We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, esp with a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Ranked #31 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad, esp with a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in May. Hotel is generally quite big and open. Bedroom and bathroom is large and spacious, relatively modern and well-maintained. Breakfast is so-so, although theres not much in the area either. Free wi-fi is a plus. Service is friendly, but seems understaffed. Overall pretty good compared to other hotels I checked in Granada.

Location is very convenient if you have a car, as it is right off the highway and on the way to Alhambra. Not too far from city centre, but not exactly walking distance. There is also a large dept store within driving distance if you need a supermarket, pharmacy, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LowboNBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    629
    180
    35
    10
See reviews for
349
663
36
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel as part of a two day visit to Granada for the Alhambra. The hotel is ideally situated for the attraction and only a short €6 taxi journey away from the centre. The staff were incredibly helpful and organised tickets for the Alhambra even though they were listed as sold out on the website.

The hotel is very modern, clean and spacious. We didn't take advantage of the leisure facilities but they looked great. The bar was very reasonable and food and drink was available all day and night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We selected this hotel based on two things 1. price (it seemed reasonable for a modern hotel) and 2. Price (we would be able to park our car safely without having to negotiate central Granada). Overall it offered value for money. Staff were friendly and rooms were clean.

The aircon is an issue - you need to be Einstein to operate it - make sure that you get someone to come and put it onto constant as soon as you arrive, they will leave a spare door card to allow you to do this. Without aircon the rooms get far too hot. You also need to be aware that the photographer who took the photo's of the hotel is a genius as everything looks much bigger than it actually is but again it was totally acceptable. Breakfast at 9 euros was a disappointment unless you like continental in our view you would be better served to go into town and breakfast with the locals.

Overall it is a typical non descript modern hotel but at the right price it offers a comfortable nights sleep at good value.

Room Tip: Ask to have someone put your aircon onto constant when you arrive. It is difficult to set up correct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadblockLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

hotel located near the alhambra
out of town. you get there very easily by the high ways.
you get easily by bus to city center, (a 10 min ride) there is nearby bus stop. bus run untill 2300 (anyway touring city center you have to walk around)
nearby pleasant good garden type restaurant
big hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank motyc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I booked a trip to Granada at the last minute, and not many hotels were available. I decided to take a chance on this one because pricewise it was reasonable.

I wouldn't stay here again for two reasons:

-1- The in-room air conditioning switches have a temperature control, but *it does not work*, and this was done because the hotel doesn't want its guests setting the in-room temperature. I woke up in the middle of the night tossing and turning because of how warm I was, and the reception desk said there was nothing anyone could do. I cannot remember staying at a hotel, let alone a 4* one, where you could not set the temperature in your room.

-2- The bedding is simply horrible -- very uncomfortable.

In all, I slept poorly at this hotel and wouldn't return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uluvbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for a week in April, and found it a very comfortable and lovely stay. Rooms were a big size with clean en suite bathrooms and excellent hotel facilities including the delicious buffet breakfast. Location was perfect for Alhambra visit and Granada centre, only a 10 min bus ride away. As vegetarians though the breakfast option is somewhat limited, and room ventilation could also be improved. Apart from a few flaws, I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Granada and Alhambra

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabzie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Modern hotel, just on the outskirts. We parked the car just up the road and round the corner for free. Rooms lovely, just what you would expect from a four star hotel. We asked if we could have a balcony and for an extra charge we were given a room with a really large terrace. The reception staff very helpful and friendly. Bus stop very convenient to get into the city and when we got a taxi back it only cost us 4 Euros. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandcee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Saray Hotel
#34 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Granada Center
Hotel Granada Center
#35 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Abades Nevada Palace
#66 of 125 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra

Property: Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra
Address: Lugar Mirador del Genil 2, 18008 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Macia Real de la Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing