was reasonable. Would recommend other travellers to use this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carolesusan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Admittingly we drove past the hotel first time as it is right on the roundabout. On our second attempt we parked at the side of the hotel near the entrance to the underground car park , which is on site. A bonus is that the parking spaces were not as tight as most in Spain.
Hotel reception was friendly and helpful each time. Yes, you do need a car to get to Alhambra, or take the local bus as it is too far to walk - extremely exhausting if you did, especially in the heat that we were having - high 30 Celius.
We were impressed with this hotel - very modern facilities, great pool, bar and restaurant.
All the staff were extremely helpful, even though Euro 12 was on while we were there and Spain was playing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Saray Hotel
#34 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#35 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Abades Nevada Palace
#64 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Property: Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing