We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #33 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just what we needed ”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Granada was our 4 th city on our driving tour up to Barcelona. True, it's not right in the center. The rooms are nice big and modern. We had been in smaller hotels in city centers, and they most definitely have their cons. We took the 10 min bus ride into town and enjoyed quiet evenings at the hotel after the hustle and bustle of the city. The front desk staff was much help. We went back many times for questions, and never felt like we were bothering them. We would recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank natnordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    635
    186
    37
    10
See reviews for
352
677
36
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Kent, Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra for two nights while visiting Granada to see the Alhambra. The hotel is well located away from the centre of Granada with its one way streets, bus lanes etc. It is near the Alhambra and on the frequent no.33 bus route to the centre of Granada (10 minutes, €1.20 bus fare). Although we had a hire car we didn't use the hotel garage (€15 per night) - plenty of on-street parking nearby - and we walked easily (30 minutes) to the Alhambra itself. Incidentally, finding the hotel (which should have been very easy) was the only time my European TomTom let me down - probably I'd programmed it wrongly! We ended up in central Granada in peak rush hour and a traffic policeman and his colleague decided to act as our outriders to show us where the hotel was! Great fun being waved through red traffic lights! Granada police are wonderful but driving in the centre is definitely NOT recommended! Our room rate didn't include breakfast but we did pay to use the hotel Turkish Bath (apparently an exact copy of those by the Alhambra!) but somewhat disappointing as the steam room was cold! (We were given complimentary vouchers for another visit to their Turkish Bath but couldn't use them as we were due to leave the next morning). Our room was good with free WiFi, and very good value overall.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Located 10 minutes out of town with nothing within walking distance. However very easy and regular bus service into town. The hotel was clean with good, friendly service. The breakfast selection was good, but hot food could have been hotter. Breakfast was essential as there was no cafe/restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterRjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, but it was a bit out of the way. If you go by car they have underground parking at the hotel which is a plus. The beds were very firm but the pillows were nice. The breakfast was nice, it had a little of everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel from 28/10/13 - 31/10/13. Our deal included buffet breakfast which was fine but would have better if there was more vegetarian/ halal option. The hotel was clean and welcoming.
The hotel was only 10-15 minutes away from the main city area. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel and the single fare was 1.20 euros.
We found it easy to get around in Granada. On the whole a pleasant stay and we both really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: we were given a room with a balcony, which had a two loungers and a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 838 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel is situated slightly out of town, which actually could be considered a good thing. There are options: Turn left as you leave the hotel and walk for 3 minutes to the bus stop to catch the frequent number 33 bus which will get you into the center within 20 minutes. This will cost 1.20 Euros each. Or ask Reception to get you a cab. It turns up within minutes and for around 7 Euros will get you to that same center of town. For the Alhambra (different direction, no direct bus) we paid 6 Euros by taxi. As to parking? A little bit of patience and maybe a few cruises around the block will find you safe, street parking rather than paying for the hotel car park. The hotel is large and hosts many tour groups and company conferences which makes for a lot of people traffic. The rooms are fully functional with a safe (that can actually house computers) large beds, bathroom freebies, excellent wi-fi, daily maid service and mini-bar. Staff were knowledgeable and willing to help. What doesn't work is that some of the furniture is stained & the design of the shower door allows water to leak all over the floor. Also, our room (331) was over the coach parking spot meant we had to endure early morning powering up of the buses with all the accompanying noise and exhaust fumes. Bottom line – it was only "just comfortable” That said, given the hotels access to transport links, it was better than negotiating those crazy, narrow, uphill streets of downtown Granada,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a modern hotel, outside the city, but convenient for the Alhambra and close to the motorway. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious and overlooked the pool (which people were still using despite a notice to say it was closed for the winter). The public areas are light and airy and there is a pleasant little coffee bar on the first floor, with an outdoor terrace..

The restaurant served a good choice of menu and the portions were very generous. The staff were attentive and their English was much better than our Spanish! There was a good breakfast buffet in the morning. The hotel does have a lot of tour groups, so if they are all in the restaurant together, the service can be slower, but we did not find this a problem.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if touring around. We walked into Granada after visiting the Alhambra, leaving the car in the large car parks there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Saray Hotel
#34 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#37 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Abades Nevada Palace
#68 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Property: Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing