We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #40 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was really disappointed with this hotel. Except for the lobby, this hotel is completely overrated and should never ever be a 4-star hotel. Staff (though not unfriendly) were sloppy and uncaring. We were in Granada in the winter (beginning of January) and the temperature would reach around 14ºC during the day. The room was HOT since the sun was shining on the window all day long. Really, really hot and uncomfortable. We called the front desk and asked for help in turning the heat off and they said that there was no individual temperature control. That´s absolutely unacceptable for a so called 4-star hotel. They sent someone to the room to unlock the window which, for safety reasons, would only open a little bit. The window was huge and very low and it was very disturbing to have it completely open. In addition to a real risk of fall, I did not pay high price to have bugs coming into my apartment because we couldn´t turn the AC on.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

A nice hotel outside of the city center. We had a nice, clean room on the ground floor towards the back with a private patio area which was great for a relaxing lunch. Even though the hotel is outside of town, there is a bus stop right in front that gets you into the center quickly and taxis are not expensive either. There are not any restaurants or shops close by, seems to be a residential and business area. With the lack of local eating places, we ate at the hotel and found the food to be very good, we especially enjoyed the Paella (make sure you order it in advance, takes 40 minutes to prepare). The breakfast buffet was very nice with the typical selections. We splurged on the Arabic Baths located in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. They have all the various temperature pools and the crushed ice rub, quite invigorating. We also booked the full 1 hour massage which was outstanding as well. The nice part of doing this at the hotel was that afterwards we just went up to the room and relaxed before dinner

Room Tip: We liked our room with the outside terrace, great for lunches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LomitaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I had wanted to visit the Alhambra for years and this is the hotel we booked, overall the hotel was very good 10 euros per night parking was a bit over the top, the travel to the centre of Granada was much further than I thought there was buses going past the hotel but we arrived on a Sunday and would have had to wait until one came by and it was incredibly cold outside so just got a taxi about 10 euros - not too bad since the bus would have been 4 all and all a very comfortable modern hotel helpful staff and not expensive but a long way out from the centre which is no reflection on the hotel it is where it is and bring a lot of warm clothes in the winter,
The Ahambra was excellent although 3 hours walking in the cold was not so pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Macia Real de la Alhambra is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in Spain (and it is not an exaggeration at all!). Although it is located a little bit outside the city centre, it is really easy to move around in Granada so that should not be a problem at all. The quality of the amenities of this rather new hotel are of high standards and the most friendly staff are always happy to help. Food is also very good. Certainly recommended,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Athanasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a large, modern and well-kept hotel. Location is great for people who come to Granada by car; the centre of Granada is a maze of little streets so it makes a lot of sense to leave the car here and get to centre of Granada otherwise: (1) by a bus (line 33) from next to hotel directly to the city centre, trip takes about 20 minutes and single fare is €1.20; (2) by walking (about 3km, which should not take more than 40 minutes) or (3) by taxi (we haven't tried it but I expect the fare to be under 10 Euros). Alhambra is also within walking distance; it's an uphill walk that took us 30 minutes.

Rooms are modern and clean, although rather poorly lit. We liked the comfortable bed and clean bathroom. Breakfast selection was excellent. Restaurant and bar were good. Staff was polite and helpful. There was free fast wifi and we used the car parking.

If we were coming to Granada by car we would definitely stay here again. If we were without a car we might look for something closer to the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Williamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Positives:
- Excellent staff
- Free parking
- Clean throughout
- Good transport links
- Nice rooms

Negatives:
- None really, I just remember our sheets not being changed one day

It is a good hotel located slightly outside the main tourist area of Granada. Well priced for the service provided. The location is good if you want to travel outside of Granada, which we did.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshIsh291011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The breakfast is great so do the facilities and the fact that si at a thrown of a stone from Alhambra.
The rooms are vast and confortable,everything is extremely clean.
Our only complain is how rude was the bald Receptionist that has the graveyard shift.

Completely recomendable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Zaidín - Vergeles
Saray Hotel
Saray Hotel
#37 of 123 in Granada
1,677 reviews
Abades Nevada Palace
#74 of 123 in Granada
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cerro Del Sol
#64 of 123 in Granada
359 reviews
Senator Granada Spa Hotel
#48 of 123 in Granada
748 reviews
Allegro Granada
#30 of 123 in Granada
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £43 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing